wpa_gui problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
abraxa5
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 8:12 pm    Post subject: wpa_gui problems Reply with quote

I am a total linux/gentoo newb and I am having trouble connecting to my wireless network. I am using an Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8187 Wireless Adapter via usb

I am using KDE
I am using WPA2 encryption.
I can bring my wifi adapter up using ifconfig wlan0
I configured my /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file as follows:

Code:
# Allow users in the 'wheel' group to control wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel

# Allow user-made changes to be saved (e.g. add networks)
update_config=1

#ap_scan=1
#update_config=1

network={
        ssid="GreenFlamingo"
        psk="********"
        scan_ssid=1
        eap=TLS
        proto=WPA2
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        group=CCMP TKIP
        pairwise=CCMP TKIP
        priority=5
}

when I launch wpa_gui (as root or user) under status it says:
Code:
 Could not get status from wpa_supplicant

my /etc/conf.d/net is:

Code:
# This network configuration was written by net-setup
modules="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_eth0="-rtl8187
config_wlan0="dhcp"
config_eth1="dhcp"

Using airodump-ng I see the following related to my network:

Code:

BSSID--CO:C1:C0:92:D6:F9 PWR--"-20  Beacons--12  #Data--1   #/s--0  CH--11 MB--54e  ENC--WPA2  AUTH--PSK  ESSID--GreenFlamingo

I had to manually create wpa_supplicant.conf

I have no clue where to go from here.
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My working /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file looks like this. Try adding the id_str="gentoo" line to yours.
Code:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
update_config=1

network={
   ssid="linked-WRC"