Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cryptomount fails on boot with dm-crypt volume
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
th0th696
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:07 pm    Post subject: cryptomount fails on boot with dm-crypt volume Reply with quote

I've followed this wiki page:

http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Root_filesystem_over_LVM2,_DM-Crypt_and_RAID

However I am not using RAID, the section on grub2 appears to be incomplete, as the wiki page for grub2 here:

http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GRUB2#Booting_from_LUKS_Physical_Volume

implies that you must have:

Code:
    insmod gzio
   insmod part_gpt
   insmod cryptodisk
   insmod luks
   insmod gcry_twofish
   insmod gcry_sha256
        cryptomount -u <uuid>
   insmod lvm
   insmod ext2
   set root='lvm/<VG>-<LV>'


in your menuentry for luks to work, so i've added a file 01_mygrub2 into /etc/grub.d in which I've put:
http://bpaste.net/show/52375/

However, when booting it tells me that cryptomount device is missing, I have double-checked the UUID it is correct, any idea what I can do to please cryptomount?

EDIT: of note I tried setting cryptomount to
Code:

cryptomount (hd0,msdos3)


as well using the autocomplete from grub2's edit mode, but pretty much same error:

Code:
Error: disk (hd0,msdos3) not found


but as I said I used the autocomplete so it should be there. blkid certainly shows it there:

Code:
/dev/sda3: UUID="6a3603e9-xxxxxx" TYPE="crypto_LUKS"


here is how I enter the crypt using another bootable partition (linux mint):
http://bpaste.net/show/52374/

and the environment is certainly fine there, I can emerge fine and all of that.

Here is the script I used to create the crypt and lvm before hand:
http://bpaste.net/show/52373/

here's the script I used to create the initramfs:
http://bpaste.net/show/52372/

my 'init' can be found here:
http://bpaste.net/show/52371/

emerge --info:
http://bpaste.net/show/52464/

kernel config:
http://bpaste.net/show/52465/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ribx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 219
Location: germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just a guess:

/dev/sda3 = (hd0,msdos2)

[EDIT] no, that was wrong sorry! I forgot that I have a /boot partition, but I know remember why ;) I also tried luks once, but at the end the conclusion was, that its not worth the work for everything outside /home (for me of course).[/EDIT]
_________________
The adopt an unanswered post initiative
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
th0th696
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just in case I tried:

cryptomount (hd0,msdos2)

and

cryptomount (hd0,msdos1)

same odd error about the partition not being found.

Here are the flags I currently have built in grub:

custom-cflags debug device-mapper doc efiemu nls sdl static truetype

and the full eix:

[I] sys-boot/grub
Available versions:
(0) *0.92-r1 0.94-r1 0.96-r1 0.96-r2 (~)0.96-r3 (~)0.97 0.97-r2 0.97-r3 0.97-r4 0.97-r5 0.97-r6 (~)0.97-r8 0.97-r9 0.97-r10 (~)0.97-r11 0.97-r12 (~)0.97-r13
(2) **1.99-r2 **2.00_beta6 (~)2.00-r1 **9999
{{custom-cflags debug device-mapper doc efiemu libzfs mount ncurses netboot nls sdl static truetype GRUB_PLATFORMS="coreboot efi-32 efi-64 emu ieee1275 multiboot pc qemu qemu-mips yeeloong"}}
Installed versions: 2.00-r1(2)(09:31:55 10/24/12)(custom-cflags debug device-mapper doc efiemu nls sdl static truetype -libzfs -mount GRUB_PLATFORMS="-coreboot -efi-32 -efi-64 -emu -ieee1275 -multiboot -pc -qemu -qemu-mips -yeeloong")
Homepage: http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/
Description: GNU GRUB boot loader


I am still stumped here, I have tried everything I can think of, it seems cryptomount is the problem, but I am not certain of that. Anyone have any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TakChun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have similar problems.

What might help you is to use no brackets:

grub> cryptomount (hd0,msdos6)
Error: disk (hd0,msdos6) not found

grub> cryptomount hd0,msdos6
Attempting to decrypt master key ...

(Works also from within grub.cfg)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
th0th696
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

woohoo, getting rid of the parantheses did work at least for cryptomount:

Code:
cryptomount hd0,msdos3
Attempting to decrypt master key ...


however, it does bork right after that with:

Code:
error invalid file name: root=/dev/mapper/vg-root


which is I'm assuming the linux kernel line firing off:

Code:
root=/dev/mapper/vg-root


perhaps it's the earlier line in grub.cfg that is obfuscating this issue by not loading the lvm properly:

Code:
set root='lvm/vg-root'


I'm going to try altering those with some obvious values, btw so far I've tried

Code:
set root='lvm/vg'
set root='lvm/vault'


any suggestions are very welcome. And thanks again TakChun!!! good catch, I'll have to fill out a bug report on grub2 as I think the auto-fill was at fault here.

bug:
https://savannah.gnu.org/bugs/index.php?37644

btw: vg is the name of the VG as it appears in vgdisplay:
http://bpaste.net/show/54095/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum