Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Networking not working during installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ts1971
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:41 am    Post subject: No Internet During Installation Reply with quote

Hi,

I wasn't sure if I should put this here or in the installation forum. If I made the wrong choice I'm sure that one of the moderators will move it :) In any event, I'm working through an installation from the minimal install cds and I don't have internet access. I am able to run-setup eth0 and it gives me this information:

Code:

Details for network interface eth0 are shown below

Interface name: eth0
MAC address: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx (obviously there is a real address here)
Driver: e1000e

Is this the interface you wish to configure?


I choose yes and I'm then prompted to choose either (1) My network is wireless or (2) My network is wired. I select (2) and press OK. On the next screen I choose (1) Use DHCP to auto-detect my network settings at which point I'm back at the command line.

If I do 'ifconfig eth0' I get what looks like reasonable output though the packet count is 0 for everything. If I do just 'ifconfig' without any arguments I see just the loopback interface. Unfortunately things aren't working as you can see below:

Code:

livecd ~ # ping -c 3 www.gentoo.org
ping: unknown host www.gentoo.org


Could the issue be that the wrong driver was loaded for my network card? The machine is a brand new Lenovo T430i and I know that the network card works because it's fine in Windows. I tried looking through the documentation for the system but I don't see where the ethernet adapter is specified. All I see is this:

Code:

WiFi wireless LAN adapters   Intel Centrino WL-N 2200


I'm assuming that that's separate from the card for wired access. Is that right? Here is one more data point:

Code:

livecd ~ # dmesg | grep 'thernet'
Atheros(R) L2 Ethernet Driver - version 2.2.3
jme: JMicron JMC2XX ethernet driver version 1.0.8


Does anyone know how I can discover my ethernet card so I can try to figure out if the driver is the problem? I'm stuck here. Thanks.

-ts1971
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BitJam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 2454
Location: Silver City, NM

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IMO using the minimal install CD is a terrible way to install Gentoo. If you already have a working Linux system on your machine, you can use that for doing the install, assuming you have a partition available. If not, then use one of the LiveCDs thare are available. Many people like to use the SystemRescueCD (it's Gentoo based) but there are many others.

Many, perhaps most, LiveCDs will boot directly to X and take care of the internet connection for you. I like Mepis and antiX but there are many many others available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leonchik1976
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have exactly the same problem - no internet with minimal CD, even after 'net-setup eth0'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ts1971
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BitJam wrote:
IMO using the minimal install CD is a terrible way to install Gentoo. If you already have a working Linux system on your machine, you can use that for doing the install, assuming you have a partition available. If not, then use one of the LiveCDs thare are available. Many people like to use the SystemRescueCD (it's Gentoo based) but there are many others.

Many, perhaps most, LiveCDs will boot directly to X and take care of the internet connection for you. I like Mepis and antiX but there are many many others available.


I don't already have a working linux system on the machine - only Windows 7. And in any event, the minimal install CD is the primary method described in the handbook. I'm also not entirely sure of the difference between the minimal install cd and a livecd. The prompt I'm looking at right now says livecd. I really wish that it wasn't always so difficult to get up and running with Linux ...

-ts1971
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ts1971
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One more data point now that I've remembered the command to identify my card :)

Code:

livecd ~# lspci | grep Ethernet
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 04)


Anyone? Thanks in advance.

-ts1971
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6602
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boot minimal install cd, run
Code:
modprobe e1000e
net-setup eth0

if that fails make and use system rescue cd
system rescue cd is gentoo based and handbook can be used pretty much straight up
better option is to boot sysresccd to the xfce4 and use handbook loaded in firefox to copy and paste commands into a terminal window
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ts1971
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:21 pm    Post subject: Networking not working during installation Reply with quote

Hi,

Let me admit upfront that this is essentially a duplicate of a post I made yesterday in the Networking forum. I understand that this is generally bad form but I'm anxious to move forward with my installation and it doesn't seem to be getting any play over there, outside of a Latvian spammer. If the administrators want to zap one of them, maybe zap the other one, as this is probably where I should have put it in the first place. Anyway, I'm working through an installation from the minimal install cds and I don't have internet access. I am able to run-setup eth0 and it gives me this information:

Code:

Details for network interface eth0 are shown below

Interface name: eth0
MAC address: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx (obviously there is a real address here)
Driver: e1000e

Is this the interface you wish to configure?


I choose yes and I'm then prompted to choose either (1) My network is wireless or (2) My network is wired. I select (2) and press OK. On the next screen I choose (1) Use DHCP to auto-detect my network settings at which point I'm back at the command line.

If I do 'ifconfig eth0' I get what looks like reasonable output though the packet count is 0 for everything. If I do just 'ifconfig' without any arguments I see just the loopback interface. Unfortunately things aren't working as you can see below:

Code:

livecd ~ # ping -c 3 www.gentoo.org
ping: unknown host www.gentoo.org


Could the issue be that the wrong driver was loaded for my network card? The machine is a brand new Lenovo T430i and I know that the network card works because it's fine in Windows. I tried looking through the documentation for the system but I don't see where the ethernet adapter is specified. All I see is this:

Code:

WiFi wireless LAN adapters   Intel Centrino WL-N 2200


I'm assuming that that's separate from the card for wired access. Is that right? Here are a couple more data points:

Code:

livecd ~ # dmesg | grep 'thernet'
Atheros(R) L2 Ethernet Driver - version 2.2.3
jme: JMicron JMC2XX ethernet driver version 1.0.8


Code:

livecd ~# lspci | grep Ethernet
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 04)


I'm stuck here. Thanks.

-ts1971
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ts1971
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
boot minimal install cd, run
Code:
modprobe e1000e
net-setup eth0

if that fails make and use system rescue cd
system rescue cd is gentoo based and handbook can be used pretty much straight up
better option is to boot sysresccd to the xfce4 and use handbook loaded in firefox to copy and paste commands into a terminal window


Hi Donahue,

Thanks for the reply. I loaded the module (suspect it was already loaded) and ran net-setup without any issues. The output from ifconfig eth0 looks reasonable but still no joy from ping. I actaully just posted a separate message to the install forum (probably bad form, so kill me) and if I don't get any responses after a couple of hours I'll have a go with the rescue cd.

Thanks again.

-ts1971
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32019
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ts1971.

Do
Code:
modprobe e1000e

now look in
Code:
ifconfig -a
to see if you have an ethX
If so
Code:
dhcpcd ethX
should start it.

if you don't get an ethX the kernel on the CD is too old for your hardware.
Try SystemRescueCD as yourinstall disk.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6602
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do the results of
Code:
ifconfig -a
ifconfig
show eth0?

how are you connected?
pc -> router -> cable modem
pc -> cable modem
pc -> router -> adsl modem
pc -> adsl modem
?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32019
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Merged OP topics so replies are not lost.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ts1971
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the merge. Okay, here is where I'm at:

Code:

ifconfig


just shows the loopback interface.

Code:

ifconfig -a


shows both eth0 and the loopback interface.

here is my attempt at dhcpcd:

Code:

livecd ~# dhcpcd eth0
dhcpcd[20192]: open `/var/run/dhcpcd-eth0.pid': No such file or directory


My connection is pc -> linksys router -> cable modem.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6602
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
lspci -k
does e1000e appear as driver and module in use?
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up
ifconfig
if eth0 is still not in ifconfig output, on to sysresccd
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32019
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ts1971,

Hmm. /run should be at the top level of your dir tree of type tmpfs.
/var/run should be a symlink to it, in cyan.

Your df output should include
Code:
$ df
Filesystem                1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs                       8207404       584   8206820   1% /run


and ls-l /var should include the following
Code:
 $ ls -l /var
total 68
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root    15 Oct 24  2010 mail -> /var/spool/mail
drwxr-xr-x 22 root root  4096 Oct  7 11:01 run

Hmm - note that my /var/run is real ... thats odd.
I have included mail above to show what a symlink looks like
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ts1971
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Code:
lspci -k
does e1000e appear as driver and module in use?
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up
ifconfig
if eth0 is still not in ifconfig output, on to sysresccd


Code:

livecd ~# lspci -k | grep e1000e
           Kernel driver in use: e1000e
           kernel modules: e1000e


So it looks like that would be yes to both. After issuing:

Code:

ifconfig eth0 up


ifconfig does in fact list eth0 along with the loopback interface. Still no luck with ping though.

-ts1971
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6602
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ifconfig eth0 up
dhcpcd eth0
ifconfig
does eth0 now have an ip?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ts1971
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up
dhcpcd eth0
ifconfig
does eth0 now have an ip?


It would be in the output to ifconfig right? If that's the case, then no, still no IP. I do notice though that it does show RX / TX packets now so I guess that that's progress?

-ts1971
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32019
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ts1971,

It looks like the liveCD autobuild you are using is broken (it happens).
Please report a bug to bugs.gentoo.org.

Then install using SystemRescueCD

None of the code from the boot media goes into your install, so you can use almost any liveCD you happen to have lying around.
The only constraint is the kernel. You need a 64 bit kernel for a 64 bit install
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6602
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did
Code:
dhcpcd eth0
provide any output? rx/tx packets confirm eth0 is up.
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32019
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

from #gentoo-uk a few moments ago ...

Quote:
jmbsvicetto NeddySeagoon: there's an issue with missing /run and seems openssh is also broke :-\

Cut your losses - move to another liveCD
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ts1971
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
did
Code:
dhcp eth0
provide any output? rx/tx packets confirm eth0 is up.


Do you mean dhcpCD? If so, the result was the pid file not found I listed above.

Thanks.

-ts1971
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6602
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sysresccd time
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ts1971
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
from #gentoo-uk a few moments ago ...

Quote:
jmbsvicetto NeddySeagoon: there's an issue with missing /run and seems openssh is also broke :-\

Cut your losses - move to another liveCD


Yeah, seems to be a bad image. I was going to respond to your earlier message to mention that the directories I'm seeing don't line up with what you posted. It's a bit complicated though because I'm typing this (obviously) on a different machine and don't have the ability to cut / paste output. Anyway, on to the rescue cd.

Thank you both for your thoughts.

-ts1971
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6602
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

digicamera or phone pic posted to free photo site is sometimes good for the too much data no communication problem
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ts1971
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
digicamera or phone pic posted to free photo site is sometimes good for the too much data no communication problem


Heh, that's a good idea. Necessity really is the mother of invention I guess. Anyway, I'm on to the rescue cd ...

-ts1971
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum