Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
amd64 install boots straight to grub prompt
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
contraversy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2012
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 6:43 am    Post subject: amd64 install boots straight to grub prompt Reply with quote

Ok I have two machines, On one I did the x86 minimal install from the handbook and it worked flawlessly. On the machine im trying the amd64 install though, I followed the handbook but when I boot this machine it doesnt show the grub loader, just goes straight to the grub prompt?

If I set the kernel to /boot/kernel and initrd to /boot/initramfs and do 'boot' it will start but will panic shortly after.

I have searched and found similar issues but my grub.conf looks the same as most that I find!

/etc/fstab
Code:
/dev/sda1   /boot        ext2    defaults,noatime     0 2
/dev/sda2   none         swap    sw                   0 0
/dev/sda3   /            ext3    noatime              0 1

/dev/cdrom  /mnt/cdrom   auto    noauto,user          0 0


/boot/grub/grub.conf
Code:
default 0
timeout 30

title Gentoo
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel real_root=/dev/sda3
initrd /boot/initramfs



One thing is weird, when I tried to compare my grub.conf to the working machine, it no longer has a /boot/grub folder, but I still have grub at boot and /sbin/grub

Any help will be greatly appreciated!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrussia
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 89
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah.. well based on my experience using amd64 rather than x86, there were a few more bumps in the road for amd64, including mount and grub. In particular I had a problem similar to yours, and what was happening was that it was mounting my /boot as "ro". I didn't notice it right off, and I tried adding a grub.conf without noticing that it wasn't actually writing to the drive.

So, I would check some basics. How is your drive mounted? Does re-emerging grub give notices about the disk being read-only?

In the end all I had to do was mount it "rw", re-add grub.conf and continue on.

Hope it helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6715
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

on the machine that fails to boot:
boot the cd, mount the gentoo partitions, enter the chroot, nominally:
Quote:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
cp /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
When in the chroot:
Code:
emerge wgetpaste pciutils gentoolkit grub
ls -l /boot | wgetpaste
wgetpaste /etc/fstab
wgetpaste /boot/grub/grub.conf
lspci -k | wgetpaste
wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config
wgetpaste /proc/cpuinfo
post the url's returned. Then
Code:
nano /boot/grub/grub.conf
Edit to:
Quote:
default 0
timeout 30

title Gentoo
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel real_root=/dev/sda3
initrd /boot/initramfs
Then:
Code:
grub
find /boot/grub/stage2
this should return an answer in the form (hdx,y)
Code:
root (hdx,y)
where x,y are the values returned in the last step; return will look like "Filesystem type is ext2, partition type 0x83". then
Code:
setup (hdx)
return should look like " Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... yes
Checking if "/boot/grub/stage2" exists... yes
Checking if "/boot/grub/ext2_stage1_5" exists... yes
Running "embed /boot/grub/ext2_stage1_5 (hd0)"... 19 sectors are embedded
.
succeeded
Running "install /boot/grub/stage1 (hd0) (hd0)1+19 p (hd0,1)/boot/grub/stage2
/boot/grub/menu.lst"... succeeded
Done." Then
Code:
quit
exit
reboot
Reboot to the installed system
If/when a panic occurs take a cell phone or digicam picture and post on a free photo site; post url here.

Guessing you were not in the chroot when you emerged grub.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum