Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
GNOME 3.2 in Gentoo: answers to common general questions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
altima
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

patrix_neo wrote:
altima wrote:
wonderful! I am not a user of Gnome DE any more!
hail to the *box WMs!



ncursors ftw!


right! but actually, enlightenment e17 rules too =) although it is at alpha stage. I switched to it and am just happy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gurke
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Jul 2003
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

i installed a fresh system with Gnome and GDM on my Lenovo T410s (with an intel GMA). I followed the Xorg and Gnome guides.

When the GDM starts and when i log into my account, i get an excessive lag (5 seconds). This shouldn't be the case, as the laptop has an SSD and i didn't have this problem with Ubuntu. I didn't see any suspicious output in the log files.

Any thoughts on that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 476
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you should enable "debug" USE flag on GDM to see if the logs do show anything.
I don't use SSD, but have also noticed a lag. Sometimes up to 10 seconds. Not really a problem for me.
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gurke
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Jul 2003
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One thing i noticed is that there are modelines repeated several times in the log, when i enter GDM or a user session:

Code:
[  2588.682] (II) intel(0): EDID vendor "LEN", prod id 16438
[  2588.682] (II) intel(0): Printing DDC gathered Modelines:
[  2588.682] (II) intel(0): Modeline "1440x900"x0.0  101.20  1440 1488 1520 1804  900 903 909 934 -hsync -vsync (56.1 kHz eP)
[  2588.682] (II) intel(0): Modeline "1440x900"x0.0   82.00  1440 1488 1520 1800  900 903 909 924 -hsync -vsync (45.6 kHz e)


If i acquire these by "xrandr -q", it takes like 2 seconds to get the query and the same lines are logged to xorg's log. This lines up with the time that i am waiting.

I'll try the debug flag next.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dansou90
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2012
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just as a heads-up: There need to be maid some fixes in a few Gnome 3 packages, which I had to patch through a local overlay to get a working Gnome 3 DE. First common error I found was the deprecated use of "g_thread_init (NULL);" which has to be replaced by "g_type_init();". Second error is the wrong inclusion of the glib library; all includes with "glib.h/*" need to be replaced with "glib.h" solely. Otherwise, some packages like gtkhtml and guake won't compile with the new

Besides that, Gnome 3.2 is working fine for me! Thanks for the great work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BinaryAlchemy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 42
Location: Ca, US

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gurke wrote:
Hi,

i installed a fresh system with Gnome and GDM on my Lenovo T410s (with an intel GMA). I followed the Xorg and Gnome guides.

When the GDM starts and when i log into my account, i get an excessive lag (5 seconds). This shouldn't be the case, as the laptop has an SSD and i didn't have this problem with Ubuntu. I didn't see any suspicious output in the log files.

Any thoughts on that?


The pulseaudio daemon was causing a big pause whenever I logged in to gnome 3, disabling it zeroconf support in /etc/pulse/default.pa sped things up considerably:

/etc/pulse/default.pa:
### Network access (may be configured with paprefs, so leave this commented
### here if you plan to use paprefs)
#load-module module-esound-protocol-tcp
#load-module module-native-protocol-tcp
#load-module module-zeroconf-publish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 476
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any ideas why my dash text is black? (That's the dock bar on the left)
It is difficult to read when I click on activities.
Is there anything wrong with this piece of code?
Code:
#dash {
   color: #fff;
   font-size: 13pt;
   font-weight: bold;
   text-align: left;   
   padding: 4px 0px;
   background-gradient-start: rgba(64, 0, 95, 0.8);
   background-gradient-end: rgba(64, 0, 95, 0.0);
   background-gradient-direction: horizontal;
   background-color: rgba(64, 0, 95, 1.0);
   border: 1px solid rgba(64, 0, 95, 1.0);
   border-left: 0px;
   border-radius: 0px 9px 9px 0px;
}

#dash:text {
   color: #fff;
   font-size: 9pt;
   font-weight: bold;
   text-align: left;
   text-shadow: rgba(255,255,255,1.0) 2px -1px 2px;
}

#dash:rtl {
   border-left: 1px;
   border-right: 0px;
   border-radius: 6px 0px 0px 6px;
}

#dash:empty {
   height: 100px;
   width: 60px;
}

.dash-placeholder {
   background-image: url("dash-placeholder.svg");
}

I am trying to design my own gnome-shell theme, and I need the text to be white.
Any shell css coders out there with an idea?
Or should I start a new post for this?
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 476
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

^^^^

Please ignore above post.
I fixed it by adding
.dash-label
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahgblopes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Oct 2011
Posts: 102
Location: Brazil :(

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are wrote:
Gentlemen,

using Gentoo for a very long time it is the first time I am reconsidering. I am almost on my way to Mint :twisted:

Gnome 3 is not your fault, but enforcing GTK3 over GTK2 definitely is. You are not stupid, you know on the problems. Still you insist riding a horse which walks lame into the wrong direction.

GTK3 looks butt-ugly even with any available theme from gnome-looks.org. The dependencies make me laugh. I had to fiddle around almost 6 hours to figure out sane mask/use settings. It is useless on a netbook and not much useful on the desktop.

GTK2 will stay for quite a time, at least as long as XFCE uses it. I appreciate your work of integrating gnome but please ask yourself on the benefits of pushing for broken gnome3 even if a lot of users switch to XFCE nowadays. How about giving up pure Gnome preference but maintaining KDE/XFCE/Gnome on par?

Best regards!


I REALLY agree with you...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZeTaKa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 23
Location: /home/zK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just install on fresh system and it start but on failsafe version. First moment i install with gnome-light, and now i make the complete install and now still same problem, no visual effects and no fast moving betwen apps.

Thanks for all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
epsilon72
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2007
Posts: 564

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, is Gentoo going to skip over 3.4 and go straight to 3.6, which lands in September?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shadywack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2012
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Loving the new gnome. Simply following the wiki and doing an emerge upgrade everything built and installed great for me. I appreciate the work by the devs and have found a new main desktop for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dominique_71
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 1505
Location: Switzerland (Romandie)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are wrote:
This results in:
a) gtk-browsers without flash
b) completely crappy look'n feel for gtk-2 DE's like XFCE


a) is a very good move.
b) is a complete insanity. I don't care about the look of my wm because it is fully covered with opened windows most of the time.

But the feel is another story. It is not only about how the wm is doing its work, but also about happiness and productivity. Gnome was never able to provide me a decent mouse focus policy. Something like a combination of "with raise on the window title bars" and "without raise anywhere else". When, like me, you have used this setup for quite some times, you just cannot be happy with any other focus policy. Simplicity is a good thing, but when it is counter-productive, it is not good.

Anyway, all the wm on linux are more or less broken regarding their focus policy, even the less broken fvwm is broken with its NumLock+ClickToFocus issue (I never get a good explanation of the real cause of this problem, who knows?). Too much simplicity like in Gnome is not an acceptable workaround for me. It is the main reasons why I never used Gnome more than a few days.

That was for gnome2. I have 2 more griefs about gnome3 : it will force me to install pulseaudio and policykit, 2 software that will pollute my good working system and break it, especially policykit that cannot be disabled.

Anyway, if you want a Gnome2 *kit free system, you can take a look here at soka's posts.
_________________
[[[ To any NSA and FBI agents reading that text: please consider ]]]
[[[ whether defending the US Constitution against all enemies, ]]]
[[[ foreign or domestic, requires you to follow Snowden's example. ]]]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UX.MAN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2013
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Didn't what to bring a new thread to this simple question, so I'm posting my question to the devs here.

What's the current status of Gnome 3.6?
When will it be released?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silent-Hunter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jul 2013
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gnome 3 isn't unmasked for me. Is it because I'm using 64 bit CPU? In any case, I'd like MATE to be available. It's like gnome 2, but uses non-graphical improvements from gnome 3. Or maybe CDE, I like CDE too.

EDIT: Oh wait, I forgot mate has an overlay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 2449
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are wrote:
Gentoo forces any package, which provides support for gtk-2 and gtk-3, using gtk-3 only. This results in:
a) gtk-browsers without flash
b) completely crappy look'n feel for gtk-2 DE's like XFCE

I do not ask for adding/maintaining/backporting something. These packages provide full gtk-2 support out of the box, while gtk-3 is beta-status (e.g. midori).

In those cases where the support for gtk-3 is beta, the gtk use-flag should use gtk-2, with a gtk3 use-flag defaulted to off, with a USE local.desc stating clearly that gtk-3 support is in beta.
In the "normal" case, assuming gtk-3 support is stable, gtk should be gtk-3, with a gtk2 flag for people who wish to use gtk-2, overriding the gtk flag, with "legacy" somewhere in the description.
In both cases, and where only gtk-2 is supported, the gtk flag description, or the metadata xml, should state which one (2 or 3..) it pulls in.

If a package is to switch to default gtk-3 from gtk-2 it should be a SLOT-bump, imo.

Well, that's how I'd like it, anyhow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hadisarabi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 2:00 pm    Post subject: Gnome 3.8 with systemd & nouveau Reply with quote

i`m installing gentoo with gnome 3.8 & systemd for nvidia ghraphic card(nouveau driver)
i can start and login to gnome with root user,but i login with my user screen is blank!!
i install gnome step by step with gnome wiki and systemd.
i configure the users & groups,systemd... :( :( :cry:

help me please!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum