Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[gave up] Regnum Online - invalid command name "bind" cr@p
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bendeguz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 10:11 pm    Post subject: [gave up] Regnum Online - invalid command name "bind&qu Reply with quote

Hey all!

Regnum Online installer drops this sweet message:

Code:


 $ ./ROInstall_32
invalid command name "bind"
    while executing
"::unknown bind Text <Tab>"
    ("uplevel" body line 1)
    invoked from within
"uplevel 1 $next $args"
    (procedure "::obj::Unknown" line 3)
    invoked from within
"bind Text <Tab>"
    (procedure "::InstallJammer::InitializeGui" line 19)
    invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::InitializeGui "
    (procedure "::InstallJammer::InitInstall" line 68)
    invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::InitInstall"
    (file "/installkitvfs/main.tcl" line 28673)


This was working years before on another gentoo install, I must be missing some package.
Did anyone get the same message ever?
I have tcl, libpng, libjpeg, openal, gtk, libtheora (I saw these as dependencies in another distro's build file)


Last edited by bendeguz on Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:08 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7670
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"bind" is a built-in command in Bash. Are you by chance using another shell? If so, I believe you will be able to just launch the script under bash to solve your issue.

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bendeguz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John R. Graham wrote:
"bind" is a built-in command in Bash. Are you by chance using another shell? If so, I believe you will be able to just launch the script under bash to solve your issue.

- John


Hm, you are right. But it could be possible that this is another bind in a mysterious package.
I'm using bash, btw.

(I've figured out that installjammer is an application for building installation packages and it's written in tcl)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paussyguevy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Location: The Bahamas

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 7:06 am    Post subject: Saying Hi to all! Reply with quote

Hello all, found this site and want to great you all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bendeguz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, I've found that the bind function could be part of the tk package, which plays part in capturing user input or something like that

anyway I installed ubuntu in virtualbox and made regnum installation there, then copied the result back in gentoo

I've managed to start the game, but it crashes after server selection

I've rebuild the whole system, but it does the same thing; no error message; running through strace does not give any clue to me

so I've had enough of it

I'm at a point again when I feel like changing to another distro, but I've learned so much from gentoo, and still learning from it, when problems come

Anyway I stop experimenting with this for a while
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum