Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
systemd - which of the messy rumours to follow?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1167

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:10 pm    Post subject: systemd - which of the messy rumours to follow? Reply with quote

How to change to systemd?

- systemd and udev is the same upstream, uninstalling udev?
- uninstalling openrc?
- uninstalling consolekit?
- what additional sysv packages do I need?
- kdm needs consolekit, do I have to change to lightdm?
- what about USE flag acl, needed?
- what about introspection, needed with kde?
- what cgroup kernel config do I need, ist this suitable:

CONFIG_CGROUPS=y
# CONFIG_CGROUP_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_CGROUP_FREEZER=y
CONFIG_CGROUP_DEVICE=y
CONFIG_CGROUP_MEM_RES_CTLR=y
CONFIG_CGROUP_MEM_RES_CTLR_SWAP=y
CONFIG_CGROUP_MEM_RES_CTLR_SWAP_ENABLED=y
# CONFIG_CGROUP_MEM_RES_CTLR_KMEM is not set
# CONFIG_CGROUP_PERF is not set
CONFIG_BLK_CGROUP=y
# CONFIG_DEBUG_BLK_CGROUP is not set
# CONFIG_CFQ_GROUP_IOSCHED is not set
# CONFIG_NETPRIO_CGROUP is not set
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Princess Nell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like the truth is out there. http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Systemd#OpenRC_Compatibility
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1167

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:46 pm    Post subject: just tried - unable to give pw for crypted /home Reply with quote

Yeah, seems to be compatible with openrc. I hoped to get some systemd related experience here in this thread, but no one uses it. I took all my courage and:
1.) introduced the "systemd" USE flag to my system and
2.) emerge -avDN world and then
3.) put init=/usr/bin/systemd at the end of an additional grub entry
4.) But: Booting this systemd enabled entry failed with me not beeing able to give the PW for my encrypted /home partition. Do I need to use pam_mount package?

I saw
- when installing systemd a stated issue regarding CONFIG_IPV6. Should I enable in /usr/src/linux/.config the entry CONFIG_IPV6 and kernel recompile?
- when booting with systemd an unusual NVRAM info appeared. I will delete my proprietary nvidia.ko, depmod $V and retry booting with systemd now!
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
croutch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2012
Posts: 31
Location: göteborg

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

More info here.

http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1167

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

croutch wrote:
More info here. http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd

That wiki is for Gentoo-stable. A multitude of hints over there cannot correctly serve you on Gentoo-unstable, e.g.:
ln -s /lib/systemd/system/wpa_supplicant@.service \
/etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/wpa_supplicant@wlan0.service
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1167

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:26 pm    Post subject: kdm unit not available? Reply with quote

It is:
ln -s /usr/lib/systemd/system/wpa_supplicant@.service \
/etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/wpa_supplicant@wlan0.service

I managed to get to multi-user.target including network. And then
ln -s /etc/systemd/system/default.target /usr/lib/systemd/system/graphical.target
enabled all my multi-user.target services also in graphical.target.

What to do to get kdm working?
Or should I change to lightdm, does that package have a systemd unit?
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anaki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 6:40 am    Post subject: kdm service file Reply with quote

Try this kdm service file, it works for me:

http://astaecker.blogspot.de/2012/08/systemd-187-and-display-managers.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1167

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:41 am    Post subject: consolekit Reply with quote

And astaecker.blogspot.de
has a nice description howto disable consolekit. I am just with openrc, restarted kdm: It is just faster starting my kde session with USE flag -consolekit!

Though I expect kde device-notifier not to be able to mount any more ...
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1167

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:24 am    Post subject: kdm.service Reply with quote

At first:
1) my luks /home encrypted patition didnt mount
2) my graphical.target didn't work

1) I totally had forgotten about special Gentoo /etc/conf.d/dmcrypt. I wrongly was sure to have - as in Debian - /etc/crypttab. This bloody misconception was a whole afternoon to figure out for me. I made a bug of it:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=432138

2) The graphical.target is not ready preconfigured. At first I didn't recognize it is totally empty. I just get started my kde session by booting into multi-user.target and then as root: systemctl start kdm.service.
This at /etc/systemd/system/kdm.service
Code:
[Unit]
Description=KDM Display Manager
Conflicts=getty@tty1.service
After=systemd-user-sessions.service getty@tty1.service plymouth-quit.service

[Service]
ExecStart=/usr/bin/kdm -nodaemon
Restart=always
IgnoreSIGPIPE=no

[Install]
Alias=display-manager.service


3) further I will try:
Code:
ln -sf /usr/lib/systemd/system/multi-user.target \
 /etc/systemd/system/graphical.target.wants/multi-user.target
ln -sf /etc/systemd/system/kdm.service \
 /etc/systemd/system/graphical.target.wants/display-manager.service
ln -sf /usr/lib/systemd/system/graphical.target \
 /etc/systemd/system/default.target
as a stacked kind of runlevel ...
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1167

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 1:07 pm    Post subject: how to configure graphical.target ? Reply with quote

My step 3) fails. It doesn't work :(

Though I am able to re-link default.target to multi-user.target, reboot and by hand as root:
systemctl start kdm.service

Why?
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1167

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:43 pm    Post subject: How to slow down? Reply with quote

kdm cannot start, because systemd is just too fast. I tried with insertion of:
ExecStartPre=/usr/bin/udevadm settle

but that doesn't help either. We should use - as stated on freedesktop.org:
/usr/lib/systemd/systemd-multi-seat-x

But help of that wrapper program does not reveal any possibility to give a kdm parameter, there only are options similar to X.
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1167

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:24 pm    Post subject: found a working kdm.service file Reply with quote

I removed the previous kdm.service file (which I mentioned above) and his links,
then I copied following at /usr/lib/systemd/system/kdm@.service
Code:
[Unit]
Description=KDE Display Manager on %I
Requires=dev-%i.device
After=dev-%i.device systemd-user-sessions.service

[Service]
ExecStart=/usr/bin/kdm -nodaemon %I
ExecStop=/usr/bin/kdmctl suicide

[Install]
Alias=graphical.target.wants/kdm@tty7.service

This does boot the kdm instance when done:
systemctl enable kdm@.service

The command above creates the link
/etc/systemd/system/graphical.target.wants/kdm@tty7.service
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1167

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 8:03 pm    Post subject: systemd-189 behavior change again with kdm Reply with quote

Above unit now has dependency errors!
system-189 it is again this kdm.service unit that works:
Code:
[Unit]
Description=KDM Display Manager
Conflicts=getty@tty1.service
After=systemd-user-sessions.service getty@tty1.service plymouth-quit.service

[Service]
ExecStart=/usr/bin/kdm -nodaemon
Restart=always
IgnoreSIGPIPE=no

[Install]
Alias=display-manager.service

_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobWya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 56
Location: Cambridge,UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This may sound a bit odd. But I use a multi-boot system with Arch installed as one of my distros... I have to say I learnt more than I ever wanted too (!!) about systemd by using Arch!! I would recommend getting your feet wet using Arch - since the forum support is excellent and that distro is moving towards making systemd as a default option.

One annoying thing about systemd is the amount of hangs I get when booting. Update Arch, everything breaks and systemd locks at the slightest mount error in fstab, etc :evil:
It solved any problems I've encountered or met any particular needs either - maybe with more full desktop integration (unlikely to happen)...

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1167

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BobWya wrote:
This may sound a bit odd. But I use a multi-boot system with Arch installed as one of my distros...
I use
- Debian-unstable-siduction
- openSUSE
- Gentoo-unstable~

With Debian systemd-44 it is too easy: all insserv init.d/scripts are automatically run by systemd as it can use that LSB-headers. It is very compatible. You would have to link all these init.d names to /dev/null to get some control and some oversight.

Why the hell should I use a kind of last century slackware package management system:
Quote:
I have to say I learnt more than I ever wanted too (!!) about systemd by using Arch!! I would recommend getting your feet wet using Arch - since the forum support is excellent and that distro is moving towards making systemd as a default option.

One annoying thing about systemd is the amount of hangs I get when booting. Update Arch, everything breaks and systemd locks at the slightest mount error in fstab, etc
when possible with Gentoo! There where just a few little issues:
- a missing kdm.service file
- I had to use force to have USE "udisks2" enabled with kdelibs
- I had to mask USE consolekit
- I had to patch kdebase-pam, which for I provided a Gentoo bug

There is exactly one little issue remaining: Crypted devices I have to manually as root
# cryptsetup luksOpen /dev/cryptedPartition NAME
make a normal device of. With Dolphin I can mount all normal devices as usual then!

After also getting rid of USE "semantik-desktop" my typical german preference of getting clean I have reached:
A minimum of processes remaining - htop not showing any output of consolekit, strigi, nor nepomuk any more. Also there is no rsyslog any more. Instead I learn much by using a very helpfull log system called journald.

I am very glad having Gentoo run systemd without any crashes. Very thanks for wonderful work of Gentoo maintainers like mgorny and hubbs!

I bet, when time goes by, there will be Gentoo users changing from openrc to systemd. But there won't be many changing back! Systemd is just a matter of time. If you read systemd man pages, you will think of other systems as of Kindergarden :)
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobWya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 56
Location: Cambridge,UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ulenrich wrote:

Why the hell should I use a kind of last century slackware package management system:

:lol:

But seriously the more eyes on systemd in Gentoo - the better the support will get... 8)

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1167

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The good thing about systemd: Many distribution issues are now upstream all the way.
Also my remaining issue with mounting crypted devices is an upstream kde issue regarding udisks2
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 1952
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

systemd in Gentoo is usable ATM :)

Thank you Gentoo developers ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 1952
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nasty bug in gnome-base/gdm-3.4.1-r1 for systemd users:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=435042
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum