Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Switching between 2 snd cards?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kbzium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Jul 2012
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:11 pm    Post subject: Switching between 2 snd cards? Reply with quote

Hi there,

I've got new Sennheisers 280 pro - for a gift. Until today I was using 5.1 speakers with my audigy 2 zs. The problem is audigy 2 zs doesn't have dual line out (both speakers and headphones) nor front panel so I must do it by switching cables what is troublesome. So i turned on my second, integrated card and it works fine - both of them. The thing is that i must switch between them in every audio program - how to make a shortcut or something to change default sound card?

The other thing is - how to turn off 5.1 emulation on one of this cards?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Switching between 2 snd cards? Reply with quote

kbzium wrote:
switch between them

Here's my script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Switching between 2 snd cards? Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
kbzium wrote:
switch between them

Here's my script.

Quote:
Bad request. The link you followed is incorrect or outdated.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The URL works fine for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
The URL works fine for me.

Must be because you are logged in brebs ! :wink:
I can't tell why but the link you posted is said incorrect or outdated unless being logged in.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, so I have:

~/bin/speakers-headphones:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

cp ~/.asoundrc{-headphones,}

sed -i -e "s:sndpcm surround51:sndpcm default:" ~/bin/darkplaces
sed -i -e "s:snd_channels 6:snd_channels 2:" ~/.darkplaces/id1/autoexec.cfg

sed -i -e 's:^\(pcm=\).*:\1headphones:' ~/.config/audacious/config

sed -i -e 's:^\(af=\).*::' -e 's:^\(ao=\).*:\1alsa\:device=headphones:' ~/.mplayer/config

sed -i -e "s:=upmix_20to51_resample:=headphones:" ~/.cmus/rc


~bin/speakers-surround:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

cp ~/.asoundrc{-surround,}

sed -i -e "s:sndpcm default:sndpcm surround51:" ~/bin/darkplaces
sed -i -e "s:snd_channels 2:snd_channels 6:" ~/.darkplaces/id1/autoexec.cfg

sed -i -e 's:^\(pcm=\).*:\1upmix_20to51_resample:' ~/.config/audacious/config

sed -i -e 's:^\(af=\).*:\1volume=10\.0\:0:' -e 's:^\(ao=\).*:\1alsa\:device=movie:' ~/.mplayer/config

sed -i -e "s:=headphones:=upmix_20to51_resample:" ~/.cmus/rc

_________________
Improve your font rendering and ALSA sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kbzium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Jul 2012
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not so good at writing scripts in bash (actually never did one). So all I have to do is put it in /bin or whereever else and run it? I don't have to change anything else in alfa.conf or something? I haven't tried just to run it because I'm worrying I'll make my sound gone if I forget about something :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kbzium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Jul 2012
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So i seems that I need to change it for every software I want to use my headphones with... is there any way just to switch whole thing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could use PulseAudio for that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
You could use PulseAudio for that.

Are you sure about that? I've not heard of pulseaudio *telling* e.g. mplayer, how many speakers are to be outputted to.

Pulseaudio (and ALSA) could upmix stereo to 5.1, but that's greatly inferior to e.g. playing a 5.1-encoded movie in 5.1.
_________________
Improve your font rendering and ALSA sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HolgerB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When running pulseaudio, you can either use pavucontrol to change what "sink" is used by which app or run pacmd to change things via CLI.

Besides the negative effects (CPU load, sound delays, etc) runs pretty stable nowadays. Many people swear on pure ALSA or OSS but pulseaudio definitely has some benefits.

Edit:
To be more specific:
Use "pacmd list-sinks" to find out your available sinks.
Then use "pacmd set-default-sink <your-sink-here>"

This should pretty much do it....

You might also wanna have a look here:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1370383
and here:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/PulseAudio/Examples
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kbzium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Jul 2012
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I'll give it a try. But how to turn 5.1 emulation off in alsa anyways?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kbzium wrote:
I think I'll give it a try.

You'll still have the issue that I just described!

kbzium wrote:
But how to turn 5.1 emulation off in alsa anyways?

You need to provide more detail, e.g. in what app? Not a common problem. Maybe this is done by your speaker system - does it have a hardware control panel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kbzium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Jul 2012
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have any hardware system. I want my sound card to provide output only on one plug (headphones) not all of them (so sound is somehow disorted, right?).
The thing is that back on windows I had only 2.1 sound. Here it's 5.1 default and i don't know how to make it 2.1.

I think it's more a system setting because when i launch my gentoo i hear welcoming sound on all of my speakers (when they were all plugged in instead of headphones which am i using now)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a simple test:

speaker-test -t wav -c 2 -D default

So, do you hear that through 2, 2.1 or 5.1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kbzium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Jul 2012
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Only 2 speakers. -5 too. It's weird because all 6 speakers are playing real sounds (line system ones or mp3s in audacious). Maybe gentoo just splits channels to 5 (actually right and side right would be the same then)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"-5"? You're still being vague, and it's not helping.

Useful debugging info:
Code:
wget -O alsa-info.sh http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh
bash alsa-info.sh --upload

Then show us the URL that the script shows at the end.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atoussaint
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm having issues with my setup too so I ran the script and here's the output:

http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=3fe87f25c7c811e18c67b24950b8c34f35ed26e9

all I want to use is the ATI SB sound card, the HD-Generic one is of no use for me because I don't have an HDMI tv.

Alain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atoussaint
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One thing I figured out is the permission on the devices nodes:

!!ALSA Device nodes
!!-----------------

crw------- 1 root root 116, 3 Oct 12 10:32 /dev/snd/controlC0
crw------- 1 root root 116, 9 Oct 12 10:32 /dev/snd/controlC1
crw------- 1 root root 116, 2 Oct 12 10:32 /dev/snd/hwC0D0
crw------- 1 root root 116, 8 Oct 12 10:32 /dev/snd/hwC1D0
crw------- 1 root root 116, 7 Oct 12 10:32 /dev/snd/pcmC1D0c
crw------- 1 root root 116, 6 Oct 12 10:32 /dev/snd/pcmC1D0p
crw------- 1 root root 116, 5 Oct 12 10:32 /dev/snd/pcmC1D1p
crw------- 1 root root 116, 4 Oct 12 10:32 /dev/snd/pcmC1D2c
crw------- 1 root root 116, 1 Oct 12 10:32 /dev/snd/seq
crw------- 1 root root 116, 33 Oct 12 10:32 /dev/snd/timer

only root and read/write them; would that indicate a problem with udev?

Alain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes — those should be 0660 root:audio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atoussaint
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2012 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I fixed the problem. I needed to install the package udev-init-scripts on my system.

Alain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kbzium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Jul 2012
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2012 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
"-5"? You're still being vague, and it's not helping.

Useful debugging info:
Code:
wget -O alsa-info.sh http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh
bash alsa-info.sh --upload

Then show us the URL that the script shows at the end.


I mean I did -2 first, as you told me to, and then -5. The outcomes were the same.

Here's that file:
http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=879829694bfa267f5d9eef962da7b0c0c681196b
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have bad permissions on /dev/snd/seq.

At a glance, I don't see anything to cause upmixing of stereo to 5.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum