Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Artifacts on KDE desktop
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stickstoff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:56 pm    Post subject: Artifacts on KDE desktop Reply with quote

A very annoying issue of display corruptions on my KDE SC 4.9.1 desktop are bugging me for at least the last month(s). It started a while back with KDE SC 4.9.0 already, but not immediately after installing 4.9.0. Unfortunately, so far, I haven't been able to find a reliable way to reproduce the behavior.

After some time of working correctly artifacts are occurring randomly on windows my desktop. First window decorations and tooltips only show a colored gradient and are unreadable. Quickly after that images get gradients as well. And finally also most font glyphs in Firefox, Thunderbird or LibreOffice turn into colored blocks. This issue occurs most frequently when I am using GTK based applications like Mozilla Firefox. Most KDE applications are displayed correctly, except ksnapshot and KDE's process monitor. Everything gets worse the longer I continue using the desktop until my Radeon HD 5770 card gets a softreset from the open source ATI driver.

Here are some screenshots of corrupted applications:
Corrupted window of Mozilla Firefox
More artifact in Mozilla Firefox
Gimp after using Firefox for a while
Corrupted glyphs and images in Mozilla Firefox
Corrupted window decoration of Dolphin

Here's the output of the Radeon softreset in messages log:
Code:
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22794.687647] radeon 0000:03:00.0: GPU lockup CP stall for more than 10000msec
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22794.687650] radeon 0000:03:00.0: GPU lockup (waiting for 0x00000000000d351b last fence id 0x00000000000d3517)
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.187540] radeon 0000:03:00.0: GPU lockup CP stall for more than 10500msec
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.187545] radeon 0000:03:00.0: GPU lockup (waiting for 0x00000000000d3518)
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.187548] radeon 0000:03:00.0: failed to get a new IB (-35)
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.187550] [drm:radeon_cs_ib_chunk] *ERROR* Failed to get ib !
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.188625] radeon 0000:03:00.0: GPU softreset
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.188629] radeon 0000:03:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS=0xA0003828
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.188631] radeon 0000:03:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS_SE0=0x00000007
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.188634] radeon 0000:03:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS_SE1=0x00000007
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.188636] radeon 0000:03:00.0:   SRBM_STATUS=0x200000C0
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.188644] radeon 0000:03:00.0:   GRBM_SOFT_RESET=0x00007F6B
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.188748] radeon 0000:03:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS=0x00003828
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.188750] radeon 0000:03:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS_SE0=0x00000007
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.188753] radeon 0000:03:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS_SE1=0x00000007
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.188759] radeon 0000:03:00.0:   SRBM_STATUS=0x200000C0
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.189768] radeon 0000:03:00.0: GPU reset succeed
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.264103] [drm] PCIE GART of 512M enabled (table at 0x0000000000040000).
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.264230] radeon 0000:03:00.0: WB enabled
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.264233] radeon 0000:03:00.0: fence driver on ring 0 use gpu addr 0x0000000040000c00 and cpu addr 0xffff880622ac2c00
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.280902] [drm] ring test on 0 succeeded in 1 usecs
Sep  2 18:20:53 machine23 kernel: [22795.280948] [drm] ib test on ring 0 succeeded in 0 usecs
Sep  2 18:20:54 machine23 kernel: [22795.502402] radeon 0000:03:00.0: GPU reset succeed
Sep  2 18:20:54 machine23 kernel: [22795.587348] [drm] PCIE GART of 512M enabled (table at 0x0000000000040000).
Sep  2 18:20:54 machine23 kernel: [22795.587484] radeon 0000:03:00.0: WB enabled
Sep  2 18:20:54 machine23 kernel: [22795.587488] radeon 0000:03:00.0: fence driver on ring 0 use gpu addr 0x0000000040000c00 and cpu addr 0xffff880622ac2c00
Sep  2 18:20:54 machine23 kernel: [22795.604150] [drm] ring test on 0 succeeded in 1 usecs
Sep  2 18:20:54 machine23 kernel: [22795.604190] [drm] ib test on ring 0 succeeded in 0 usecs
Sep  2 18:20:54 machine23 kernel: [22796.321732] uhci_hcd 0000:00:1a.1: release dev 2 ep81-INT, period 8, phase 4, 99 us


I couldn't find a message realted to the reset or the corruptions in X.org.0.log.

Here's my graphics card in lspci:
Code:
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Juniper [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
03:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Juniper HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5700 Series]


My current package setup is:
Code:
[ebuild   R   ~] x11-libs/libdrm-2.4.39  USE="-libkms -static-libs" VIDEO_CARDS="radeon (-exynos) -intel -nouveau (-omap) -vmware"
[ebuild   R   ~] media-libs/mesa-9_pre20120831-r1  USE="classic egl gallium gles2 llvm nptl shared-glapi -bindist -debug -g3dvl -gbm -gles1 -openvg -osmesa -pax_kernel -pic -r600-llvm-compiler (-selinux) -vdpau -wayland -xa -xorg -xvmc" VIDEO_CARDS="r600 radeon -i915 -i965 -intel -nouveau -r100 -r200 -r300 -radeonsi -vmware"                                                         
[ebuild   R   ~] x11-base/xorg-server-1.13.0  USE="ipv6 nptl udev xorg -dmx -doc -kdrive -minimal (-selinux) -static-libs -tslib -xnest -xvfb"
[ebuild   R   ~] x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-6.14.6-r1
[ebuild   R    ] x11-libs/qt-core-4.8.2  USE="exceptions glib iconv qt3support ssl (-aqua) (-c++0x) -debug -icu -optimized-qmake -pch (-qpa)"


I tested my memory and the video memory of the graphics card and it didn't show any errors. It's a card with passive cooling, but temperatures of the card seem to be fine (around 60 degrees celcius), even under heavy load.
So far, I tried stable, keyworded and repository versions of x11-base/xorg-server, media-libs/mesa, and the various x11-drivers without any effect. In case of the video driver I tried x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-6.14.4-r1, x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-6.14.6-r1 and x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-9999.
I found some relieve in removing x11-themes/oxygen-gtk-1.3.0 and kde-misc/kde-gtk-config-2.1, but it only means I have more time before my desktop gets unusable.

I would appreciate any hints or suggestions, because I don't know what to do anymore to solve this issue.
Thanks in advance


Last edited by stickstoff on Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stickstoff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I just upgraded to sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.5.4 with KMS still enabled, but it's still there. Actually, it just happened again. I clicked on an embedded youtube on a web page. I can't find related messages in messages log or Xorg.0.log.
One thing that's maybe worth mentioning: once a window is corrupted, other GTK apps seem to get "infected" when their windows get focus or when I hover over buttons. Firefox seems to be the most frequent source of this behavior, but it's also the application I'm using most of the time.

Anyone here, who has or had similar problem? Any hints to how I could find the cause for those problems?

Thanks
stickstoff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2214
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am a kde user too and have installed a lot of gtk libraries.
I have an nvidia graphic card though.
I have never seen anything like what's in the screen shots.
I very much doubt that gtk is the culprit.
I've never used radeon graphic cards because nvidia is far better supported in Linux.
How to resolve this I have no idea but I think the radeon driver and xorg software are likely candidates.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What happens if you disable desktop effects ?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stickstoff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks so much for your messages!
I just restarted xdm and everything is fine again ... for the moment.
I will try to go without desktop effects for some time. i already tried that before, but I don't remember if it helped. :oops: I'll report any problems, if they happen again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stickstoff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I turned off desktop effects and i tried everything i could to cause the corruption again—with success :wink:
The same artifacts appeared, but now also the decoration of KDE/Qt windows gets corrupted: Corrupted task manager and Dolphin
What I did was opening Firefox 15.0.1, I opened some videos on Youtube and the best way to make everything "go colorful" is opening the Tab Page in Firefox. It leads to corruption in 80% of the time I used it, so turned it off.
Normally, it's just frustrating that I can't reliably reproduce this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 3873
Location: Irgendwo im Nirgendwo

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you use aurorae window decoration?
If yes I could see a possible cause: corrupted pixmap cache.
gtk-themes usually use pixmaps for the gui elements, as does aurorae. Oxygen style redraws (AFAIK) the elements using primitives (rects, ellipses, ...) on QPainter and does NOT cache pixmaps. That's why dolphin still stays usable.
You could try to switch from aurorae to e.g. oxygen or qtcurve or bespin or (other kde decos that don't use pixmaps). This should stop decos from getting corrupted.

But I can't tell you WHERE those pixmaps get cached. Is it RAM? Or Video RAM? I think it's the latter - plus broken GPU-driver (writing into the cache)
_________________
"der mac dennoch wesen geil"
Wolfram von Eschenbach, Parzival (Buch 1, Z. 7).
Ein frühes Statement gegen Windows.

My overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stickstoff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I'm using oxygen style, but I'll look for possible caches and try to rebuild them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 3873
Location: Irgendwo im Nirgendwo

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stickstoff wrote:
Thanks, I'm using oxygen style, but I'll look for possible caches and try to rebuild them.

I was talking about the deco style - that's not oxygen, as it looks (Aurorae?).
And I don't think that you can regenerate the cache manually, as it is AFAIK inside the [Video]RAM
_________________
"der mac dennoch wesen geil"
Wolfram von Eschenbach, Parzival (Buch 1, Z. 7).
Ein frühes Statement gegen Windows.

My overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stickstoff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

franzf wrote:
I was talking about the deco style - that's not oxygen, as it looks (Aurorae?).


Mhh, window decoration style is definitely set to "Oxygen" and desktop theme to "Air". I don't see Aurorae anywhere on the list. "General" section in ~/.kde4/share/config/kdeglobals is:

Code:
[General]
widgetStyle=oxygen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stickstoff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:00 pm    Post subject: status update Reply with quote

hi, this is just a short status update for documenting my case:

I'm a little hesitant to abandon the open source driver so I tried some more thing to fix or at least to workaround the artifacts i'm seeing on my desktop.

To get better tracebacks I removed -fomit-frame-pointer from my CFLAGS and rebuilt all x11 related packages (xorg-server, x11-drivers, gtk+, cairo, etc.).
With the same emerge I also downgraded all those packages to their stable versions. Only the Qt packages are still at 4.8.3.

Here are the most important x11 package versions that are installed on my machine now:
Code:
x11-base/xorg-drivers-1.12
x11-base/xorg-server-1.12.2
x11-drivers/xf86-input-evdev-2.7.0
x11-drivers/xf86-input-keyboard-1.6.1
x11-drivers/xf86-input-mouse-1.7.2
x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-6.14.4-r1
x11-libs/libdrm-2.4.33


The next thing I did was creating /etc/X11/xorg.conf with Xorg -configure. As expected everything still worked like before.
Now, I started changing some options of the radeon driver in xorg.conf. Here my results for each option I tried:
Code:
Option "NoAccel"        "true"   # helps: no artifacts, but no acceleration
Option "AccelMethod"    "XAA"    # no effect
Option "ColorTiling"    "false"  # worse (wrong polygons in glxgears and a lot of artifacts all over the desktop)
Option "ColorTiling2D"  "true"   # unusable (complete screen garbled)
Option "EnablePageFlip" "false"  # no effect
Option "EXAVSync"       "true"   # no effect
Option "AccelDFS"       "false"  # no effect


I haven't tried combinations of the options, but at least I could see software rendering is working fine when using "NoAccel".

And while doing this I also found a way to reliably produce artifacts in KDE konsole windows by calling:
Code:
vblank_mode=0 glxgears


Each time I run glxgears this way it produces little blue boxes on the konsole window until the console gets refreshed (by glxgears writing to stdout for example). Here is a screenshot of the result: Konsole running glxgears with artifacts
glxgears without vblank_mode=0 limits the frame rate to 60 fps and runs fine without any artifacts. Here's the output of glxgears -info:
Code:
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh.  The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
GL_RENDERER   = Gallium 0.4 on AMD JUNIPER
GL_VERSION    = 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
GL_VENDOR     = X.Org
GL_EXTENSIONS = GL_ARB_multisample GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_EXT_copy_texture GL_EXT_polygon_offset GL_EXT_subtexture GL_EXT_texture_object GL_EXT_vertex_array GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array GL_EXT_texture GL_EXT_texture3D GL_IBM_rasterpos_clip GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_point_parameters GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap GL_SGIS_texture_border_clamp GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp GL_SGIS_texture_lod GL_ARB_framebuffer_sRGB GL_ARB_multitexture GL_EXT_framebuffer_sRGB GL_IBM_multimode_draw_arrays GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_EXT_blend_func_separate GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_texture_env_add GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_INGR_blend_func_separate GL_NV_blend_square GL_NV_light_max_exponent GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_NV_texture_env_combine4 GL_SUN_multi_draw_arrays GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_EXT_framebuffer_object GL_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3 GL_MESA_window_pos GL_NV_packed_depth_stencil GL_NV_texture_rectangle GL_ARB_depth_texture GL_ARB_occlusion_query GL_ARB_shadow GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_ARB_window_pos GL_EXT_stencil_two_side GL_EXT_texture_cube_map GL_NV_depth_clamp GL_NV_fog_distance GL_APPLE_packed_pixels GL_APPLE_vertex_array_object GL_ARB_draw_buffers GL_ARB_fragment_program GL_ARB_fragment_shader GL_ARB_shader_objects GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_vertex_shader GL_ATI_draw_buffers GL_ATI_texture_env_combine3 GL_ATI_texture_float GL_EXT_shadow_funcs GL_EXT_stencil_wrap GL_MESA_pack_invert GL_NV_primitive_restart GL_ARB_depth_clamp GL_ARB_fragment_program_shadow GL_ARB_half_float_pixel GL_ARB_occlusion_query2 GL_ARB_point_sprite GL_ARB_shading_language_100 GL_ARB_sync GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object GL_ATI_blend_equation_separate GL_EXT_blend_equation_separate GL_OES_read_format GL_ARB_color_buffer_float GL_ARB_pixel_buffer_object GL_ARB_texture_compression_rgtc GL_ARB_texture_float GL_ARB_texture_rectangle GL_ATI_texture_compression_3dc GL_EXT_packed_float GL_EXT_pixel_buffer_object GL_EXT_texture_compression_rgtc GL_EXT_texture_mirror_clamp GL_EXT_texture_rectangle GL_EXT_texture_sRGB GL_EXT_texture_shared_exponent GL_ARB_framebuffer_object GL_EXT_framebuffer_blit GL_EXT_framebuffer_multisample GL_EXT_packed_depth_stencil GL_ARB_vertex_array_object GL_ATI_separate_stencil GL_ATI_texture_mirror_once GL_EXT_draw_buffers2 GL_EXT_gpu_program_parameters GL_EXT_texture_array GL_EXT_texture_compression_latc GL_EXT_texture_sRGB_decode GL_EXT_timer_query GL_OES_EGL_image GL_MESA_texture_array GL_ARB_copy_buffer GL_ARB_depth_buffer_float GL_ARB_half_float_vertex GL_ARB_instanced_arrays GL_ARB_map_buffer_range GL_ARB_texture_rg GL_ARB_texture_swizzle GL_ARB_vertex_array_bgra GL_EXT_separate_shader_objects GL_EXT_texture_swizzle GL_EXT_vertex_array_bgra GL_NV_conditional_render GL_AMD_draw_buffers_blend GL_AMD_seamless_cubemap_per_texture GL_AMD_shader_stencil_export GL_ARB_ES2_compatibility GL_ARB_draw_buffers_blend GL_ARB_draw_elements_base_vertex GL_ARB_explicit_attrib_location GL_ARB_fragment_coord_conventions GL_ARB_provoking_vertex GL_ARB_sampler_objects GL_ARB_seamless_cube_map GL_ARB_shader_stencil_export GL_ARB_shader_texture_lod GL_ARB_texture_rgb10_a2ui GL_ARB_vertex_type_2_10_10_10_rev GL_EXT_provoking_vertex GL_EXT_texture_snorm GL_MESA_texture_signed_rgba GL_NV_texture_barrier GL_ARB_robustness GL_ARB_texture_storage


I'm constantly checking /var/log/messages, /var/log/Xorg.0.log, and ~/.xsession-errors for related messages, but so far the only ones I could find are the softreset messages which I showed in my first post and the following (shortened) message from Xorg.0.log which was logged at one of the softresets:
Code:
[  2749.389] [mi] EQ overflowing.  Additional events will be discarded until existing events are processed.
[  2749.389]
[  2749.389] Backtrace:
[  2749.390] 0: /usr/bin/X (xorg_backtrace+0x36) [0x56c916]
[  2749.390] 1: /usr/bin/X (mieqEnqueue+0x26b) [0x54d44b]
[  2749.390] 2: /usr/bin/X (0x400000+0x4a15d) [0x44a15d]
[  2749.390] 3: /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/input/evdev_drv.so (0x7fe2df218000+0x62b1) [0x7fe2df21e2b1]
[  2749.390] 4: /usr/bin/X (0x400000+0x71f77) [0x471f77]
[  2749.390] 5: /usr/bin/X (0x400000+0x97422) [0x497422]
[  2749.390] 6: /lib64/libpthread.so.0 (0x3dc5c00000+0x10410) [0x3dc5c10410]
[  2749.390] 7: /lib64/libc.so.6 (ioctl+0x7) [0x3dc50e3317]
[  2749.390] 8: /usr/lib64/libdrm.so.2 (drmIoctl+0x28) [0x3b45603f08]
[  2749.390] 9: /usr/lib64/libdrm.so.2 (drmCommandWriteRead+0x1c) [0x3b4560628c]
[  2749.390] 10: /usr/lib64/libdrm_radeon.so.1 (0x7fe2e0b80000+0x2209) [0x7fe2e0b82209]
[  2749.390] 11: /usr/lib64/libdrm_radeon.so.1 (0x7fe2e0b80000+0x2254) [0x7fe2e0b82254]
[  2749.390] 12: /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so (0x7fe2e0dbe000+0xc7013) [0x7fe2e0e85013]
[  2749.390] 13: /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libexa.so (0x7fe2e0968000+0x6127) [0x7fe2e096e127]
[  2749.390] 14: /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libexa.so (0x7fe2e0968000+0x88d0) [0x7fe2e09708d0]
[  2749.390] 15: /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libexa.so (0x7fe2e0968000+0x1374d) [0x7fe2e097b74d]
[  2749.390] 16: /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libexa.so (0x7fe2e0968000+0xfabc) [0x7fe2e0977abc]
[  2749.390] 17: /usr/bin/X (0x400000+0xf92e3) [0x4f92e3]
[  2749.390] 18: /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libexa.so (0x7fe2e0968000+0x10dc1) [0x7fe2e0978dc1]
[  2749.390] 19: /usr/bin/X (0x400000+0xf0dd1) [0x4f0dd1]
[  2749.391] 20: /usr/bin/X (0x400000+0x35fe1) [0x435fe1]
[  2749.391] 21: /usr/bin/X (0x400000+0x24e0a) [0x424e0a]
[  2749.391] 22: /lib64/libc.so.6 (__libc_start_main+0xfd) [0x3dc50224bd]
[  2749.391] 23: /usr/bin/X (0x400000+0x249a9) [0x4249a9]
[  2749.391]
[  2749.391] [mi] These backtraces from mieqEnqueue may point to a culprit higher up the stack.
[  2749.391] [mi] mieq is *NOT* the cause.  It is a victim.
[  2750.325] [mi] EQ overflow continuing.  100 events have been dropped.
[  2750.325]
[  2750.325] Backtrace:
... same backtrace as before ...
[  2750.326]
[  2750.725] [mi] EQ overflow continuing.  200 events have been dropped.
[  2750.725]
[  2750.725] Backtrace:
... same backtrace as before ...
[  2750.726]
[  2753.461] [mi] EQ overflow continuing.  300 events have been dropped.
[  2753.461]
[  2753.461] Backtrace:
... same backtrace as before ...
[  2753.462]
[  2758.173] [mi] Increasing EQ size to 512 to prevent dropped events.
[  2758.174] [mi] EQ processing has resumed after 351 dropped events.
[  2758.174] [mi] This may be caused my a misbehaving driver monopolizing the server's resources.
[  2771.446] (II) AIGLX: Suspending AIGLX clients for VT switch


I upgraded sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.6.0 and KDE SC 4.9.2 today, but as expected it didn't solve the issue.

I've used kde-base/kwin with USE flags gles -opengl so far, so as another test I changed that back to the default flags -gles opengl. I'm still seeing artifacts with glxgears and I doubt it brings much of a change.

I'm still happy about any hint what to try next. And I want to thank everyone who tried to help so far. If nothing changes, the next step I will probably take is to file a bug report on bugs.freedesktop.org.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stens
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2003
Posts: 43
Location: France (originated from Hungary)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

faced with the similar issue on multiple machines.
Downgrading cairo from x11-libs/cairo-1.12.6 to x11-libs/cairo-1.12.2-r4 got rid of artifacts both in firefox and thunderbird for me.
So time to update my package.mask to mask x11-libs/cairo-1.12.6 :(

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stens
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2003
Posts: 43
Location: France (originated from Hungary)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stens wrote:
faced with the similar issue on multiple machines.

Just looked at the pictures in the first post when I realized I had slightly smaller issue: I only had corruption with the tooltips (mouse-over hints).
So your issue might not be related to cairo.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 631
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I actually experience window decorations artefacts too witht a radeon and kde. They start subtle in chrome. usually but can get to the states of the screenshot in the first post. It all started for me after using some openGL apps over a ssh tunnel or so it appeared. The particular aspect of it for me is that the text in the title bar gets garbled.
The style for gtk applications in kde settings definitely have an influence. I am experimenting right now and changing that particular style made my chromium session quite strange in the tab bar and url area. text is now unreadable. My style for windows decoration is crystal which I think is somewhat related to aurorae. Because of the text aspect cairo is definitely a suspect however I am still at 1.10 so some option tweaking may be necessary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjbjr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2003
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This looks very suggestive of the problems I've had with running KDE (and other DE's) in a 30bit 'X' environment.

See my posts and link to an image here:

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-942690.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum