Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10 failed (compile phase)[problem]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4055
Location: india

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:10 pm    Post subject: kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10 failed (compile phase)[problem] Reply with quote

Code:
-DNDEBUG -DNO_DEBUG -O2 -O2 -march=i686 -pipe -Wformat-security -Wmissing-format-attribute -Wno-non-virtual-dtor -fno-exceptions -fno-check-new -fno-common  -DQT_CLEAN_NAMESPACE -DQT_NO_ASCII_CAST -DQT_NO_STL -DQT_NO_COMPAT -DQT_NO_TRANSLATION  -c -o addressdialog.lo addressdialog.cpp
/bin/sh ../../../libtool --silent --tag=CC --mode=compile i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../../.. -I../../../dcop -I../../../kdecore -I../../../kio/kssl -I../../../kjs -I../../.. -I../../../kio -I../../../kfile -I../../../dcop -I../../../libltdl -I../../../kdefx -I../../../kdecore -I../../../kdecore -I../../../kdecore/network -I../../../kdeui -I../../../kio -I../../../kio/kio -I../../../kio/kfile -I../../.. -I/usr/qt/3/include -I. -I/usr/kde/3.5/include   -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT  -D_REENTRANT  -std=iso9899:1990 -W -Wall -Wchar-subscripts -Wshadow -Wpointer-arith -Wmissing-prototypes -Wwrite-strings -D_XOPEN_SOURCE=500 -D_BSD_SOURCE -DNDEBUG -O2  -march=pentium-m -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -Wformat-security -Wmissing-format-attribute -c -o cups-util.lo cups-util.c
cups-util.c: In function 'cupsGetConf':
cups-util.c:73:3: warning: implicit declaration of function 'snprintf'
cups-util.c:102:7: warning: implicit declaration of function 'fprintf'
cups-util.c:102:7: warning: incompatible implicit declaration of built-in function 'fprintf'
cups-util.c:102:15: error: 'stderr' undeclared (first use in this function)
cups-util.c:102:15: note: each undeclared identifier is reported only once for each function it appears in
cups-util.c: In function 'cupsPutConf':
cups-util.c:364:7: warning: incompatible implicit declaration of built-in function 'fprintf'
cups-util.c:364:15: error: 'stderr' undeclared (first use in this function)
cups-util.c: In function 'cups_local_auth':
cups-util.c:504:3: error: 'FILE' undeclared (first use in this function)
cups-util.c:504:10: error: 'fp' undeclared (first use in this function)
cups-util.c:515:9: warning: passing argument 1 of 'httpAddrLocalhost' from incompatible pointer type
/usr/include/cups/http.h:410:13: note: expected 'const union http_addr_t *' but argument is of type 'struct http_t *'
cups-util.c:532:3: warning: implicit declaration of function 'fopen'
cups-util.c:545:3: warning: implicit declaration of function 'fgets'
cups-util.c:546:3: warning: implicit declaration of function 'fclose'
cups-util.c: In function 'cupsGetConf':
cups-util.c:245:10: warning: ignoring return value of 'write', declared with attribute warn_unused_result
make[4]: *** [cups-util.lo] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10/work/kdelibs-3.5.10/kdeprint/cups/cupsdconf2'
make[3]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10/work/kdelibs-3.5.10/kdeprint/cups'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10/work/kdelibs-3.5.10/kdeprint'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10/work/kdelibs-3.5.10'
make: *** [all] Error 2
emake failed
 * ERROR: kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10 failed (compile phase):
 *   died running emake, kde_src_compile:make
 *
 * Call stack:
 *     ebuild.sh, line   85:  Called src_compile
 *   environment, line 4477:  Called kde_src_compile
 *   environment, line 3188:  Called kde_src_compile 'all'
 *   environment, line 3203:  Called kde_src_compile 'make'
 *   environment, line 3195:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *                   emake || die "died running emake, $FUNCNAME:make"
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of 'emerge --info =kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10',
 * the complete build log and the output of 'emerge -pqv =kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10'.
 * This ebuild used the following eclasses from overlays:
 *   /var/lib/layman/kde-sunset/eclass/kde.eclass
 *   /var/lib/layman/kde-sunset/eclass/kde-functions.eclass
 *   /var/lib/layman/kde-sunset/eclass/qt3.eclass
 * This ebuild is from an overlay named 'kde-sunset': '/var/lib/layman/kde-sunset/'
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10/temp/environment'.
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10/work/kdelibs-3.5.10'
localtux ramaswamy #


Code:

localtux ramaswamy # emerge --info =kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10
Portage 2.2.0_alpha85 (default/linux/x86/10.0, gcc-4.5.3, glibc-2.14.1-r2, 3.2.2-gentoo i686)
=================================================================
                        System Settings
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-3.2.2-gentoo-i686-Intel-R-_Pentium-R-_M_processor_1.60GHz-with-gentoo-2.1
Timestamp of tree: Tue, 07 Feb 2012 01:30:01 +0000
ccache version 3.1.7 [disabled]
app-shells/bash:          4.2_p20
dev-java/java-config:     2.1.11-r3
dev-lang/python:          2.6.7-r2, 2.7.2-r3, 3.2.2
dev-util/ccache:          3.1.7
dev-util/cmake:           2.8.7-r2
dev-util/pkgconfig:       0.26
sys-apps/baselayout:      2.1
sys-apps/openrc:          0.9.8.4
sys-apps/sandbox:         2.5
sys-devel/autoconf:       2.68
sys-devel/automake:       1.6.3-r1, 1.9.6-r3, 1.10.3, 1.11.3
sys-devel/binutils:       2.22-r1
sys-devel/gcc:            4.5.3-r2
sys-devel/gcc-config:     1.5-r2
sys-devel/libtool:        2.4.2
sys-devel/make:           3.82-r3
sys-kernel/linux-headers: 3.2 (virtual/os-headers)
sys-libs/glibc:           2.14.1-r2
Repositories: gentoo local kde-sunset enlightenment-niifaq
Installed sets: @enlightenment-live
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86 ~x86"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="*"
CBUILD="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=pentium-m -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown /usr/share/config /usr/share/gnupg/qualified.txt"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/dconf /etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/language.dat.d /etc/texmf/language.def.d /etc/texmf/updmap.d /etc/texmf/web2c"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS=" --quiet-build=y"
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-logs distlocks ebuild-locks fixlafiles news parallel-fetch preserve-libs protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch"
FFLAGS=""
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org"
LANG="en_US.UTF-8"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed"
LINGUAS="en_US.utf8 en"
MAKEOPTS="-j1"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --human-readable --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/overlay /var/lib/layman/kde-sunset /var/lib/layman/enlightenment-niifaq"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="acl alsa berkdb bzip2 cdr cli cracklib crypt cups cxx dri dvd fortran gdbm gnome gpm gtk iconv ipv6 modules mudflap ncurses nls nptl nptlonly openmp pam pcre pppd qt3 readline session ssl sysfs tcpd unicode x86 xorg zlib" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1 emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" CALLIGRA_FEATURES="kexi words flow plan stage tables krita karbon braindump" CAMERAS="ptp2" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ubx" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LINGUAS="en_US.utf8 en" PHP_TARGETS="php5-3" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby18" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau vesa" XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"
Unset:  CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS

=================================================================
                        Package Settings
=================================================================

kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10 was built with the following:
USE="acl alsa cups -arts -avahi -bindist -branding -debug -doc -fam -jpeg2k -kdehiddenvisibility -kerberos -legacyssl -lua -openexr -spell -tiff -utempter"
CFLAGS="-march=pentium4 -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"

localtux ramaswamy #


this is part of preserved-rebuild.
what can i do to keep kdelibs3
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)


Last edited by padoor on Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:51 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4926

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as kde3 isn't part of portage, I think post belongs to unsupported software.

I think you should downgrade cups.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 9842
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Unsupported Software.

This is not part of portage, so moved here.

What I'd do, nonetheless:
  • Use layman -S to make sure the overlay is sync'ed and up to date.
  • Go wherever the sunset team people use to give support nowadays, if they do at all, they can probably help you in a better way than we can.


Bear in mind that kde 3.x was removed from portage precisely because of the lack of support. We can't really support a thing of that size that's dead upstream on ourselves.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2128
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:44 pm    Post subject: Re: kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10 failed (compile phase) Reply with quote

padoor wrote:
Code:

cups-util.c:102:15: error: 'stderr' undeclared (first use in this function)
cups-util.c:364:15: error: 'stderr' undeclared (first use in this function)
cups-util.c:504:3: error: 'FILE' undeclared (first use in this function)
cups-util.c:504:10: error: 'fp' undeclared (first use in this function)
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10/work/kdelibs-3.5.10/kdeprint/cups'


Patch cups-util.c to have:

Code:

#include <stdio.h>


See the manual page of 'man 3 stderr'

And you really need to know this stuff on your own to run KDE 3.x thesedays as it's unsupported and you need to keep patching it yourself to keep it working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 9842
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's also the trinity desktop project. I have no idea whether it's going anywhere, but they might welcome all the help they (or he) can get.

http://www.trinitydesktop.org/
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4055
Location: india

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i do not use a printer.
i shall try kdelibs with -cups useflag
gnome is there with cups.
if kdelibs merges without cups or it works currently installed with old cups-1.4 i can block kdelibs
from showing up again
i will try that useflag
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4055
Location: india

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes it merged without cups use. probably it might have merged with cups-1.4
it takes 8 hours compile time in my machine.
now that it merged i will leave it like that.
the latest cups may be necessary for gnome-3 xfce4 which i have installed.
thanks for all supports :)
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@padoor (If you are still reading this.)
I had the same problem.
It was caused after upgreading dev-libs/libpcre-8.30-r2
Downgrading back to dev-lib/libpcre-8.21 enables kdelibs-3.5-r10 to compile.

Please note also, that ssuominen's advice is also good
I made a patch like so:
Code:
--- kdelibs-3.5.10/kdeprint/cups/cupsdconf2/cups-util.c   2007-10-08 12:52:10.000000000 +0300
+++ ./cups-util.c   2012-02-12 21:19:50.000000000 +0200
@@ -1,3 +1,4 @@
+#include <stdio.h>
 #include <cups/ipp.h>
 #include <cups/http.h>
 #include <cups/cups.h>

And kdelibs compiled just fine.

I still use kde-3.5-10 because kde4 although it is getting better,
it not as good as kde3 yet.
Some excellent kde4 applications (e.g. Okular) I can still use from within kde3.
So there is no good reason to move to kde4 thanks to kde-sunset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4055
Location: india

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dev-libs/libpcre-8.30-r2 and cups upgrade caused the kdelibs-3.5.10 to break.
but now without cups it merged. the upgrades may be necessary for gnome xfce i use.
cups use is not important for me.
it seems to be working ok.
the patches shown i don't know exactly how to apply
i will have to patch pcre and cups
i will wait and see if some other updates makes it necessary to rebuild kdelibs again.

kde4 is too resource hungry and my machine becomes too slow to work with it.
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

padoor wrote:
dev-libs/libpcre-8.30-r2 and cups upgrade caused the kdelibs-3.5.10 to break.
but now without cups it merged. the upgrades may be necessary for gnome xfce i use.
cups use is not important for me.


Only libpcre.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jesnow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 454

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

proteusx wrote:
@padoor (If you are still reading this.)
I had the same problem.
It was caused after upgreading dev-libs/libpcre-8.30-r2
Downgrading back to dev-lib/libpcre-8.21 enables kdelibs-3.5-r10 to compile.

Please note also, that ssuominen's advice is also good
I made a patch like so:
Code:
--- kdelibs-3.5.10/kdeprint/cups/cupsdconf2/cups-util.c   2007-10-08 12:52:10.000000000 +0300
+++ ./cups-util.c   2012-02-12 21:19:50.000000000 +0200
@@ -1,3 +1,4 @@
+#include <stdio.h>
 #include <cups/ipp.h>
 #include <cups/http.h>
 #include <cups/cups.h>

And kdelibs compiled just fine.

I still use kde-3.5-10 because kde4 although it is getting better,
it not as good as kde3 yet.
Some excellent kde4 applications (e.g. Okular) I can still use from within kde3.
So there is no good reason to move to kde4 thanks to kde-sunset.



I tried putting this patch in /etc/portage/patches/(and so forth) but it couldn't find the file to patch. I see what the patch needs to be, but I can't figure out how to make a patch of my own that will work. Frustrating, as I've managed this before.

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jesnow wrote:

I tried putting this patch in /etc/portage/patches/(and so forth) but it couldn't find the file to patch. I see what the patch needs to be, but I can't figure out how to make a patch of my own that will work. Frustrating, as I've managed this before.

-- Copy directory /usr/portage/local/layman/kde-sunset/kde-base/kdelibs to /usr/portage/local/kde-base/

-- Delete from there all ebuilds except kdelibs-3.5.10-r10.ebuild (optional).

-- Copy the code from bellow to a file: 'cups-util.c.patch' and save it to /usr/portage/local/kde-base/kdelibs/files/
Code:
--- kdelibs-3.5.10/kdeprint/cups/cupsdconf2/cups-util.c   2007-10-08 12:52:10.000000000 +0300
+++ ./cups-util.c   2012-02-12 21:19:50.000000000 +0200
@@ -1,3 +1,4 @@
+#include <stdio.h>
 #include <cups/ipp.h>
 #include <cups/http.h>
 #include <cups/cups.h>

--edit the ebuild to add after line 145 the code from bellow (be careful with the indentation):
Code:
epatch "${FILESDIR}/cups-util.c.patch"

-- Run this command
Code:
ebuild /usr/portage/local/kde-base/kdelibs/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10.ebuild manifest

-- Emerge your patched kdelibs.

I hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jesnow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 454

PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks very much! It should also work to save the patch as:
/etc/portage/patches/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10/cupsfix.patch

Where it will be applied to any instance of the package, not just the one I rebuild. That saves having to remember to patch and rebuild the package every time it changes.

Whan I do that I get

Code:

* Failed Patch: cupsfix.patch !
 *  ( /etc/portage/patches//kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10/cupsfix.patch )
 *
 * Include in your bugreport the contents of:
 *
 *   /var/tmp/portage/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10/temp/cupsfix.patch.out
 * ERROR: kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10 failed (unpack phase):
 *   Failed Patch: cupsfix.patch!



/var/tmp/portage/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10/temp/cupsfix.patch.out

Code:

PATCH COMMAND:  patch -p4 -g0 -E --no-backup-if-mismatch  < '/etc/portage/patches//kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10/cupsfix.patch'

=========================
can't find file to patch at input line 3
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|--- ./kdeprint/cups/cupsdconf2/cups-util.c   2007-10-08 12:52:10.000000000 +0300
|+++ ./cups-util.c   2012-02-12 21:19:50.000000000 +0200
--------------------------
No file to patch.  Skipping patch.
1 out of 1 hunk ignored

patch program exited with status 1


I just can't see where the problem lies. It *should* patch the file, I've used this successfully to patch the kernel in the past, but I just can't figure it out now. I tried several variations on the file locations, but none produced any different results than shown here. The double forward slash in the patch command doesn't seem to be the problem -- it reads the patch file just fine.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not all ebuilds support this method of patching.
See:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml?part=3&chap=6
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-867029-start-0.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jesnow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 454

PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

True, but this one clearly does, as it tries to apply the patch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to reproduce your problem here but for me it works.

Code:
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking kdelibs-3.5.10.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10/work
>>> Unpacking kdelibs-3.5-patchset-15.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10/work
>>> Unpacking kde-3.5.9-seli-xinerama.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10-r10/work
 * Applying kdelibs-p15-r1074156.patch ...                                                                     [ ok ]
 * Applying kdelibs-3.5-openssl-1.0.0.patch ...                                                                [ ok ]
 * Applying kdelibs-3.5.10-post-r858853.diff ...                                                               [ ok ]
 * Applying kdelibs-3.5-cups.diff ...                                                                          [ ok ]
 * Applying kdelibs-3.5-hardcode-aspell.diff ...                                                               [ ok ]
 * Applying kdelibs-3.5-more-psnup-filter-opts.diff ...                                                        [ ok ]
 * Applying kdelibs-3.5-bindnow.patch ...                                                                      [ ok ]
 * Applying kdelibs-3.5-kicker-crash.patch ...                                                                 [ ok ]
 * Applying user patches from /etc/portage/patches//kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.10 ...
 *   cupsfix.patch ...                                                                                         [ ok ]
 * Done with patching
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jesnow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 454

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's weird, I now reproduced it exactly on my work machine as well.

Scratching my head now. I wish patch would give more information, like what file it was looking for, rather than "file not found".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UlFie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2011
Posts: 21
Location: Wuppertal

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@jesnow, is it possible that your patch file was created using diff from an incorrect directory? Comparing the two patches (proteusx's and yours as given in the .patch.out) there seems to be a difference: the files to be patched are kdelibs-3.5.10/kdeprint/cups/cupsdconf2/cups-util.c and ./kdeprint/cups/cupsdconf2/cups-util.c , respectively, and the latter is missing one level of directory hierarchy, so the `file to patch' cannot be found, as the error message says. Then again I have no idea where that `-p4' in the patch command comes from which should (according to `man patch') strip the file name to just cups-util.c (in both cases!).

EDIT: May I add: Over the last couple of days I have applied quite a few patches using the `/etc/... method', most of them found on the web. Some of them failed at first because of white space differences, i.e. the files to be patched contained TAB characters while copying&pasting patches from a forum to a text file usually has these expanded to spaces. Fixed that by manually applying those patches first and than creating new patch files using diff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4055
Location: india

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyways all updates makes me jump through hoops for keeping kde3 :(
always
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum