Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dbus-python will not emerge :(
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xsilentmurmurx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:45 am    Post subject: dbus-python will not emerge :( Reply with quote

Hello everyone

I am trying to update my system but whenever the update process gets to emerge dbus-python, it gives me the following error:

Code:

Emerging (1 of 1) dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.1
 * dbus-python-1.1.1.tar.gz SHA256 SHA512 WHIRLPOOL size ;-) ...                                                                                                             [ ok ]
 * ERROR: dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.1 failed (setup phase):
 *   Active version of CPython 3 is not supported by dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.1
 *
 * Call stack:
 *       ebuild.sh, line  85:  Called pkg_setup
 *       ebuild.sh, line 319:  Called python_pkg_setup
 *   python.eclass, line 431:  Called _python_calculate_PYTHON_ABIS
 *   python.eclass, line 845:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *                                              die "Active version of CPython 3 is not supported by ${CATEGORY}/${PF}"
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.1'`,
 * the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.1'`.
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.1/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.1/temp/die.env'.
 * Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.1'
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.1/work/dbus-python-1.1.1'



has anyone found a way to fix this issue? If so please let me know!! Thanks everyone!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebaro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 1028
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-923884-start-0.html
_________________
My Smooth Computer
MB: VIA 82C598MVP on DFI P5BV3+/Rev. B+
CPU: AMD K6-II 333 MHz | RAM: 256 MB SDRAM
Video: Asus MB19TU on nVidia GeForce MX4000 64 MB
Sound: CM8738 | Net: RTL-8139
PATA HDD WD 80 GB & DVD-RW LG 16x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It tells you what is wrong:
Code:

Active version of CPython 3 is not supported


Do
Code:

eselect python set python2.7

_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbjr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 528
Location: Budapest/Hungary

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow how obvious that is - ran into it regardless
Thanks :>
_________________
MBJr.
buy me a beer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duderonomy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 340
Location: SF Bay Area

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was wondering how my python select gets changed... again :)
but then I read another thread which suggested that the package required python 3.2.
So if that is available, then
eselect python set --python3 python3.2

Thanks!
:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klevin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ran into this same problem, even though eselect reported my active python version as being 2.7. I set the active python version to 3.2, and the emerge update of dbus-python ran without complaint.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lindegur
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 257
Location: Swiss mountains

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since I have python 3.2 on my system I just removed python 3.1 with
Code:
emerge -C python:3.1

After that
Code:
emerge -1 dbus-python
went well.
see also http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-923884-highlight-dbuspython.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duncan Mac Leod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 178
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lindegur wrote:
Since I have python 3.2 on my system I just removed python 3.1 with
Code:
emerge -C python:3.1

After that
Code:
emerge -1 dbus-python
went well.


Worked 8) !

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chryyz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Duncan Mac Leod wrote:
lindegur wrote:
Since I have python 3.2 on my system I just removed python 3.1 with
Code:
emerge -C python:3.1

After that
Code:
emerge -1 dbus-python
went well.


Worked 8) !

Thanks!


Confirmed. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum