Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Direct rendering (DRI) using X11-DRM HOWTO
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TwinGears
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 33
Location: between the chair and the keyboard on and off

PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2003 1:30 pm    Post subject: Thanks for the Orginal Post Reply with quote

The Orginal post work great, only one glitch really. I was going from a nvidia to an older ATI rage128 AIW Pro and I found some where on this huge form that the command opengl-update was one thing to checkout.
It solved the last problem by ironing out this mess -
#grep -e '(EE)' -e '(WW)' /var/log/XFree86.0.log (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(WW) Warning, couldn't open module glx
(EE) Failed to load module "glx" (module does not exist, 0)
(WW) R128(0): Can't determine panel dimensions, and none specified. Disabling programming of FP registers.
(EE) R128(0): No DFP detected

Quake3 is playable now at 32bit at 800x600, any thing beyond this taxes the game to the point of uselessness or some dull appriciation of moving/still art.

Thanks
_________________
Can the mind be still? You have to love a good old fashion classical question.
sip:TwinGears@ekiga.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mach64 support added in xfree-drm-4.3.0-r7.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZuBsPaCe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2003
Posts: 43
Location: Switzerland (sry for my bad english :D)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there going to be s3 savage support at some time? or shall i throw my notebook's gc into our fire place?
_________________
Code:
#include <signature.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OpelBlitz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 229
Location: Chicago, Illinois

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2003 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This post made me realize I had to re-emerge xfree-drm upon kernel recompiling. Thanks! Amazing jump from ~200FPS to ~1450FPS with glxgears. Can't live without it anymore! 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
archie_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 10:42 pm    Post subject: mode 0666 Reply with quote

Hi,

Got my hercules radeon 9200 128 mb yesterday and now I want to use it in gentoo (of course). However, it seems to me that I always fall back on the same error. The source of the error seems to be in XF86Config in
Code:
Section "dri"
 Mode 0666
End Section

Don't remember the exact error, but it says something like Mode is not an accepted keyword. What might be the error?

Thanks in before.

/archie
_________________
A bit here... and there...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adastra
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2004 9:28 pm    Post subject: No direct rendering in 2.4.22? Reply with quote

This is the classic, "It was working, now it's not." I am posting here because spyderous wants us to keep posting problems here. Sorry, I have no suggestions for any other problems other post-ers are having.

I have a Compaq Armada M700 with an ATI Rage Mobility P/M AGP in it. I was using 2.4.20-gentoo-sources-r5 and had direct rendering working great using the module I compiled from the CVS source. Then I decided to add some USB support to my kernel (I know, a little late in the game, but I never really needed it before) and decided I would go ahead and upgrade to the latest gentoo-sources (2.4.22-r5) in the process. Well, long story short, direct rendering just gives me the finger now. I've tried xfree-drm (since it now supports mach64), I've tried compiling from CVS sources, I've upgraded to the latest XFree (4.3.0-r3), It just doesn't work.

I was having the 'unresolved symbol: cmpxchg' problem when trying to load the kernel module but found, in this thread, the answer to that. Now the module loads (whether I compile from source or use xfree-drm) but nothing uses it. It shows up as unused in the lsmod and glxinfo gives an emphatic NO! on direct rendering. I've recompiled everything (kernel, xfree-drm, CVS sources, xfree) more times than I feel like mentioning and on a PIII 500, that really sucks. I really don't want to have to go back to 2.4.20 because that would mean recompiling all that crap again.

My XF86Config file can be found at
http://scatcat.fhsu.edu/~jsrosenboom/XF86Config

my last XFree log file
http://scatcat.fhsu.edu/~jsrosenboom/XFree86.0.log

and the output of glxinfo
http://scatcat.fhsu.edu/~jsrosenboom/glxinfo.log

It someone has gotten DRI setup on gentoo-sources-2.4.22-r5 with any kind of a similar setup, let me know. If you see anything stupid I have done I could use a hint.

And one last question, if I do end up having to go back to 2.4.20, would I necessarily need to recompile XFree? Is it OK to have a running kernel that's an older version than the kernel sources XFree was compiled against? Thanks.

UPDATE:

Just saw something. After starting X, I checked my dmesg and found this

Code:

[drm] AGP 0.99 aperture @ 0x50000000 64MB
[drm] Initialized mach64 1.0.0 20020904 on minor 0
spurious 8259A interrupt: IRQ7.
spurious 8259A interrupt: IRQ15.
[drm:mach64_do_dma_init] *ERROR* can not find agp texture region!


That last line looks suspicious. I wonder what it could mean?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zurd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Dec 2003
Posts: 228
Location: Canada, Montreal

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 12:07 am    Post subject: What to do after it's working Reply with quote

Here's 2 things that could be included :

First, in the code list of this forum :
# grep -e '(EE)' -e '(WW)' /var/log/XFree86.0.log
# glxinfo | grep render
# dmesg | grep -i agp
# lsmod | grep agp
# modprobe agpgart
# ls -l /dev/dri/card0
# ls -ld /dev/dri

There also should be : "grep drm /var/log/XFree86.0.log" and it is what helped me solved my DRM problem, it was complaining that /dev/dri/card0 cannot be found, which lead me to the fact that r128 wasn't loaded in my kernel and modprobe r128 was complaining about cmpxchg, so then I recompiled my kernel with another kind of processor other than 386 and it was working :wink:

Then, after glxinfo tells you that Direct rendering is at Yes, you're not finish there ! This is something that I would like to be included in the Direct Rendering Howto on gentoo.org :
After you get glxinfo telling you that direct rendering is at Yes, you'll have to re-emerge xfree like that : "USE="opengl" emerge xfree", I had to do this to get quake1 compiled, else it was complaining about GLU.h and then, you'll have to "emerge libsdl", I couldn't load the famous game Stepmania because it was saying something about X11 not linked with opengl.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ootneg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a Mach 64 Rage Pro:
Code:
# lspci | grep AGP
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82815 815 Chipset AGP Bridge (rev 02)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc 3D Rage Pro AGP 1X/2X (rev 5c)


I tried using the new Mach64 support in xfree-drm and have so far been unable to get it to work. emerge xfree-drm builds /lib/modules/2.4.24/kernel/drivers/char/drm/mach64.o, which can be loaded with modprobe.
Code:
#modprobe mach64

When I load it, the kernel logs
Code:
[drm] AGP 0.99 aperture @ 0xf8000000 64MB
[drm] Initialized mach64 1.0.0 20020904 on minor 0


Even with it loaded, X does not like it. When I place
Code:
    Driver      "mach64"

in XF86Config, X will not run. The log shows:
Code:
# grep -e '(EE)' -e '(WW)' /var/log/XFree86.0.log
         (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(WW) Open APM failed (/dev/apm_bios) (No such file or directory)
(WW) Warning, couldn't open module mach64
(EE) Failed to load module "mach64" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) No drivers available.


When I change the Driver back to ati, which does not use the drm driver, X will run. Unfortunately, this driver does not support direct rendering.

Any suggestions on what I may be missing? Thank you for any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greatguru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 6:51 pm    Post subject: help anybody? Reply with quote

First, just wanted to thank beejay for his help, simply running:

Code:
 opengl-update xfree


turned on direct rendering (somewhere I missed that in howto).

I have a Compaq Evo N610c (laptop) with a ATI Mobility Radeon 7500. I got rendering to work, which made my fps with glxgears jump from ~200 to ~400. I then put the suggested tweaks into my XF86Config from the bottom of the Howto. This yielded ~1050 fps on glxgears.

With some talk on the first page of this topic about 1900-2000 fps on a Radeon 7500 and other talk of the possiblity of higher fps, plus my friend getting ~8000 fps with his nvidia geforce 4 mobile, I am wondering if there is some tweak or something I'm missing or if I can't get higher because of the chip...

My XF86Config
My XFree86 log (in case there is something wrong that I'm missing)

Any ideas? Thanks in advance...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OhSh33t
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 169
Location: South-Seattle Park

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2004 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Install with VIDEO_CARDS="yourcard" emerge xfree-drm.


I understand how to do this with my Radeon card but what about Integrated video like this:
Code:

#lspci
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corp. 82845G/GL [Brookdale-G] Chipset Integrated Graphics Device (rev 01)

Code:

# dmesg | grep -i agp
Linux agpgart interface v0.99 (c) Jeff Hartmann
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 431M
agpgart: Detected an Intel(R) 845G Chipset.
agpgart: Detected 8060K stolen memory.
agpgart: AGP aperture is 128M @ 0xf0000000
[drm] AGP 0.99 Aperture @ 0xf0000000 128MB


Right now I have everything compiled into the Kernel.. I know, I know, I KNOW what I need todo here.... but I just wanted to know 2 things..

1) Has anyone else been able to get there i845G integrated video to work, or is this card not going to work at all?
2) What do I put for my videocard when declaring "VIDEO_CARDS="what-do-I-put-here-for-my-card" ??

Thanks
_________________
JB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrmodin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 216
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
is there going to be s3 savage support at some time? or shall i throw my notebook's gc into our fire place?


There is. Install from cvs savage-2-0-0-branch. Work very well on my IBM Thinkpad T20.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drahz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 7:15 pm    Post subject: rage128 xfree-drm driver Reply with quote

I have a Rage128 desktop w/16MB (AGP). I'm going to type what I do and please correct me if I"m wrong. I did NOT include the DRI in the kernel but i did put a * next to the ati rage128 in the kernel for support. for a minuet i had the 386 chip enabled, but i recompiled the kernel to pentuimpro.(my specs are below). and after I type glxinfo | grep render. also
Code:
ls -l /dev/dri/card0
I get a dose not exist message.
I get...NO or rendering and on the next line somthing about a MESA INDIRECT driver. Oh, one more thing. svgalib would not emerge, I got it, but could that have been a problem? **EDIT I'll post my LOG and XF86Config when I get home in a fue hours.

Code:
#emerge x11-base/xfree
#VIDEO_CARDS="r128" emerge xfree-drm
#emerge pciutils; lspci | grep AGP
#X -configure
#nano -w /root/XF86Config.new
      ...change driver to r128 and set default depth to 16 or 24 and the resolution...
#startx
#glxinfo | grep render



[SPECS]PC CHips 440 LX Motherboard; Intel P2 300MHz Kalimath; ATI Rage128 PRO TURBO 16MB; and a Phillips cd-rw IDE drive; seagate 10GB HDD; Realtek 139 NIC; 64MB SDRAM
(I can NOT wait to get a better machine, that I can install Gentoo on.) It's so slow that I have to do a stage3 unless I want to wate a week and do it from source, lol
_________________
meh!
cyber crimes Department of Justice website
http://www.usdoj.gov/criminal/cybercrime/cccases.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ksantoro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2004 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey im running kernel 2.6.5 and seem to be having a bit more of a problem getting my Radeon 8500 running on gentoo then i have with redhat... heres what im getting i have everything setup the way i did w/ redhat which isnt to much different of a setup for the ATI drivers but every time i do a `opengl-update ati' it seems to always default back to the xfree drivers...

Can someone who's had the prob. help me out here...?

(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(WW) Open APM failed (/dev/apm_bios) (No such file or directory)
(WW) fglrx(0): Kernel Module version does *not* match driver.
(EE) fglrx(0): incompatible kernel module detected - HW accelerated OpenGL will not work
(WW) fglrx(0): ***********************************************
(WW) fglrx(0): * DRI initialization failed! *
(WW) fglrx(0): * (maybe driver kernel module missing or bad) *
(WW) fglrx(0): * 2D acceleraton available (MMIO) *
(WW) fglrx(0): * no 3D acceleration available *
(WW) fglrx(0): ********************************************* *
direct rendering: No
GLX_ATI_render_texture
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
Linux agpgart interface v0.100 (c) Dave Jones
bus pci: add driver agpgart-nvidia
bus pci: add driver agpgart-ati
bus pci: remove driver agpgart-nvidia
ati_agp 9228 0
agpgart 35696 1 ati_agp
FATAL: Module agpgart already in kernel.
crw-rw-rw- 1 root oax 226, 0 Apr 11 08:49 /dev/dri/card0
drwxr-xr-x 1 root oax 0 Apr 11 08:49 /dev/dri


Last edited by ksantoro on Mon Apr 12, 2004 9:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GoofballJM1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 392
Location: Denver, CO USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2004 6:17 am    Post subject: Not enough Info regarding 2.6 and later Reply with quote

I have read everyone of these posts and I am still confused as to how I enable DRI in a 2.6 kernel? Do I enable DRM in the kernel or do I not? If I do, do I do it as modules or built in? I obviously can't emerge xfree DRM because of my kernel (2.6.3-r1), so what do I do? I get about 90 fps on glxgears on my rage 128 with 8 mb's of ram. I have been reading that people can get higher than that with this card. What's the deal? here is my glxinfo:

Code:

name of display: :0.0
Xlib:  extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".
display: :0  screen: 0
direct rendering: No
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
server glx extensions:
    GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context
client glx vendor string: SGI
client glx version string: 1.2
client glx extensions:
    GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context
GLX extensions:
    GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa project: www.mesa3d.org
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
OpenGL version string: 1.3 Mesa 4.0.4
OpenGL extensions:
    GL_ARB_imaging, GL_ARB_multitexture, GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp,
    GL_ARB_texture_cube_map, GL_ARB_texture_env_add,
    GL_ARB_texture_env_combine, GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3,
    GL_ARB_transpose_matrix, GL_EXT_abgr, GL_EXT_blend_color,
    GL_EXT_blend_minmax, GL_EXT_blend_subtract, GL_EXT_texture_env_add,
    GL_EXT_texture_env_combine, GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3,
    GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias
glu version: 1.3
glu extensions:
    GLU_EXT_nurbs_tessellator, GLU_EXT_object_space_tess

   visual  x  bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer  ms  cav
 id dep cl sp sz l  ci b ro  r  g  b  a bf th cl  r  g  b  a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x23 16 tc  1 16  0 r  y  .  5  6  5  0  0 16  0  0  0  0  0  0 0 None
0x24 16 tc  1 16  0 r  y  .  5  6  5  0  0 16  8 16 16 16  0  0 0 None
0x25 16 tc  1 16  0 r  y  .  5  6  5  8  0 16  8 16 16 16 16  0 0 None
0x26 16 tc  1 16  0 r  .  .  5  6  5  8  0 16  8 16 16 16 16  0 0 None
0x27 16 dc  1 16  0 r  y  .  5  6  5  0  0 16  0  0  0  0  0  0 0 None
0x28 16 dc  1 16  0 r  y  .  5  6  5  0  0 16  8 16 16 16  0  0 0 None
0x29 16 dc  1 16  0 r  y  .  5  6  5  8  0 16  8 16 16 16 16  0 0 None
0x2a 16 dc  1 16  0 r  .  .  5  6  5  8  0 16  8 16 16 16 16  0 0 None


I get that irritating message:

Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".

and a 'no' on direct rendering. What needs to be done :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrmodin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 216
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2004 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GoofballJM1 wrote:
What needs to be done :?:


http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/dri-howto.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GoofballJM1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 392
Location: Denver, CO USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2004 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrmodin wrote:
GoofballJM1 wrote:
What needs to be done :?:


http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/dri-howto.xml


I HAVE DONE THAT. Most of that stuff is for 2.4 kernels. The information for 2.6 is not very specific. If you can find that information in that documentation, please point it out because I have read that doc 20 times and done everything it requires for a 2.6 kernel and nothing. :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrmodin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 216
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2004 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, hmm, have you tried to build everything from CVS? I did that and it worked like a dream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idkwiam187
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="OhSh33t"]
Quote:


1) Has anyone else been able to get there i845G integrated video to work, or is this card not going to work at all?
2) What do I put for my videocard when declaring "VIDEO_CARDS="what-do-I-put-here-for-my-card" ??

Thanks


I couldn't get mine to work for the longest time. Then I unmerged Xfree, emerged X.Org, and everything worked flawlessly. My framerate jumped from ~200 to ~1000.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gnufsh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 400
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using the instructions here:
http://dri.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/moin.cgi/Building

you can build the dri cvs and install it on both 2.6 kernels and Xorg.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarkByers
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2004 11:05 am    Post subject: Intel 82845G/GL Reply with quote

My first post here, hi everyone!

I also have this chipset, and have been trying for the last couple of days to get it working properly. At the moment I have got glxgears up to 400FPS, after enabling DRI.

I had to set my VIDEO_CARDS="i810 i830" for some reason. Having just VIDEO_CARD="i810" didn't work. I still get some warnings in XFree86.log, for example:

(WW) I810(0): Extended BIOS function 0x5f11 not supported.

I would like to hear from someone else that has had success with the 845G chipset, what framerate they managed to get, and what they did to get it working. I am sure that I can improve on 400FPS.

Thanks all,
Mark.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R. Bosch
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 184
Location: NL

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When building dri for X (org or free) I got in my host.def
Code:

#define XF86CardDrivers i810
#define DriDrivers i810 i830


Though the scores are up, you might like to be carefull with 3D-screensavers (circuit)and some games (BridgeConstructor-demo). The Xserver (Xorg) tends to grash. On my ati with the fglrx drivers there's no problem.... (still need to test the screensaver circuit though...).

For instructions again :wink:
Here: http://dri.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/moin.cgi/Building

Hope it helps...

TIP:
search in your log on "DRI" to see if all options are open. DRI is only activated with a minimum of 32MB RAM. Any lower and it will turn off.
[edit]
it depends on your resulution :wink:
[/edit]
_________________
Greetings / Met vriendelijke groet,

R. Bosch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick update:

x11-drm 20040827 and newer:
(1) Should support 2.6 kernels. This should help to unify the steps needed for 2.4 and 2.6 kernels.
(2) Add ffb (sparc-only), savage, i915 and via DRMs and remove gamma DRM

I plan to add the savage 3D stuff to xorg 6.8.0-r1 before I stable it on x86. You'll need USE="insecure-drivers" to get savage, via or mach64 3D stuff working properly. I've heard rumors that via is still a little broken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravensix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been trying I don't know how long to get higher fps, I have a voodoo 5 5500, i tried everything listed, but my FPS have been no higher than 120. Funny thing is when i ran knoppix awhile back, my fps would be about 1700FPS. I did everything by the book but direct rendering would not enable, i did the x11-drm with VIDEO_CARDS="3dfx"
however, looking in my Xorg.0.log i noticed this..

(II) TDFX(0): [drm] installed DRM signal handler
(II) TDFX(0): [DRI] installation complete
(==) TDFX(0): Direct rendering enabled
(==) RandR enabled

but when i did glxinfo..

dan@coldfire ~ $ glxinfo |grep rendering
direct rendering: No

dri is loaded and set to 0666
I just don't know what to do anymore ;\
My kernel by the way is 2.6.8-ck7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2004 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ravensix wrote:
I have been trying I don't know how long to get higher fps, I have a voodoo 5 5500, i tried everything listed, but my FPS have been no higher than 120. Funny thing is when i ran knoppix awhile back, my fps would be about 1700FPS. I did everything by the book but direct rendering would not enable, i did the x11-drm with VIDEO_CARDS="3dfx"
however, looking in my Xorg.0.log i noticed this..

(II) TDFX(0): [drm] installed DRM signal handler
(II) TDFX(0): [DRI] installation complete
(==) TDFX(0): Direct rendering enabled
(==) RandR enabled

but when i did glxinfo..

dan@coldfire ~ $ glxinfo |grep rendering
direct rendering: No

dri is loaded and set to 0666
I just don't know what to do anymore ;\
My kernel by the way is 2.6.8-ck7


For Voodoo3's or Banshee's with 16MB of memory or less, try
Code:
TDFX_RISKY="yes" emerge xorg-x11


Other than that, go through the general DRI troubleshooting sequence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravensix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

spyderous wrote:

For Voodoo3's or Banshee's with 16MB of memory or less, try
Code:
TDFX_RISKY="yes" emerge xorg-x11


Other than that, go through the general DRI troubleshooting sequence.


Well my card is 64MB Voodoo5 5500, as or the troubleshooting, i made dri the same in Load and in section, that boosted my fps to 170-180fps. Only thing i haven't tried is trying cvs source seeing if that'll work which im hoping it will.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 5 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum