Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
System clock fails to load on boot up
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 188
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:29 pm    Post subject: System clock fails to load on boot up Reply with quote

The message flashes past too fast to get a good look at it when booting and watching the white text scroll through the black background, but I was finally able to see it enough times to note that (it was in red text) the system clock is not loading. On my KDE desktop, the time in the lower right corner is 4 hours behind my actual time. I did follow the procedures in the guide for choosing my Time Zone, so it is puzzling. I am wondering if this has any effect on other thing within my system.

Any ideas on this one? (I wasn't sure if this was the right forum to post this in, if not, I apologize.)

Thanks,
~Mark
_________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kidov
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 55
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have exactly same messages during the booting process. I haven't solved how to fix it, but I figured a workaround by installing net-misc/ntpd.
Here is a link how to configure it:
http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/NTP#Setting_time_now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 188
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kidov,

I managed to get my clock synced, but I haven't rebooted to look for that message. I am not on my home machine yet, but I will try to check this and hopefully post what I did to fix it (if I can find it).

~Mark
_________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4606
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can turn logging on in rc.conf ... there is also good old Pause button on the keyboard, works for me.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 188
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2012 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the long delay. Looking at rc.conf, logging is turned on. I can get the clock to sync now, but only manually. It will still not do it during boot. And when I shut down, I see a message the hwclock did not sync or something like that (it's been a while). Will try to do some more reading and post back if I find a solution.

Thanks for your patience,
~Mark
_________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum