Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
rsync [error -2] but server respond to ping
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
emc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 422
Location: Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:30 pm    Post subject: rsync [error -2] but server respond to ping Reply with quote

Hi,
What can be wrong with my LAN, all web traffic is working fine (in browser), but durring syncing with rsync i got:
Code:
# eix-sync
 * Copying old database to /var/cache/eix/previous.eix
 * Running emerge --sync
!!! getaddrinfo failed for 'rsync6.pl.gentoo.org': [Errno -2] Name or service not known
>>> Starting rsync with rsync://rsync6.pl.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage...
>>> Checking server timestamp ...
timed out
rsync error: received SIGINT, SIGTERM, or SIGHUP (code 20) at rsync.c(549) [Receiver=3.0.9]
>>> Retrying...
!!! Exhausted addresses for rsync6.pl.gentoo.org
 * emerge --sync failed
 * Time statistics:
    42 seconds for syncing
    42 seconds total

Code:
# ping rsync6.pl.gentoo.org
PING rsync6.pl.gentoo.org (194.29.128.2) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from europa.coi.pw.edu.pl (194.29.128.2): icmp_req=1 ttl=57 time=36.3 ms
64 bytes from europa.coi.pw.edu.pl (194.29.128.2): icmp_req=2 ttl=57 time=32.5 ms
64 bytes from europa.coi.pw.edu.pl (194.29.128.2): icmp_req=3 ttl=57 time=28.4 ms
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ferreirafm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 468
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi emc,
That's something not so uncommon. If you can't wait and want desperately update your local portage-tree, you can set another rsync address inside your make.conf like:
Code:
SYNC="rsync://rsync.br.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"

of course, changing the address to the nearest rsync site.
Best,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 422
Location: Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it is not the case. In different LAN (my friend's) working as charm. I add opendns to may network configuration:
Code:
# cat /etc/resolv.conf
search pl
nameserver 208.67.222.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220
nameserver 8.8.8.8


It help I can rsync, but layman has problem and loading of web pages takes 2-3 sekonds, I belive is bacause DNS lookup.
Code:
gopher pl # layman -S
* Running... # ( cd /var/lib/layman/elementary  && /usr/bin/git pull )
fatal: unable to connect to github.com:
github.com[0: 64.124.14.63]: errno=Connection timed out

* Running... # /usr/bin/svn up /var/lib/layman/lila-theme
svn: OPTIONS of 'http://svn.berlios.de/svnroot/repos/lila-theme/trunk/lila/gentoo/overlay': Could not resolve hostname `svn.berlios.de': Host not found (http://svn.berlios.de)
* Running... # ( cd /var/lib/layman/sunrise  && /usr/bin/git pull )
fatal: Unable to look up git.overlays.gentoo.org (port 9418) (Name or service not known)
*
* Errors:
* ------
*
* Failed to sync overlay "elementary".
* Error was: Syncing overlay "elementary" returned status 1!
*
* Failed to sync overlay "lila-theme".
* Error was: Syncing overlay "lila-theme" returned status 1!
*
* Failed to sync overlay "sunrise".
* Error was: Syncing overlay "sunrise" returned status 1!
*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2335

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

emc ...

the problem is with the search domain ... your confusing the resolution. Normally search is used as in the following manner:

Code:
search isp.com
nameserver xxx.xxx.xxx.1
nameserver xxx.xxx.xxx.2

Where the nameservers are those of isp.com.

DNS works perfectly well without a search domain, so omit it.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 422
Location: Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, just for record. Whole network looks like:
my lan 192.168.4.xxx<-->192.168.4.1 my router 192.168.10.102 (wan) <--> 192.168.10.1 router of my friend <--> WAN ISP

So basicly my router's WAN port i connected to one of LAN port of friend's router, which is connected to ISP.

My router get DNS as 192.168.10.1 and my computers 192.168.4.1 and the I can't browse web pages, when I add it WICD static opendns'es it start working but not completly :(

So, should I remove serach section from WICD configuration and add DNS from ISP (from my friends)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum