Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ERROR: sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3 failed Bootstrap comparison failu
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4055
Location: india

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 4:27 pm    Post subject: ERROR: sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3 failed Bootstrap comparison failu Reply with quote

Code:
"STAGEfeedback_CFLAGS=-march=pentium-m -O2 -pipe -O2 -fprofile-use" "STAGEfeedback_CXXFLAGS=-O2 -march=i686 -pipe" "STAGEfeedback_TFLAGS="  "TFLAGS=" "CONFIG_SHELL=/bin/sh" "MAKEINFO=makeinfo --split-size=5000000 --split-size=5000000"  compare
make[2]: Entering directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3/work/build'
make[3]: Entering directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3/work/build'
rm -f stage_current
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3/work/build'
Comparing stages 2 and 3
warning: gcc/cc1plus-checksum.o differs
warning: gcc/cc1-checksum.o differs
Bootstrap comparison failure!
gcc/varasm.o differs
make[2]: *** [compare] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3/work/build'
make[1]: *** [stage3-bubble] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3/work/build'
make: *** [bootstrap-lean] Error 2
emake failed
 * ERROR: sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3 failed (compile phase):
 *   emake failed with bootstrap-lean
 *
 * Call stack:
 *     ebuild.sh, line   85:  Called src_compile
 *   environment, line 3856:  Called toolchain_src_compile
 *   environment, line 4506:  Called gcc_do_make
 *   environment, line 2215:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *       emake LDFLAGS="${LDFLAGS}" STAGE1_CFLAGS="${STAGE1_CFLAGS}" LIBPATH="${LIBPATH}" BOOT_CFLAGS="${BOOT_CFLAGS}" ${GCC_MAKE_TARGET} || die "emake failed with ${GCC_MAKE_TARGET}";
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3'`,
 * the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3'`.
 *
 * Please include /var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3/work/build/gcc-build-logs.tar.bz2 in your bug report
 *
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3/temp/environment'.
 * Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3/work/build'
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3/work/build'


for a long time i was not asked to merge gcc update [except a reinstall of gcc-4.5.3-r1]
even gcc-4.6.2 also passed up by portage. today my updates ask for gcc update.
i get the above error after 10 + hours of compile time.
do i really have to upgrade the gcc?
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XavierMiller
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5534
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

If it took about 10 hours, I guess you don't have a very recent CPU.

I had some gcc freezes / crashes on a Pandaboard (ARM), and I solved with the following solutions
- enhance the CPU cooling (from nothing to a heat sink)
- add more swap (I have 1 Gb RAM + 2 Go swap)

Try to check thus if your CPU is not too hot, and that you have enough memory.
_________________
Xavier Miller
(FR) Merci de respecter les règles du forum.
http://www.xaviermiller.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 4270

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 11:48 pm    Post subject: Re: ERROR: sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3 failed Bootstrap comparison f Reply with quote

padoor wrote:

do i really have to upgrade the gcc?


Of course not !
Just mask it, you have really time when that version will be a "must have".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4055
Location: india

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

XavierMiller

yes i run an old toshiba tecra M2 notebook. it is a Pentium M processor 1.6 Mhz and 2 Gb ram
big time merges like qt-webkit webkit-gtk gcc all take 10 hrs + to merge
it runs at 70 deg C

for the time being i have masked gcc and webkit-gtk.

thanks :)

i really wonder why suddenly portage wants to update gcc now.
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1565
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting this same error with gcc-4.6.3 on ~x86 hardened (Pentium III Coppermine). However, I don't see any indications that the CPU is hot, or that the machine is out of memory, out of swap, etc. I think it's a bug.
_________________
"We can't expect the American People to jump from Capitalism to Communism, but we can assist their elected leaders in giving them small doses of Socialism, until they awaken one day to find that they have Communism." -- Nikita Krushchev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 684
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not just you..

We've been having these issues lately on the pentium3 and pentium-m CHOSTS. I've tried over and over again on my dual P3 (router) and it won't compile giving me the comparison issue. It compiles fine on my pentium4.

Here's the bug tracker if you need more info. https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=411333

I ended up masking >=sys-devel/gcc-4.6 on my pentium3 boxes until the issue is resolved.
_________________
Router(PE1750,4GB RAM,3x36GB HDDs,2xIntel Pro/1000+GT Quad Port) | MyDT(PhmIIx3 720@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,2TB+2TB+1.5TB HDDs,GFGTX560Ti,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x2TB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(C2D@2.4GHz,4GB RAM,250GB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1565
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simba7 wrote:
It's not just you..

We've been having these issues lately on the pentium3 and pentium-m CHOSTS. I've tried over and over again on my dual P3 (router) and it won't compile giving me the comparison issue. It compiles fine on my pentium4.

Here's the bug tracker if you need more info. https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=411333

I ended up masking >=sys-devel/gcc-4.6 on my pentium3 boxes until the issue is resolved.

Thanks; I found that bug after I posted yesterday. So, on my ~x86 pentium3, I'm presently using 4.5.3-r2 and have locally masked 4.6.{0,1,2,3}.
_________________
"We can't expect the American People to jump from Capitalism to Communism, but we can assist their elected leaders in giving them small doses of Socialism, until they awaken one day to find that they have Communism." -- Nikita Krushchev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4055
Location: india

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have done the same as BoneKracker :)
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XavierMiller
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5534
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This was a bug... you will not be alone ;)
_________________
Xavier Miller
(FR) Merci de respecter les règles du forum.
http://www.xaviermiller.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4055
Location: india

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as my laptop packed up i have now trying to install gentoo in my p4 desktop.
update world has now merged gcc-4.6.3 ok
has the bug been removed? or there is some thing wrong in my system?
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 684
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's still there. I'm trying to compile on my Compaq Proliant ML370 (Dual P3) and still has the same error in the same spot.
_________________
Router(PE1750,4GB RAM,3x36GB HDDs,2xIntel Pro/1000+GT Quad Port) | MyDT(PhmIIx3 720@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,2TB+2TB+1.5TB HDDs,GFGTX560Ti,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x2TB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(C2D@2.4GHz,4GB RAM,250GB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 474
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BoneKracker wrote:
I'm getting this same error with gcc-4.6.3 on ~x86 hardened (Pentium III Coppermine). However, I don't see any indications that the CPU is hot, or that the machine is out of memory, out of swap, etc. I think it's a bug.


It most definitely is. I've just hit the exact same bug on my old P3 non hardened unstable test laptop. Any progress on solving it yet?
_________________
Cheers,
Alex.

Linux - the best text adventure game ever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 474
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From a different thread (http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-925784-start-0.html:

swanson wrote:
You can workaround it by temporarily changing CFLAGS -march=pentium-m to -march=i686 when building GCC 4.6. Being built with i686 will not change the compiled output of GCC.


Anyone tried that one yet?
_________________
Cheers,
Alex.

Linux - the best text adventure game ever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 684
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any benefits from upgrading to GCC 4.6 on the P3?

I'm sticking with 4.5.x until further notice.
_________________
Router(PE1750,4GB RAM,3x36GB HDDs,2xIntel Pro/1000+GT Quad Port) | MyDT(PhmIIx3 720@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,2TB+2TB+1.5TB HDDs,GFGTX560Ti,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x2TB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(C2D@2.4GHz,4GB RAM,250GB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 474
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alexbuell wrote:
From a different thread (http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-925784-start-0.html:

swanson wrote:
You can workaround it by temporarily changing CFLAGS -march=pentium-m to -march=i686 when building GCC 4.6. Being built with i686 will not change the compiled output of GCC.


Anyone tried that one yet?


Just succeeded in building 4.6.3 on P3 with CFLAGS = i686. :-(
_________________
Cheers,
Alex.

Linux - the best text adventure game ever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sid_cypher
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Location: Personal Universe

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alexbuell wrote:
alexbuell wrote:
From a different thread (http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-925784-start-0.html:

swanson wrote:
You can workaround it by temporarily changing CFLAGS -march=pentium-m to -march=i686 when building GCC 4.6. Being built with i686 will not change the compiled output of GCC.


Anyone tried that one yet?


Just succeeded in building 4.6.3 on P3 with CFLAGS = i686. :-(


after trying to build 4.6.3 about 4-5 times, finally succeded with -march=i686, MAKEOPTS=-j1 and USE="-fortran -gcj", fortran disabled because it gives another error, and java because it requires libjack for java's audio libs, and i don't have that - ergo build fail.

And now I can run Steam for Linux :) <it's libs are linked against 4.6.3's glibc>
Thanks everyone for the tips.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gabrielg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Nov 2012
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting this exact same problem with an Intel Core 2 (64bit), with:
Code:

CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"


The bug that was quoted in this thread is for the wrong version of gcc (4.6.2 vs 4.6.3). Any of you had problems with amd64 and the flags I posted above? I have 2 other machines (latest Ivy Bridge and an AMD celeron-like) and had no problems compiling this.

I checked that the CPU didn't overheat (in fact, the build fails always in the same place so I doubt that's the problem), I haven't got swap, but I don't run out of memory either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sid_cypher
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Location: Personal Universe

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gabrielg wrote:
I'm getting this exact same problem with an Intel Core 2 (64bit)


I have such a processor myself, and I solved my/your 4.6.3 problem by building with -march=i686, MAKEOPTS=-j1 and USE="-fortran -gcj" once, then rebuilding with your regular CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe" MAKEOPTS="-j3" and usual useflags.
Apparently -march-native works once you build 4.6.3 using itself. All of the above was done on an amd64 gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 2523

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've successfully upgraded gcc on a Core-I7 system (wanted -march=native support) and failed to upgrade it on a Pentium III system - same bootstrap compare failure as here. FYI
Code:
[ebuild  NS    ] sys-devel/gcc-4.6.3:4.6 [4.5.4:4.5] USE="cxx fortran gtk mudflap nls nptl openmp (-altivec) -bootstrap -build -doc (-fixed-point) -gcj -go -graphite (-hardened) (-libssp) (-multilib) -multislot -nopie -nossp -objc -objc++ -objc-gc {-test} -vanilla" 0 kB

and
Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=pentium3 -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"


As other suggest, I'm about to tweak my CFLAGS and USE="-fortran" and see what happens. If that succeeds I'll revert and try again.

EDIT - After the above tweak I was able to successfully emerge gcc-4.6.3. Now as others have suggested, I'm attempting to rebuild with my original flags.
EDIT again - I forgot to "gcc-config", so I'm pretty sure that the rebuild is going to fail, since it's still using gcc-4.5.4. I'll get to that next week, and try to do it right, this time.
EDIT - Attempting to rebuild gcc after setting gcc-config and putting my flags back to normal failed, again. I was able to rebuild gcc with the USE=fortran flag, by leaving -march=i686. I did so, and have moved to -march=pentium3 for general use. My gcc isn't "fully optimized", but I'm running. In the meantime, my Pentium3 machine at home running the hardened kernel upgraded just fine. I suspect it may be "-march=pentium3 AND USE=fortran" to trigger the problem. On my work machine I ended up switching the -march because I needed the fortran for some packages. I suspect my home has USE=-fortran. (Just checked, and that is indeed true, plus my home machine is -march=native)
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth


Last edited by depontius on Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:33 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1565
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Upgraded successfully to gcc-4.6.3 on Pentium III (Coppermine) x86 hardened.
_________________
"We can't expect the American People to jump from Capitalism to Communism, but we can assist their elected leaders in giving them small doses of Socialism, until they awaken one day to find that they have Communism." -- Nikita Krushchev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:43 pm    Post subject: Does not work for me. Reply with quote

Hey guys,

I have a DELL poweredge 2400 (2 pentium 3 coppermines) and it takes a long time to compile gcc. It wont compile for me I get hit by this bug and Id rather fix it than just mask it but the above methods do not seem to work for me any idea what I should do? Bonekracker what exactly did you do to get it to compile? I tried use flags -fortran and CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -momit-leaf-frame-pointer -pipe" but either I am doing it wrong or something else is causing it not to work. Any help will be appreciated thanks.


Edit> The solution in my post worked for me the second time around for some reason. Thanks anyway.
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gabrielg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Nov 2012
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sid_cypher wrote:
gabrielg wrote:
I'm getting this exact same problem with an Intel Core 2 (64bit)


I have such a processor myself, and I solved my/your 4.6.3 problem by building with -march=i686, MAKEOPTS=-j1 and USE="-fortran -gcj" once, then rebuilding with your regular CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe" MAKEOPTS="-j3" and usual useflags.
Apparently -march-native works once you build 4.6.3 using itself. All of the above was done on an amd64 gentoo.


Thank you - this worked almost as you explained:
1. I recompiled as you suggested, it completed successfully.
2. I switched gcc
3. Rolled back the changes and compiled again, but failed.

I ended up removing the fortran use flag for that version of gcc - hopefully I won't need it. The rest of the configuration remained the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 2523

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick little closing (for me) note on this...

Eventually I have found that with "-march=pentium3" trying to emerge gcc-4.6.3 will fail, while with "-march=native" it will succeed. This is after having first gotten it emerge with USE="-fortran" and "-march=i686". Since today's USE-flag induced emerge succeeded with "-march=native", I'm happy and consider this a done matter - at least for me.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4055
Location: india

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
USE="mmx sse sse2"
[/quote]
this is my curret make.conf in /etc/portage/make.conf.catalyst
while installing from stage3 amd64 i had make.conf in /etc
the MAKEOPTS="-j3" for my 2core amd64
why the catalyst does not fid the 2cores?
howeer gcc-4.6.3 installed and reinstalled correctly 4 times in this onth for use flags/portage changes.
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cutchyacokov
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to compile gcc-4.6.3 successfully with -march=i686, USE=-fortran and -j1 but after switching to the new gcc version I was still not able to recompile with my default settings -march=pentium-m and -j2.

edit: I forgot to try with -march=native, I'm trying that now. Also, whether this does it or not I think this bug should be noted somewhere, either as a warning (or something) in portage or a note in the handbook. This is the current stable version and I wasted 3 days trying to get it compiled on this old computer before I found this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum