Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE Huge cpu usage
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 4:23 pm    Post subject: KDE Huge cpu usage Reply with quote

Hi all,
I am getting a stange cpu usage when running KDE from last 2 days.
If I start kde using startx (exec ck-launch-session startkde) I get an huge cpu usage both with and without compositing

This is top>
Code:
21648 root      20   0 65376  26m  14m R [b] 61,7[/b]  0,9   0:30.26 X                                             
22124 vasco     20   0  138m  23m  16m S   2,2  0,8   0:00.73 konsole                                       
22131 vasco     20   0  4840 1452 1092 R   0,7  0,0   0:00.10 top 


I am using kde-4.9.0.

Any ideas?

Thanks
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~x86, Kernel 3.11.2, Enermax Revolutions85+ 850W, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE, Corsair XMS2 PC6400 3GB, ASUS M2R32, Sapphire HD6870, Creative X-Fi Platinum, WD Raptor 150GB, WD 2.5 320GB, Asus DRW-24B1ST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstorm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 2463
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Before we enter the bug hunting game, there's a big chance your problem has been fixed in 4.9.1 - re-sync and update first.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just update to 4.9.1, same problem.

I a running xorg-server 1.13rc5
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~x86, Kernel 3.11.2, Enermax Revolutions85+ 850W, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE, Corsair XMS2 PC6400 3GB, ASUS M2R32, Sapphire HD6870, Creative X-Fi Platinum, WD Raptor 150GB, WD 2.5 320GB, Asus DRW-24B1ST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstorm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 2463
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it the same with xorg-server-1.12.4?

You can

Code:
# quickpkg xorg-server
# emerge -1 =xorg-server-1.12.4


and later return to rc5 without having to rebuild again:
Code:
# emerge -uk xorg-server

_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same error downgrading to 1.12.4
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~x86, Kernel 3.11.2, Enermax Revolutions85+ 850W, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE, Corsair XMS2 PC6400 3GB, ASUS M2R32, Sapphire HD6870, Creative X-Fi Platinum, WD Raptor 150GB, WD 2.5 320GB, Asus DRW-24B1ST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are there some kde command that I should do?
I installed kde emerging kdebase-startkde, add kde to .xinitrc and startx
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~x86, Kernel 3.11.2, Enermax Revolutions85+ 850W, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE, Corsair XMS2 PC6400 3GB, ASUS M2R32, Sapphire HD6870, Creative X-Fi Platinum, WD Raptor 150GB, WD 2.5 320GB, Asus DRW-24B1ST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fr3eatlast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2012
Posts: 41
Location: Marquette, MI

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you use nepomuk in kde, because I have had that use over half of my CPU while it is indexing files, especially when I first log into KDE.
hth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge -s nepomuk
Searching...   
[ Results for search key : nepomuk ]
[ Applications found : 2 ]

*  kde-base/nepomuk
      Latest version available: 4.9.1
      Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
      Size of files: 6,196 kB
      Homepage:      http://www.kde.org/
      Description:   Nepomuk KDE4 client
      License:       GPL-2

*  kde-base/nepomuk-core
      Latest version available: 4.9.1
      Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
      Size of files: 365 kB
      Homepage:      http://www.kde.org/
      Description:   Nepomuk core libraries
      License:       GPL-2

_________________
Gentoo Linux ~x86, Kernel 3.11.2, Enermax Revolutions85+ 850W, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE, Corsair XMS2 PC6400 3GB, ASUS M2R32, Sapphire HD6870, Creative X-Fi Platinum, WD Raptor 150GB, WD 2.5 320GB, Asus DRW-24B1ST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1374
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using a 3.5.x kernel? If I start my system with one of the 3.5.x kernels the laptop is unusable with huge cpuload within seconds after I log in. My solution: Stay with 3.4.x for now.
_________________
I *do* know that I easily aggravate people due to my condensed writing. Rule of thumb: If I wrote anything that can be understood in two different ways, and one way offends you, then I meant the other! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am on 3.6-rc4.
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~x86, Kernel 3.11.2, Enermax Revolutions85+ 850W, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE, Corsair XMS2 PC6400 3GB, ASUS M2R32, Sapphire HD6870, Creative X-Fi Platinum, WD Raptor 150GB, WD 2.5 320GB, Asus DRW-24B1ST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1374
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And can you reproduce the problem with a 3.4.x kernel?
_________________
I *do* know that I easily aggravate people due to my condensed writing. Rule of thumb: If I wrote anything that can be understood in two different ways, and one way offends you, then I meant the other! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sory but now I switched to compiz standalone so no more KDE.
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~x86, Kernel 3.11.2, Enermax Revolutions85+ 850W, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE, Corsair XMS2 PC6400 3GB, ASUS M2R32, Sapphire HD6870, Creative X-Fi Platinum, WD Raptor 150GB, WD 2.5 320GB, Asus DRW-24B1ST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1374
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And you do not have this problem there? For me it had nothing to do with KDE but with the kernel.
_________________
I *do* know that I easily aggravate people due to my condensed writing. Rule of thumb: If I wrote anything that can be understood in two different ways, and one way offends you, then I meant the other! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum