Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to install Radeon HD 7640G Card
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:25 pm    Post subject: How to install Radeon HD 7640G Card Reply with quote

Hi,I am very new to gentoo kernel compilation, I wondered if anyone could assist me on how to compile my Radeon 7640G card.
This is the procedure I followed to compiled the kernel.

<code>
1) Device Drivers -> Graphics Support -> <M> /dev/agpgart (AGP Support) --->
1a) and under /dev/agpgart (AGP Support) ---> <M> AMD Opteron/Athlon64 on-CPU GART support

2) Device Drivers -> Graphics Support -> <M> Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) --->
2a) and under Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) ---> <M> ATI Radeon
                                                                                   [*]   Enable modesetting on radeon by default - NEW DRIVER

3) Device Drivers -> Graphics Support -> {M} Support for frame buffer devices --->
3a) and under Support for frame buffer devices ---> <M> ATI Radeon display support
                                                    [*]    DDC/I2C for ATI Radeon support
                                                    [*]    Support for backlight control

4) Device Drivers -> Generic Driver Options ---> -*- Userspace firmware loading support
                                                  []    Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary
                                                  ()    External firmware blobs to build into the kernel binary
</code>

Unfortunately enough my radeon has not yet been compiled. When I ran this command
#zgrep CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE /proc/config.gz
I got this output
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE=""

Any help please ?
thanks in advanced.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6639
Location: The soundosphere

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, disable the framebuffer support in the kernel. That's handled by kernel modesetting now.

Then, make sure you have VIDEO_CARDS="radeon" in /etc/make.conf, and run emerge -uDN world. Reboot, and it should work. If not, post your /var/log/Xorg.0.log.
_________________
decibel Linux: https://decibellinux.org
Github: https://github.com/Gentoo-Music-and-Audio-Technology
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/decibellinux
Discord: https://discord.gg/73XV24dNPN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have already configured my /etc/make.conf file before I asked my question in the forum.The problem is I cannot even boot to command prompt and when I tried to boot using the grub prompt I got a black blank screen . I used the radeon.modeset=1 option to boot it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is a very good documentation:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml

So basically
- disable agpgart as it is not needed
- configure your kernel like this:

Code:

Device Drivers --->
  Graphics support --->
    Support for frame buffer devices --->
    (Disable all drivers, including VGA, Intel, nVidia, and ATI)

    (Further down, enable basic console support. KMS uses this.)
    Console display driver support --->
      <*>  Framebuffer Console Support


Code:

Device Drivers --->
  Generic Driver Options --->
  [*]  Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary
   (radeon/ARUBA_me.bin radeon/ARUBA_pfp.bin radeon/ARUBA_rlc.bin)
   External firmware blobs
   (/lib/firmware/) Firmware blobs root directory


Code:

Device Drivers --->
  Graphics support --->
  <*>  Direct Rendering Manager --->
  <*>    ATI Radeon
  [*]      Enable modesetting on radeon by default


Also set VIDEO_CARDS="radeon r600" in make.conf and emerge radeon-ucode
_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!


Last edited by gorkypl on Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2158
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 7640G is a Fusion APU, so you need the ARUBA firmware files (and recent kernel/mesa/xf86-video-ati).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are right, I have edited my post.
_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try all that.
Thanks for your support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem to install the RADEON HD7640G card still persist, I followed your above instruction and the link http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml mentioned.
.config
http://pastebin.com/JWke9ErX

make.conf
http://pastebin.com/CAG7fYwM

lspci -k
http://pastebin.com/3jbwD3zY

The below commands still output the same results;
#zgrep CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE /proc/config.gz

output
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE=""

#cat /boot/config-$(uname -r) | grep -i ikconfig

output
cat: /boot/config-3.2.23-std281-amd64: No such file or directory

Is there any further assistance you can render ?
Thanks in advanced.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you please paste the output of
Code:

eselect kernel list
uname -r

_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

#eselect kernel list
Available kernel symlink targets:
[1] linux-3.4.9-gentoo *

#uname -r
3.2.23-std281-amd64

Thanks a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, so you have not booted with your newly configured kernel.

After doing 'make menuconfig' you need to do
Code:

make
make modules_install
make install

And make sure that your bootloader is configured to boot the newly installed kernel.
_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you intentionally omit the cp arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/KERNEL ????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

'make install' does that, but you can do it manually of course.
_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did what you said, after some second of booting the system screen went black blank. I still believed that the graphic card is not yet in order . I even booted it from the grub prompt ,

grub> kernel /boot/vmlinuz-3.4.9-gentoo radeon.modeset=1

it booted up to the black blank screen. I have not really try to compile Radeon as a module yet, please what do you suggest ?
I have setup gentoo several times on my intel desktop without a much stress but the new laptop is a pain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do not use the radeon.modeset and remove all drivers from
Code:

Device Drivers --->
  Graphics support --->
    Support for frame buffer devices --->

as you still have FB drivers there. Rebuild and reinstall your kernel afterwards.

If the problem persists, boot from LiveCD and wgetpaste the content of /var/log/messages and /var/log/Xorg.0.log from your laptop.
_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have always been booting from the LIVECD as I have got no option for now to boot to the command line prompt. I will do as you said and come back with the outcome.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have applied your instruction as you said unfortunately the problem remain the same.
This is the paste of the /var/log/messages http://bpaste.net/show/44384/
and for the /var/log/Xorg.0.log I get -> No such file found.
I checked the /var/log myself and found nothing of that nature.
Maybe this information may help , the below output pop up when I started the recompiling of the kernel /usr/src/linux make

http://pastebin.com/qPMkAHMC


Thanks in advanced
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/var/log/messages says that TURKS firmware is missing.
Can you add the following firmware to the existing lines with ARUBA, rebuild the kernel, reboot and report the results?
Code:

radeon/TURKS_mc.bin radeon/TURKS_me.bin radeon/TURKS_pfp.bin

If it still fails, please post /var/log/messages once again.
The warning during kernel compilation is not relevant.


Oh, one more thing - I have misguided you. VIDEO_CARDS in /etc/make.conf should be "radeon radeonsi" not "radeon r600". Sorry for this, albeit it has nothing to do with this issue.
_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did as you said the result is the same. I still get the black blank screen after few seconds of the booting process. Here is the wgetpaste of /var/log/messages http://bpaste.net/show/44435

I am thinking if I should compile Radeon as a module instead of core ??I love gentoo and this issue is giving me a lot of sadness. Though I have tried couple of steps with no success before I start throwing my question in the forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please make sure if the turks firmware is present and configured in kernel. You can wgetpaste the .config file afterwards.

Still something is wrong, the /var/log/messages is the same as the previous one (notice the date in header).
Your /var/log/messages says:
Code:

ni_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/TURKS_pfp.bin"
*ERROR* Failed to load firmware!
*ERROR* radeon: MC ucode required for NI+.


Loading radeon as module won't change anything, and it is better to have it hard-compiled.

You can also try adding to /etc/portage/package.keywords
Code:

x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati

and do 'emerge -avuDN --with-bdeps=y world' - maybe newest drivers would help.
_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I saw the similarity in the message as well. I will do as you said . Though after I edited the /etc/portage/make.conf , I ran
emerge -avuDN world and then recompiled the kernel again.
Thanks for your assistance . I will get back soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I echo "echo x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords and then emerge -avuDN --with-bdeps=y world the output
Calculating dependencies ... Done
Total: 0 packages, Size to downloads: 0 kb
Nothing to merge; would you like to auto-clean packages? [Yes/No] Yes
>>>Auto-cleaning packages
>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.

I also ran revdep-rebuild -- -av

[100%]

No error No output.


sysresccd / # cat /var/lib/portage/world
app-admin/syslog-ng
app-editors/vim
app-portage/gentoolkit
app-text/wgetpaste
media-libs/mesa
net-misc/dhcpcd
net-misc/vpnc
sys-apps/mlocate
sys-apps/pciutils
sys-apps/portage
sys-boot/grub
sys-fs/jfsutils
sys-fs/reiserfsprogs
sys-kernel/gentoo-sources
sys-libs/libstdc++-v3
sys-power/acpid
sys-process/vixie-cron
x11-base/xorg-drivers
x11-base/xorg-server
x11-drivers/radeon-ucode
x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post the output of
Code:

equery l xf86-video-ati

_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sysresccd linux # equery l xf86-video-ati
* Searching for xf86-video-ati ....
[IP-] [ ] xf86-video-ati-6.14.4-r1:0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not sure if you have used or just pasted the wrong command.
The proper way to put the package atom into package.keywords file would be
Code:

echo "x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords


Please check the contents of this file with 'cat /etc/portage/package.keywords'.
_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum