Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Eix do not add overlays to database (Solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1555
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:05 am    Post subject: Eix do not add overlays to database (Solved) Reply with quote

Hello,
I am using Funtoo/GNU/Linux. Before, I could add the overlays I have installed with Layman to the Eix database with the commands
Code:
eix-update -a hawking
eix-update -a pinkbyte

Then the command
Code:
eix -sv polyglot

would give me two results, one from the Gentoo repository and an other from the Hawking one.

Now, when I do the eix-update commands, Eix parse the overlays trees, but say it is empty and nothing is add to the database. Example:
Code:
eix-update -a hawking
Reading Portage settings ..
Building database (/var/cache/eix/portage.eix) ..
[0] "gentoo" /usr/portage/ (cache: metadata-md5-or-flat)
     Reading category 155|155 (100%) Finished             
[1] "" hawking (cache: assign)
     Reading category 155|155 (100%) EMPTY!
Applying masks ..
Calculating hash tables ..
Writing database file /var/cache/eix/portage.eix ..
Database contains 15865 packages in 155 categories.

I tried with differents cache methods
Code:
eix-update
Reading Portage settings ..
Building database (/var/cache/eix/portage.eix) ..
[0] "gentoo" /usr/portage/ (cache: metadata-md5)
     Reading category 155|155 (100%) Finished             
[1] "" hawking (cache: metadata-md5)
     Reading category 155|155 (100%) EMPTY!
[2] "" pinkbyte (cache: metadata-md5)
     Reading category 155|155 (100%) EMPTY!
Applying masks ..
Calculating hash tables ..
Writing database file /var/cache/eix/portage.eix ..
Database contains 15865 packages in 155 categories.

What changes did happen to Eix and/or to my configuration? The version of Eix is 0.25.3.
_________________
Paul


Last edited by Logicien on Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6639
Location: The soundosphere

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use PORTDIR_OVERLAY and source /path/to/layman/make.conf in /etc/make.conf. I've never had any trouble with eix that way. eix-update picks it up from there.
_________________
decibel Linux: https://decibellinux.org
Github: https://github.com/Gentoo-Music-and-Audio-Technology
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/decibellinux
Discord: https://discord.gg/73XV24dNPN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1555
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only method who work presently is to use
Code:
eix-layman -A /var/lib/layman/make.conf add hawking pinkbyte

or put in /etc/eixrc or in ~/.eixrc
Code:

EIX_LAYMAN_OPTS="-A /var/lib/layman/make.conf add hawking pinkbyte"

When I do
Code:
eix-update
eix-layman

I get all the ebuilds from Gentoo Hawking and Pinkbyte repositorys. I mark this thread as resolved.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cryptosteve
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 1169
Location: GER

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just for the records:

I had the same issues here month, weeks, days and hours ago ... now I found a solution:

I just create a make.conf in /etc/portage containing one single entry:
Code:
source /var/lib/layman/make.conf

No real idea why this simple line works here and not in /etc/make.conf ...

But now an eix-sync does what it should do .. :)
_________________
- born to create drama -
gpg: 0x9B6C7E15
CS Virtual Travel Bug: VF6G5D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 6747

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cryptosteve wrote:
No real idea why this simple line works here and not in /etc/make.conf ...

Is your /etc/make.conf readable by user/group portage:portage?
Do you perhaps set PORTDIR_OVERLAY after the source command?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cryptosteve
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 1169
Location: GER

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mv wrote:
cryptosteve wrote:
No real idea why this simple line works here and not in /etc/make.conf ...

Is your /etc/make.conf readable by user/group portage:portage?

MY HERO! :D

We talked about this issues for hours yesterday on IRC and I tried a lot of (stupid) this to get this solved. But no one got that simple idea.

Many thanks ...
_________________
- born to create drama -
gpg: 0x9B6C7E15
CS Virtual Travel Bug: VF6G5D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viralex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Viareggio (Lu,Italy)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

YES!
I figured it out by myself, now I find the answer after months :P ...
I had to brutally chmod a+r make.conf!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum