Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Total system freeze when screen saver or when.....
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 445
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 6:27 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Total system freeze when screen saver or when..... Reply with quote

For quite some time I have been suffering from total system freeze when my screen saver has been active for a while or sometimes when I initiate shut down of my system.

I have been looking extensively among similar problems in the Gentoo Forum and on the web. But I have not found anyone with an identical problem, though many seem to have closely related problems, see

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-559068.html

and

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-925156-start-0.html

My problem occurs almost every time (but not all the time) when my screen saver has been active for a while. The other occurance is when I initiate a shut down of my system form the KDE log out menu (about 30-40% of the times when I shut down my system).

The symptom is that the screen freeze and the keyboard and mouse does not respond. The system appears totally frozen and I have to do a forced shut down with the power button. This circumstance makes it really hard (or impossible) to detect anything in log files (dmesg, /var/log/messages, xsession errors or any other log file).

Some relevant system info:

Code:
# uname -a
Linux phils_pc 2.6.39-gentoo-r2 #8 SMP PREEMPT Sun Jul 8 20:59:02 CEST 2012 i686 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux


Code:
# emerge --search nvidia-drivers
Searching...   
[ Results for search key : nvidia-drivers ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

*  x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers
      Latest version available: 295.71
      Latest version installed: 295.71
      Size of files: 33,924 kB
      Homepage:      http://www.nvidia.com/
      Description:   NVIDIA X11 driver and GLX libraries
      License:       NVIDIA


Settings in /etc/make.conf
Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau"



KDE version
Code:
emerge --search kde-meta
Searching...                                                                                                     
[ Results for search key : kde-meta ]                                                                                   
[ Applications found : 1 ]

*  kde-base/kde-meta
      Latest version available: 4.8.5
      Latest version installed: 4.8.5






I have tried the following to solve the problem:

Recompiling media-libs/mesa
Code:

      Latest version available: 8.0.3
      Latest version installed: 8.0.3


Remerging X11-drivers
(See: [url]http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-559068-postdays-0-postorder-asc-start-275.html [/url])
Code:

# emerge $(qlist -I -C x11-drivers/)


Masked nvidia-drivers in /etc/portage/package.mask
Followed the Gentoo Nvidia howto for my old Geforce 4 card
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/nvidia-guide.xml
Code:
>=x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-97.00


Nothing of this has solved my problem. Does anyone have a hint what to do next?
_________________
/Phil


Last edited by philip on Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roravun
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Sep 2012
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That kernel is pretty "old". It is always a good idea to try your luck with the latest stable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dalek
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1300
Location: Mississippi USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may also want to try the nvidia drivers. It's odd but sometimes one rig works great with the 3rd party nvidia drivers but another rig works best with the Nvidia drivers. So, if one could be causing a problem, try the other.

That is not to say that the video drivers is causing the problems but it could be. I had a problem with mine freezing a good while back on a older rig. Turned out that downgrading the nvidia drivers fixed it. For some reason, my card did not like that version. The computer was actually seeing the keyboard keystrokes and the mouse moving but the video card was not showing it on the screen. I figured this out by going to a console, logging in and typing in the reboot command blindly. A few seconds after typing in the reboot command, the system rebooted and the BIOS screen was there. Weird.

I also agree that you should try a newer kernel. Each release has fixes and you may need one of those fixes. :wink: While at it, double check the section for input devices and make sure you have the right ones. Could be that something has changed and you didn't realize it.

Hope that helps.

:D :D
_________________
My rig: Gigabyte GA-770T-USB3 mobo AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU cooler
G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 PC3 12800 Memory Nvidia GT-220 video card LG W2253 Monitor
WD1600AAJS & WD2502ABYS hard drives
Cooler Master HAF-932 Case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 445
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dalek wrote:
You may also want to try the nvidia drivers. It's odd but sometimes one rig works great with the 3rd party nvidia drivers but another rig works best with the Nvidia drivers. So, if one could be causing a problem, try the other.


Do you mean I have to set

Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"


instead of

Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau"


in /etc/make.conf

and remerge nvidia-drivers?


And yes I agree I have an old kernel :) I use to enjoy the stability of my system and I upgrade the kernel quite seldom. But some thime I guess it becomes inevitable to up grade.
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 445
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have two "Device" sections in my XOrg config:

#cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/80-XorgconfigDevice.conf
Code:
# Device configured by xorgconfig:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "NVIDIA GeForce 4 Ti4600"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    VideoRam    128000
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection


and


#cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/70-StandardGraphicsDevice.conf
Code:
# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Standard VGA Device:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Standard VGA"
    VendorName  "Unknown"
    BoardName   "Unknown"
    Driver      "vga"
EndSection


Is this correctly configured? Can I have two "Device" sections?
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 445
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dalek, I post my Xorg configuration here. Does it look right?


# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-Module.conf
Code:
# **********************************************************************                                               
# Module section -- this  section  is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************
#
Section "Module"

    Load        "dbe"   # Double buffer extension

    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection

    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"
    Load        "glx"

    Disable "dri"
    Disable "dri2"

EndSection



# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/30-ServerFlags.conf
Code:
Section "ServerFlags"

# The following three Options were added by Ph
# on 2009-05-12 in connection with the upgrade
# of xorg-server to version 1.5
# See Xorg 1.5 Upgrade Guide and post on
# Gentoo forum

Option "AutoAddDevices" "on"
Option "AutoEnableDevices" "on"
Option "AllowEmptyInput" "on"

EndSection


# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/40-Keyboard.conf
Code:
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "keyboard-all"
        Driver "evdev"
        Option "XkbLayout" "se"
        Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
        Option "XkbVariant" ",qwerty"
        Option "XkbOptions" "terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp"
        MatchIsKeyboard "on"
EndSection



# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-InputDevices.conf
Code:
# **********************************************************************
# Core Pointer's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************

Section "InputDevice"

# Identifier and driver

    Identifier  "Mouse1"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"    "IMPS/2"
    Option "Device"      "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "ZAxisMapping"       "4 5"

EndSection



# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/60-Monitor.conf
Code:
# **********************************************************************
# Monitor section
# **********************************************************************

Section "Monitor"

    Identifier  "SyncMaster 181T"
# Added by Ph on 2010-10-25 to solve ugly fonts, especially Luxi Sans
    Option "DPI"     "96 x 96"
    HorizSync   31.5 - 82.0
    VertRefresh 50-90

EndSection


# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/70-StandardGraphicsDevice.conf
Code:
# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Standard VGA Device:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Standard VGA"
    VendorName  "Unknown"
    BoardName   "Unknown"
    Driver      "vga"
EndSection


# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/80-XorgconfigDevice.conf
Code:
# Device configured by xorgconfig:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "NVIDIA GeForce 4 Ti4600"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    VideoRam    128000
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection



# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/90-Screen.conf
Code:
# **********************************************************************
# Screen sections
# **********************************************************************
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "NVIDIA GeForce 4 Ti4600"
    Monitor     "SyncMaster 181T"
    DefaultDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       8
        Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection



# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/95-ServerLayout.conf
Code:
# **********************************************************************
# ServerLayout sections.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerLayout"

    Identifier  "Simple Layout"
    Screen "Screen 1"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"

EndSection

_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dalek
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1300
Location: Mississippi USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

philip wrote:
I have two "Device" sections in my XOrg config:

#cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/80-XorgconfigDevice.conf
Code:
# Device configured by xorgconfig:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "NVIDIA GeForce 4 Ti4600"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    VideoRam    128000
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection


and


#cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/70-StandardGraphicsDevice.conf
Code:
# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Standard VGA Device:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Standard VGA"
    VendorName  "Unknown"
    BoardName   "Unknown"
    Driver      "vga"
EndSection


Is this correctly configured? Can I have two "Device" sections?


This could be a problem. In one section you tell it to use nvidia then in the other section you tell it to use vga. Unless you have two cards, I don't think that will work. You need to remove one or the other and keep the one you have installed. :wink: If you do have two cards, I think you have to have a section that tells which card goes with what. I have never had two cards so not sure how that would work but read about it a couple times.

I don't see anything else but that doesn't mean someone else won't come along and see something else.

:D :D
_________________
My rig: Gigabyte GA-770T-USB3 mobo AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU cooler
G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 PC3 12800 Memory Nvidia GT-220 video card LG W2253 Monitor
WD1600AAJS & WD2502ABYS hard drives
Cooler Master HAF-932 Case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 445
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I removed the /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/70-StandardGraphicsDevice.conf

with config

Code:
# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Standard VGA Device:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Standard VGA"
    VendorName  "Unknown"
    BoardName   "Unknown"
    Driver      "vga"
EndSection


and upgraded to kernel-3.38-gentoo.

So far so good.
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 445
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately my hopes were shattered last night when my system experienced a total freeze again. The meassures above did not solve my problem.
The fact that the feezes occur at two distinct runtime states:

1. When the screen-saver has been active, somewhere beetween 20 minutes to several hours (the freeze occurs at any point in time between those extremes)

2. When I issue the system shut down command or a log out command from the KDE launch menu

should lead to some clues of what actually casuses the freezes. But my knowlegde of how the SW is build and interact is to limited to figure out what.
_________________
/Phil


Last edited by philip on Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dalek
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1300
Location: Mississippi USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would try a different version of kernel just for a test. It could also just be a bug in some software but no telling which one. Could also be a hardware issue too. I'm not sure what else to try.

Maybe someone else will have a better idea.

:D :D
_________________
My rig: Gigabyte GA-770T-USB3 mobo AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU cooler
G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 PC3 12800 Memory Nvidia GT-220 video card LG W2253 Monitor
WD1600AAJS & WD2502ABYS hard drives
Cooler Master HAF-932 Case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 445
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have discovered that nVidia does not seem to be able to load module dri2. Can this be part of my problem?


Code:
# grep EE /var/log/Xorg.0.log
[ 20859.426] Current Operating System: Linux phils_pc 3.3.8-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Sep 9 19:20:55 CEST 2012 i686
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
[ 20859.428] (II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
[ 20860.602] (EE) NVIDIA: Failed to load module "dri2" (module does not exist, 0)



Can this be part of my problem?
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1146

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@philip
- take a LongTerm kernel 3.2 or 3.4
- your videoram looks weird (128 * 1024 (* 1024?)?)
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 445
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read from

Code:
# man xorg.conf



Code:
VideoRam  mem
              This optional entry specifies the amount of video ram that is
              installed on the graphics board.  This is measured in kBytes.
              In most cases this is not required because  the  Xorg  server
              probes  the  graphics  board to determine this quantity.  The
              driver-specific documentation should indicate when  it  might
              be needed.


I also read from the "NVIDIA X Server Settings" application in KDE:

Quote:
Graphics Card Information
....
RAM 512 MB
Memory Interface 128 bit
....


The correct setting in my config file should thus be 512MB * 1024 = 524288 Kbyte
(1024 Bytes = 1 KByte, 1024 KB= 1 MB)

In any case my setting is wrong. Thanks ulenrich.
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 445
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have also ruled out any misconfiguration in the user specific settings. I created a test_user, logged in as test_user and let the screen saver be active for a while. The freeze came after approx an hour.
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 445
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect my problem may be hw related. The reason for my suspision is that the freezes occur fairly random in time. Eventhough they almost always occur when the screen saver has been acitve for a while and thus seem to be consistent with a certain sw execution sequence, I recently have had a couple of freezes while just working away on the machine.

Today I installed a new graphics card; ZOTAC GeForce GT 640 2GB PhysX CUDA. I will soon find out if my problem persist or if it actually was a hardware problem.
_________________
/Phil


Last edited by philip on Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dalek
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1300
Location: Mississippi USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may want to check your system memory too. It could be that when you get to a certain amount of ram being used, it hits some that is bad. I ran into this a week or so ago with my brother.

I guess computers are like chains. Only as strong as its weakest link.

:D :D
_________________
My rig: Gigabyte GA-770T-USB3 mobo AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU cooler
G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 PC3 12800 Memory Nvidia GT-220 video card LG W2253 Monitor
WD1600AAJS & WD2502ABYS hard drives
Cooler Master HAF-932 Case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 445
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I confirm that my problem was due to an ageing graphics card and thus HW related. With my new graphics card I have not had a freeze for 24 hours, while the screen saver has been active all the time.

The ageing can probably have to causes; The first may be the HW components themselves and the second may be old versions of GPU SW support, like Open GL, not compatible with recent graphics drivers.
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dalek
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1300
Location: Mississippi USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm glad you got it fixed. I was out of ideas. 8O

:D :D
_________________
My rig: Gigabyte GA-770T-USB3 mobo AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU cooler
G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 PC3 12800 Memory Nvidia GT-220 video card LG W2253 Monitor
WD1600AAJS & WD2502ABYS hard drives
Cooler Master HAF-932 Case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum