Gentoo's Advantages? Help.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cvanhan
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:31 am    Post subject: Gentoo's Advantages? Help. Reply with quote

What are some of Gentoo Linux's benefits? What do you get to do in Gentoo than in any other distro?
I'm a Arch Linux user wanting to try a more advanced distribution.
Sorry I'm a noob but I want to hear what Gentoo's all about from some experienced, longtime users who know their stuff.

Thanks in advance.
avx
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

works, source-based, more stable than Arch, overlays, customization quite near to doing everything by hand, portage rocks, everything about choice, keeps you warm in the winter, ...

Other than that, ask specific questions or just browse the forums, read wikipedia, etc.

//mods, move to GC?
fturco
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:17 am    Post subject: Re: Gentoo's Advantages? Help. Reply with quote

cvanhan wrote:
What are some of Gentoo Linux's benefits? What do you get to do in Gentoo than in any other distro?
I'm a Arch Linux user wanting to try a more advanced distribution.
Sorry I'm a noob but I want to hear what Gentoo's all about from some experienced, longtime users who know their stuff.

Sorry but I don't understand. You say you are a "noob" but still you want to try a more "advanced" distribution...
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentoo's advantage ?... avx ! fturco ! ... well those who contribute here and answer your questions.
Of course, best of arch's forum contributors contribute here also.
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote