Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
virtualbox-4.2.0 available in portage
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Polynomial-C
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 1391
Location: germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:48 pm    Post subject: virtualbox-4.2.0 available in portage Reply with quote

IMPORTANT! virtualbox-4.2.0 is now officially in portage. The beta and rc ebuilds have been removed from poly-c overlay!

Hey,

now that virtualbox-4.2.0_beta1 has been released I added beta ebuilds to my private overlay.
Code:
layman -a poly-c

should be enough to get all packages. Please keep in mind that I package-masked these ebuilds so that no user of my overlay installs these packages by accident. The easiest way to make the packages available for portage manager is to run the following command:
Code:
grep virtualbox /var/lib/layman/poly-c/profiles/package.mask >> /etc/portage/package.unmask


As mentioned by the vbox developers this is not intended for production usage. On the other hand give it a shot and become impressed by the huge speed improvement they seem to have achieved :)

Have fun testing.

[edit]Added note about p.mask[/edit]
[edit]Changed title as 4.2.0_rc1 is available[/edit]
[edit]Changed title so people know that the bteas/rcs are no longer in poly-c overlay[/edit]
_________________
The manual said "Requires Windows7 or better" so I installed GNU/Linux...

my portage overlay

Need a stage1 tarball? (Unofficial builds)


Last edited by Polynomial-C on Fri Sep 14, 2012 6:23 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32443
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Polynomial-C,

app-emulation/virtualbox-4.2.0_beta1 doesn't like a /no-multilib/ profile but I suspected as much before I tried to build it.
Code:
Checking for 32-bit support:
  Cannot compile 32-bit applications (missing headers and/or libraries)!


... and there is no -bin yet. :(
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Polynomial-C
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 1391
Location: germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Neddy,

sorry for not adding a -bin package earlier. To be honest I don't use it and I am just co-maintaining it beause I maintain the whole bunch of other virtualbox packages.
To hopefully give you the same great experience with the upcoming 4.2.x series I've added the -bin package to my overlay as well. This -bin package is totally untested other than making sure it installs without any error message (left aside all the QA warnings which I was too lazy to fix right now).

Have fun :)
_________________
The manual said "Requires Windows7 or better" so I installed GNU/Linux...

my portage overlay

Need a stage1 tarball? (Unofficial builds)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32443
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Polynomial-C,

The -bin installs and runs here. I have only tested very briefly ... it started a Win XP Guest.

Thanks very much for the -bin.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Polynomial-C
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 1391
Location: germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's now virtualbox-4.2.0_rc1 available. Have fun :)
_________________
The manual said "Requires Windows7 or better" so I installed GNU/Linux...

my portage overlay

Need a stage1 tarball? (Unofficial builds)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Polynomial-C
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 1391
Location: germany

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And now there's virtualbox-4.2.0_rc2 available. As usual have fun testing :)
_________________
The manual said "Requires Windows7 or better" so I installed GNU/Linux...

my portage overlay

Need a stage1 tarball? (Unofficial builds)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Polynomial-C
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 1391
Location: germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After omitting virtualbox-4.2.0_rc3 because I was on holidays I now added virtualbox-4.2.0_rc4 to my overlay.
Have fun testing :)
_________________
The manual said "Requires Windows7 or better" so I installed GNU/Linux...

my portage overlay

Need a stage1 tarball? (Unofficial builds)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstorm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 2482
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thx a lot, I will happily test it but I suspect it won't build with gcc-4.7.2_pre9999 because of wrong version string detection, Makefile.kmk at fault or so ;)

Yeah, it fails in a part of the code in cpu-exec.c that's only reached because it is configured with -DGCC_WITH_BUGGY_REGPARM which I believe is wrong. Is there a way to override it in the ebuild?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4971

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

poly, does it compiles well when mesa and glu are separated?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstorm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 2482
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Absolutely no problem.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4971

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Absolutely no problem.


strange, 4.1.22 fails due to missing glu headers
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstorm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 2482
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then please add it to the glu tracker bug.

You have media-libs/mesa-9999 _and_ media-libs/glu-9999 installed?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4971

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Then please add it to the glu tracker bug.

You have media-libs/mesa-9999 _and_ media-libs/glu-9999 installed?


glu won't install because of the emul libs
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstorm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 2482
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then you actually asked the wrong question above *nitpicking* ;)

You can workaround this by emerging it with FEATURES="-collision-protect" emerge --nodeps media-libs/glu, or simply don't use mesa-9999, because imo it won't be solved for some time (either until it's possible to emerge glu without installing lib32 files or we get a new emul-linux-x86-opengl package without the conflict).

Meanwhile, rc4 builds fine with gcc-4.7.1.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4971

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Then you actually asked the wrong question above *nitpicking* ;)

You can workaround this by emerging it with FEATURES="-collision-protect" emerge --nodeps media-libs/glu, or simply don't use mesa-9999, because imo it won't be solved for some time (either until it's possible to emerge glu without installing lib32 files or we get a new emul-linux-x86-opengl package without the conflict).

Meanwhile, rc4 builds fine with gcc-4.7.1.


nope, this bug https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=434206 which prevents me from installing it.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstorm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 2482
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm, that's funny. Anyway there's a different thread for that matter, maybe later I've got some time to look into it.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Polynomial-C
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 1391
Location: germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Thx a lot, I will happily test it but I suspect it won't build with gcc-4.7.2_pre9999 because of wrong version string detection, Makefile.kmk at fault or so ;)

Yeah, it fails in a part of the code in cpu-exec.c that's only reached because it is configured with -DGCC_WITH_BUGGY_REGPARM which I believe is wrong. Is there a way to override it in the ebuild?


Well, the kbuild build-system is not that easy for me to fully understand. So I doubt it can be easily overridden in the ebuild.
_________________
The manual said "Requires Windows7 or better" so I installed GNU/Linux...

my portage overlay

Need a stage1 tarball? (Unofficial builds)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Polynomial-C
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 1391
Location: germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

virtualbox-4.2.0 has been officially released and is already in portage. So I removed the beta/rc ebuilds from poly-c overlay.
_________________
The manual said "Requires Windows7 or better" so I installed GNU/Linux...

my portage overlay

Need a stage1 tarball? (Unofficial builds)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstorm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 2482
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Polynomial-C wrote:
Well, the kbuild build-system is not that easy for me to fully understand. So I doubt it can be easily overridden in the ebuild.

As expected, it builds now with gcc-4.7.2. I don't know if it's even worth opening a bug for that, probably not. ;)
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snIP3r
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 784
Location: germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi all!

tried to install 4.2 but it failed with this message:

Code:

...
tstDeviceStructSize: info: sizeof(int8_t): 0x1 (1)
tstDeviceStructSize: error! VGASTATE::Dev offset=0x12db4 (77236) expected alignment 8, meaning 0x4 (4) off
tstDeviceStructSize: error! VGASTATE::lock offset=0x12d34 (77108) expected alignment 8, meaning 0x4 (4) off
tstDeviceStructSize: error! VGASTATE::StatRZMemoryRead offset=0x1300c (77836) expected alignment 8, meaning 0x4 (4) off
tstDeviceStructSize: Comparing HC and RC...
tstDeviceStructSize: info: sizeof(PDMDEVINS): 0xc8 (200)
tstDeviceStructSize: info: sizeof(PCIDEVICE): 0x258 (600)
...
tstDeviceStructSize: info: sizeof(BUSLOGIC): 0x8b8 (2232)
tstDeviceStructSize: info: sizeof(LSILOGICSCSI): 0x538 (1336)
tstDeviceStructSize: info: sizeof(HpetState): 0x1c8 (456)
tstDeviceStructSize: info: sizeof(HpetTimer): 0x40 (64)
tstDeviceStructSize: FAILURE - 3 errors
kmk: *** [/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-4.2.0-r1/work/VirtualBox-4.2.0/out/linux.x86/release/obj/Devices/testcase/tstDeviceStructSize.run] Error 3
kmk: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
rm /var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-4.2.0-r1/work/VirtualBox-4.2.0/out/linux.x86/release/obj/pcnet32.rom.rt1.bin /var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-4.2.0-r1/work/VirtualBox-4.2.0/out/linux.x86/release/obj/pcnet32.rom.rt2.zbin /var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-4.2.0-r1/work/VirtualBox-4.2.0/out/linux.x86/release/obj/pcnet32.rom.rt2.bin
kmk: *** Exiting with status 2
 * ERROR: app-emulation/virtualbox-4.2.0-r1 failed (compile phase):
 *   emake failed
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=app-emulation/virtualbox-4.2.0-r1'`,
 * the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=app-emulation/virtualbox-4.2.0-r1'`.
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-4.2.0-r1/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-4.2.0-r1/temp/environment'.
 * Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-4.2.0-r1/work/VirtualBox-4.2.0'
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-4.2.0-r1/work/VirtualBox-4.2.0'
!!! When you file a bug report, please include the following information:
GENTOO_VM=icedtea-bin-6  CLASSPATH="" JAVA_HOME="/opt/icedtea-bin-6.1.11.4"
JAVACFLAGS="-source 1.6 -target 1.6" COMPILER=""
and of course, the output of emerge --info


and i have absolutely no idea how to fix this. any suggestions or help with this?

thx in advance
snIP3r
_________________
Intel G3220 on ASUS P9D-X
Gentoo Base System 2.2
Kernel 3.12.20-gentoo SMP
-----------------------------------------------
if your problem is fixed please add something like [solved] to the topic!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moben
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2009
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same problem here... bug: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=436002
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snIP3r
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 784
Location: germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

moben wrote:
same problem here... bug: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=436002


got it... added myself to the cc list but no progress yet...
_________________
Intel G3220 on ASUS P9D-X
Gentoo Base System 2.2
Kernel 3.12.20-gentoo SMP
-----------------------------------------------
if your problem is fixed please add something like [solved] to the topic!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum