Thank you Gentoo community/developers!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
fhaddad78
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 6:18 pm    Post subject: Thank you Gentoo community/developers! Reply with quote

Preamble
--------------------------------
Hey, my name is Freddie, I am a novice Linux user, and most of my experience has been with Ubuntu and Fedora. A majority of my OS experience is with Windows. Anyhow, I'm starting at UCSD in the fall and when I went to transfer admit day, I saw they were using primarily Linux and Vim. I've been using Windows and Visual Studio -- quite a different world. So, I asked what distribution they were using and they said Gentoo (which I never heard of). So I did some reading and it sounded interesting... Enter the crazy decision to reformat and install Gentoo...

The thank you part (=
--------------------------------
Before trying to install Gentoo, I read the document online. Well, the first half, and then I tried to install. First attempt didn't go as smoothly as I hoped. Mainly because I didn't read the directions closely and carefully enough. Well, I printed everything out, reformatted a few more times, went through the installation process, and kernel compilations several times and well, after about 72 hours and a little bit of sleep, I have a kick-butt Gentoo installed completely customized and it's awesome!

So, I wanted to take a moment to say thank you to all the people who contributed countless hours to developing all the documentation which exists on gentoo.org. It was so well written and easy to follow and it was just a pleasant experience. I'm a Gentoo fan for life now!!!

I hope to one day be able to contribute to Linux as I am a computer science major. My skills are strongest in C++.