Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Audacious and Double size
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Liox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:00 pm    Post subject: Audacious and Double size Reply with quote

Hello everybody,

I switched over to audacious because the Gentoo Team decided to remove xmms. Now my problem is that audacious is to tiny on my screen and I don't like to switch to another resolution just because to control the application. If I press D for doublesize I just can read "Doublesize has removed". Very bad.
Is there a USE-Flag or something to get support for Doublesize? I realy need this feature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dammital
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Nov 2004
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I briefly switched to bmp last year, and switched back to xmms when I saw that they'd dropped the doublesize option. I agree with you 100% -- that interface is much too small for my tired old eyes.

Is there an alternative to audacious, now that xmms is being retired? I don't want visuals, CDDB, skins, any of that stuff. I just want a simple player with a simple GUI.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
01mf02
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 1070
Location: Innsbruck, Austria

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Get glasses! :wink:

No, seriously, how do you want to invoke this doublesize option - pressing D doesn't give me any message from Audacious ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Liox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to 01mf02:
sorry may I should expess things more in detail... If you have a look at the right side of Audacious you see
O
A
I
D
V
Press the D and hopefully you see the message...
(äh if you just see the small control panel, double click on the application)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nenolod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 199
Location: Tulsa, OK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

doublesize was removed from BMP because it was implemented fairly poorly (and thus was decided by Milosz that it wasn't worth keeping)

i agree with milosz's decision on this, which is why i haven't reimplemented it.

other alternatives include amarok, rhythmbox and muine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ewookie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Location: Mississippi USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 4:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's 3 suggestions:

1. Re-implement double-size. My eyes are OK, it takes too much time for me to carefully point and click those tiny little buttons.
2. Increase the normal size.
3. If you aren't going to implement double-size, remove the damn double-size option!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nenolod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 199
Location: Tulsa, OK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ewookie wrote:
Here's 3 suggestions:

1. Re-implement double-size. My eyes are OK, it takes too much time for me to carefully point and click those tiny little buttons.
2. Increase the normal size.
3. If you aren't going to implement double-size, remove the damn double-size option!!!


We reimplemented DoubleSize in 1.2...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dammital
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Nov 2004
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nenolod wrote:
We reimplemented DoubleSize in 1.2...


Thanks very much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dammital
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Nov 2004
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nenolod wrote:
We reimplemented DoubleSize in 1.2...

Thanks very much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danwills
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Double Size (winamp skin mode) seems to be gone again in audacious 3.2.2.

This page seems to confirm that:
http://redmine.audacious-media-player.org/boards/1/topics/45

I was using that feature in audacious, but now I have somewhat silly tiny-player, so I guess I'm looking for an alternative. Anyone know a player app that does support double-sizing of winamp skins? : )

I could hold the audacious package back at an earlier version, but I'd like to know if there were another project that might continue to support double-size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dammital
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Nov 2004
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, this is an old topic.

I switched to MOC a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum