Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] b43 deauthenticating due to "reason 15"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Angrychile
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 5:04 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] b43 deauthenticating due to "reason 15" Reply with quote

I followed this

http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Broadcom_43xx

My card is a Broadcom BCM4312.

After dmesg says wlan0 is associated, it deauthenticates due to reason 15, which apparently is a timeout of the "four-way handshake".

The thing is the OS it had before which was debian based worked, so it can't be an "unavailable" driver thingy, I'm making some mistake somewhere.
_________________
hola


Last edited by Angrychile on Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 841
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got a BCM4312. Only Fedora 14 have been able to drive correctly this wireless card with b43 module. Fedora 14 use 2.6.35 kernel version. I tried with Fedora 15, kernel 2.6.38 version. I get deauthentification like I get with Debian and ArchLinux. After a successfull scan and authentification, it deauthentificate and no scan is possible anymore until ifconfig down and up the card. Do not loose your time trying to make b43 work. Try hybride Broadcom-Sta driver. It work.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Angrychile
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't. I can't even scan with it.

This is what I found.

http://www.broadcom.com/supporta/802.11/linux_sta.php

I followed the readme. If I have to compile my fucking kernel again...
Also, the one in portage is broken due to a needed patch for linux-2.6.37 and above. The link has the needed patch
_________________
hola
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Angrychile
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now it can scan but it doesn't connect either, unless I'm missing something.

There has to be a solution, I mean it worked on the linux-thing on it before. It could be recent kernel breakage, but I really don't know.
_________________
hola
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Angrychile
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nevermind, I figured it out. turns out the sta driver works better.
_________________
hola
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtlosx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 1:18 am    Post subject: Same Issue Reply with quote

I realize this is an old thread, but I'm trying to get my WPA Personal AP working with my System and this is what I keep getting...

Code:

[ 2024.981273] wlan0: authenticate with c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a
[ 2024.989936] wlan0: send auth to c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (try 1/3)
[ 2024.991423] wlan0: authenticated
[ 2024.996025] wlan0: associate with c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (try 1/3)
[ 2024.998167] wlan0: RX AssocResp from c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (capab=0x431 status=0 aid=6)
[ 2024.998751] wlan0: associated
[ 2033.087280] wlan0: deauthenticated from c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (Reason: 15)
[ 2033.092166] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[ 2035.831292] wlan0: authenticate with c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a
[ 2035.839935] wlan0: send auth to c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (try 1/3)
[ 2035.841539] wlan0: authenticated
[ 2035.846037] wlan0: associate with c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (try 1/3)
[ 2035.848043] wlan0: RX AssocResp from c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (capab=0x431 status=0 aid=6)
[ 2035.848633] wlan0: associated
[ 2043.937706] wlan0: deauthenticated from c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (Reason: 15)
[ 2043.942160] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[ 2046.681276] wlan0: authenticate with c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a
[ 2046.689929] wlan0: send auth to c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (try 1/3)
[ 2046.691398] wlan0: authenticated
[ 2046.696038] wlan0: associate with c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (try 1/3)
[ 2046.698164] wlan0: RX AssocResp from c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (capab=0x431 status=0 aid=6)
[ 2046.698717] wlan0: associated
[ 2054.786290] wlan0: deauthenticated from c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (Reason: 15)
[ 2054.791159] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[ 2057.530284] wlan0: authenticate with c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a
[ 2057.538935] wlan0: send auth to c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (try 1/3)
[ 2057.540529] wlan0: authenticated
[ 2057.545025] wlan0: associate with c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (try 1/3)
[ 2057.547613] wlan0: RX AssocResp from c0:c1:c0:01:4c:4a (capab=0x431 status=0 aid=6)
[ 2057.548220] wlan0: associated


Any idea on how to fix this?
_________________
Linux cebula 3.5.7-gentoo #3 SMP Fri Nov 9 15:26:37 CST 2012 i686 Genuine Intel(R) CPU 1300 @ 1.66GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1162

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

broadcom-sta wl.ko driver is not able to set regulatory domain. It is hard coded international channels 1-11.
You could rename /sbin/crda and
ln -s /bin/true /sbin/crda
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtlosx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ulenrich wrote:
broadcom-sta wl.ko driver is not able to set regulatory domain. It is hard coded international channels 1-11.
You could rename /sbin/crda and
ln -s /bin/true /sbin/crda


I dont even have that file on my system, but created it, and same result...
_________________
Linux cebula 3.5.7-gentoo #3 SMP Fri Nov 9 15:26:37 CST 2012 i686 Genuine Intel(R) CPU 1300 @ 1.66GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2246

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xtlosx wrote:
I dont even have that file on my system, but created it, and same result...

xtlosx ... ignore ulenrich, his assumption is that everyone is running ~arch (and so have net-wireless/crda).

The "reason 15" is a "4-way handshake timeout", this may be due to what your providing in wpa_supplicant.conf, the pre-shared key being incorrect (hex is expected but ascii is provided, or maximum length 63 chars is quoted and the first quote is read as the first char), eapol_version= (defaults to 1 .. but you may be defining 2) ... or many other reasons, of which I can only guess given the lack of info.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtlosx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
xtlosx wrote:
I dont even have that file on my system, but created it, and same result...

xtlosx ... ignore ulenrich, his assumption is that everyone is running ~arch (and so have net-wireless/crda).

The "reason 15" is a "4-way handshake timeout", this may be due to what your providing in wpa_supplicant.conf, the pre-shared key being incorrect (hex is expected but ascii is provided, or maximum length 63 chars is quoted and the first quote is read as the first char), eapol_version= (defaults to 1 .. but you may be defining 2) ... or many other reasons, of which I can only guess given the lack of info.

best ... khay


Hi there, thanks for responding... my config looks as such...

Code:

# The below line not be changed otherwise we refuse to work
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant

# Ensure that only root can read the WPA configuration
ctrl_interface_group=0

# Let wpa_supplicant take care of scanning and AP selection
ap_scan=1

# Only WPA-PSK is used. Any valid cipher combination is accepted
#network={
#  ssid="DYNOMYTE"
#  proto=WPA
#  key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
#  pairwise=CCMP TKIP
#  group=CCMP TKIP WEP104 WEP40
#  psk=a820ccb9bb6298497f197876fec033ef786526e24422632588ae7ea551cf1a71
#  priority=2
#}

network={
  ssid="DYNOMYTE54G"
  proto=WPA
  key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
  pairwise=TKIP
  group=TKIP
  psk=eedb65df3854b7ad7505126fbf613a804c3a0681b2a83062d67ecd15a8562c6f
  priority=2
}



Anything out of the ordinary there?
_________________
Linux cebula 3.5.7-gentoo #3 SMP Fri Nov 9 15:26:37 CST 2012 i686 Genuine Intel(R) CPU 1300 @ 1.66GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2246

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xtlosx ...

your best not to post your psk in forums ;) ... as for your question, it depends on what the AP supports, can you post the output of the following:

Code:
# awk '{RS="Cell"}/DYNOMYTE54G/' <(iwlist wlan0 scan)

Also, how was the PSK generated? If it was via wpa_passphrase was the correct ESSID used?

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtlosx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
xtlosx ...

your best not to post your psk in forums ;) ... as for your question, it depends on what the AP supports, can you post the output of the following:

Code:
# awk '{RS="Cell"}/DYNOMYTE54G/' <(iwlist wlan0 scan)

Also, how was the PSK generated? If it was via wpa_passphrase was the correct ESSID used?

best ... khay


Meh, not so worried about posting my PSK here... honestly :)

Code:

cebula ~ # awk '{RS="Cell"}/DYNOMYTE54G/' <(iwlist wlan0 scan)
 01 - Address: C0:C1:C0:01:4C:4A
                    Channel:11
                    Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
                    Quality=42/70  Signal level=-68 dBm 
                    Encryption key:on
                    ESSID:"DYNOMYTE54G"
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                              24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Bit Rates:6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
                    Mode:Master
                    Extra:tsf=00000013f6a05183
                    Extra: Last beacon: 33ms ago
                    IE: Unknown: 000B44594E4F4D595445353447
                    IE: Unknown: 010882848B9624B0486C
                    IE: Unknown: 03010B
                    IE: Unknown: 2A0100
                    IE: Unknown: 2F0100
                    IE: Unknown: 32048C129860
                    IE: Unknown: DD090010180205F4000000
                    IE: WPA Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
         


Yes, the passphrase here was converted using the wpa command...
_________________
Linux cebula 3.5.7-gentoo #3 SMP Fri Nov 9 15:26:37 CST 2012 i686 Genuine Intel(R) CPU 1300 @ 1.66GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2246

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xtlosx wrote:
Yes, the passphrase here was converted using the wpa command...

xtlosx ... ok, the above network={} would seem fine. As for the psk ... can you test with the ascii, ie:

Code:
psk="your_pass_in_ascii" # in quotes

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtlosx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
xtlosx wrote:
Yes, the passphrase here was converted using the wpa command...

xtlosx ... ok, the above network={} would seem fine. As for the psk ... can you test with the ascii, ie:

Code:
psk="your_pass_in_ascii" # in quotes

best ... khay


In quotes and ascii worked! Excellent, thanks!!
_________________
Linux cebula 3.5.7-gentoo #3 SMP Fri Nov 9 15:26:37 CST 2012 i686 Genuine Intel(R) CPU 1300 @ 1.66GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum