Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Systemd fails to mount partitions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NForce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 65
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:55 am    Post subject: Systemd fails to mount partitions Reply with quote

Hello there. Last time I've tried systemd - was version 29. But I had some problems with it, so I decided to stick with openrc. Now I want to give systemd one more try.
So I enabled systemd overlay, emerged systemd-195, also emerged systemd-units form the overlay. Then did
Code:
eix -I -U systemd

And reemerged all packages with systemd flag enabled.
Then I tried to reboot with systemd as my init, root partition was mounted fine, but every partition except root failed to mount. If I comment out all these partitions from fstab, system boots and I can get to kdm, but I can't login, as my home partition is not mounted. Any advices?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1155

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) There is no overlay needed to run systemd as init! Probably your overlay is outdated and pulls in bad unit files.

2) Think of Gentoo having two releases:
arch as stable
~arch as a current/unstable release.
Current systemd-195 should be run with current~arch. And as systemd-195 needs udev-195 you have to special configure some linux kernel .config: devtmpfs
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NForce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 65
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your answer!
1) I've removed overlay, and unmerged package which was from that overlay. But that didn't help :(
2) I'm using ~arch, so udev is latest version (195). Also it has openrc use flag enabled, could it be confusing for systemd?
My kernel has those options which you are referring about:
Code:

nforce@nforce-laptop /usr/src/linux $ grep CONFIG_DEVTMPFS .config
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y

Also I have taken those logs, maybe they will be useful:
systemctl dump: http://pastebin.com/Cs6mZAyg
journalctl -b: http://pastebin.com/fpNhc1qk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1155

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As you see:
Code:
emerge -p udev

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies  ..... done!
[ebuild   R    ] sys-fs/udev-195  USE="acl gudev hwdb keymap openrc -doc -introspection (-selinux) -static-libs"

USE flag openrc doesn't matter. Systemd and openrc are quiet good compangions living in different rooms in the same house.

To your problem:
You could show us your /etc/fstab
But before that, try fsck of your partition reseved for /home when not mounted!
And "systemctl disable" your somehow rotten plymouth ...
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NForce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 65
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried fsck, it said it's clean. Here is my fstab:
Code:

nforce@nforce-laptop ~ $ cat /etc/fstab

#
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Thu Oct 28 22:51:35 2010
#
# Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
# See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
#
/dev/sda2               /                       ext4    defaults        1 1
/dev/sda3               /home                   ext4    defaults        1 1
/dev/sda5               /mnt/Downloads          ext4    defaults        1 2
/dev/sda6               /mnt/Storage            ext4    defaults        1 2
/dev/sda8               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
/dev/sda7               /mnt/WinShare           ntfs-3g defaults        0 0
/dev/sda1               /mnt/Windows            ntfs-3g defaults        0 0
tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0


About plymouth: I am not sure how could it got rotten, I have no service files for plymouth, and no plymouth installed either. However, there are some files which could be plymouth's, but I am not sure how they got here:
Code:
nforce@nforce-laptop ~ $ locate plymouth
/etc/plymouth
/etc/plymouth/plymouthd.conf
/var/lib/lib/plymouth
/var/lib/lib/plymouth/boot-duration
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1155

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, I am not a systemd expert yet, keep in mind:
It is my personal opinion plymouth is a rotten approach, I don't have any plymouth configs. Please look into yours! Might be an automatism of systemd there?

You advise in /etc/fstab your fsck to check two partitions at the same time (1 1)
smoothly diagnose your system:
- make /home in /etc/fstab 1 2 to let check /home after root /
- I would simplify /etc/fstab: comment out what you don't need OR use noauto,defaults as options
- I don't have in fstab: /proc /sys /dev/pts - Isn't this an automatism nowadays?
- Look if the "famous" /usr move is done correctly: /lib/udev symlinks to /usr/lib/udev
- boot with cmdline: nosplash
- boot with cmdline: systemd.unit=multi-user.target OR symlink default.target to multi-user.target - to ignore X at first
- You should use systemd diagnostics: journalctl OR with "systemctl status XYZ" you also get logs shown
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NForce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 65
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... I modified fstab like that:
Code:

#
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Thu Oct 28 22:51:35 2010
#

/dev/sda2               /                       ext4    defaults        1 1
/dev/sda3               /home                   ext4    auto,defaults   1 2
/dev/sda5               /mnt/Downloads          ext4    auto,defaults        1 3
/dev/sda6               /mnt/Storage            ext4    auto,defaults        1 4
/dev/sda8               swap                    swap    auto,defaults        0 0
/dev/sda7               /mnt/WinShare           ntfs-3g auto,defaults        0 0
/dev/sda1               /mnt/Windows            ntfs-3g auto,defaults   0 0
tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   auto,defaults        0 0

But it didn't help...
About the infamous /usr/ move: no, /lib/udev was not a symlink to /usr/lib/udev. It was a dir containing only virtualbox files, so I removed that dir, symlinked /lib/udev -> /usr/lib/udev, and reemerged virtualbox. However it didn't help too...
Tried to boot with nosplash option - nothing.
And sorry for asking, but how could booting with systemd.unit=multi-user.target help? As far as I can see, it can't get until that target, because it's deps (local-fs) are failing...
It's odd that I can't find anyone with a problem like that, with a google search. It used to be really helpful with other problems of mine :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1155

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is
1 3
1 4
This is not defined! man fstab:
The root filesystem should be specified with a fs_passno of 1, and other filesystems should have a fs_passno of 2. ...zero is returned and fsck will assume that the filesystem does not need to be checked

Also you could temporarily disable (noauto) all /mnt and ntfs-3g drives, just to diagnose the /home issue at first!

And yes, with your dependency insight! (local-fs) Actually as I said I am not the expert yet ...

---
Additional diagnosis:
systemctl status local-fs.target
systemctl status systemd-remount-fs.service
systemctl status home.mount
dmesg
journalctl
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4122
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NForce wrote:
However, there are some files which could be plymouth's, but I am not sure how they got here:
Code:
nforce@nforce-laptop ~ $ locate plymouth
/etc/plymouth
/etc/plymouth/plymouthd.conf
/var/lib/lib/plymouth
/var/lib/lib/plymouth/boot-duration


if you have portage-utils installed

Code:

qfile /etc/plymouth/plymouthd.conf
qfile /var/lib/lib/plymouth/boot-duration


will tell you what package these were installed by. Same as "equery belongs", but a touch faster.
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum