Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Proliant boots with MBR, but not GPT [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fog_Watch
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 159
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:46 am    Post subject: Proliant boots with MBR, but not GPT [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hello

I have a PATA drive attached to a Proliant DL380 G5 via a JMicron
chipset. If I partition the drive with a MBR the machine boots. With
the same installation files and same disk, only this time partitioned
with a GPT, the boot process detects the attached drive and then hangs
with a depressing "unable to mount root fs on unknown block(8,3)".

In a simlar thread:
NeddySeagoon wrote:

You are missing one or more of
Partition Table Driver
SCSI Disk Support
Low Level HDD Chipset Support


I can't see how any of these is missing. Could it be that my Proliant just cannot handle GPTs?

Regards

Fog_Watch.



kernel-3.3.8-gentoo


root@grml /mnt # gdisk -l /dev/sda
GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 0.8.1

Partition table scan:
MBR: protective
BSD: not present
APM: not present
GPT: present

Found valid GPT with protective MBR; using GPT.
Disk /dev/sda: 390721968 sectors, 186.3 GiB
Logical sector size: 512 bytes
Disk identifier (GUID): E9C3E020-D7A3-4F58-9D5A-0CB44FF97A09
Partition table holds up to 128 entries
First usable sector is 34, last usable sector is 390721934
Partitions will be aligned on 2048-sector boundaries
Total free space is 369643885 sectors (176.3 GiB)

Number Start (sector) End (sector) Size Code Name
1 2048 6143 2.0 MiB EF02
2 6144 108543 50.0 MiB 8300 Boot
3 108544 21080063 10.0 GiB 8300 Root


# grep sda fstab
/dev/sda2 /boot ext2
noauto,noatime 1 2
/dev/sda3 /
reiserfs noatime 0 1


# grub2-install -v
grub2-install (GRUB) 2.00


# grep CONFIG_EFI_PARTITION .config
CONFIG_EFI_PARTITION=y

#More from the kernel.

#
# SCSI device support
#
CONFIG_SCSI_MOD=y
# CONFIG_RAID_ATTRS is not set
CONFIG_SCSI=y
CONFIG_SCSI_DMA=y
# CONFIG_SCSI_TGT is not set
CONFIG_SCSI_NETLINK=y
# CONFIG_SCSI_PROC_FS is not set
#
# SCSI support type (disk, tape, CD-ROM)
#
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SD=y
# CONFIG_CHR_DEV_ST is not set
# CONFIG_CHR_DEV_OSST is not set
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SR=y
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SR_VENDOR is not set
CONFIG_CHR_DEV_SG=y
# CONFIG_CHR_DEV_SCH is not set
# CONFIG_SCSI_MULTI_LUN is not set
# CONFIG_SCSI_CONSTANTS is not set
# CONFIG_SCSI_LOGGING is not set
# CONFIG_SCSI_SCAN_ASYNC is not set
CONFIG_SCSI_WAIT_SCAN=m


Last edited by Fog_Watch on Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5575

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, as the kernel is 3.3.8, did you try booting by PARTUUID ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkphader
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 1131
Location: Motown

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you create a bios boot partition, a type ef02 raw (no file system) partition, on the GPT disk?

EDIT: sorry, I see that you did.

Might also need to use fdisk to mark the bootable partition (even though your symptoms are different) as in:
http://blog.realcomputerguy.com/2012/03/no-bootable-device-gpt.html

EDIT 2:
Is this set (don't know if it's necessary but I use it)?
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_BSG=y

EDIT 3:
Assuming SATA drive is this set and the BIOS set for AHCI as well?
CONFIG_SATA_AHCI=y
_________________
What I need is an exact list of specific unknown problems we might encounter.


Last edited by darkphader on Mon Oct 01, 2012 6:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32014
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fog_Watch,

I use grub1 and GPT. There is a minor trap for the unwary, not during the install but during updates.

With grub1 and GPT, there is no place to install the stage1.5 loader, so stage1 loads stage2 directly from a block list.
If stage2 moves around on the filesystem, e.g. grub is updated, you MUST install grub to the MBR again or horrible things may happen, since the stage1 needs a new blocklist to find the new stage2 file. It will quite happily use the stage2 in the free space until a kernel update overwrites it. Ask any lilo user.


The BIOS can't read GPT ... but it doesn't need to, it only reads the MBR.
IF your BIOS is brain dead an needs the bootable flag set, set it on the protective MSDOS Partition, ont on any of the GPT partitions.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fog_Watch
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 159
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I was experiencing this problem I was booting with grml32_2011.12.iso. When I switched to systemrescuecd-x86-3.0.0.iso the machine then booted. I'm not saying that GRML was the problem and SystemRescueCD was the solution, its just that at around about this time I was able to boot. Sorry I can't be more definitive. Anyway, this is enough to mark this solved.

Thanks again for your contributions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum