Goodbye gentoo users :(
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dolphinaura
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 5:55 pm    Post subject: Goodbye gentoo users :( Reply with quote

Hi fellow gentoo users!

Ive used gentoo for a year now, and I absolutely love it.
A few weeks ago, the laptop that gentoo had been installed on was brutally suffocated by the blankets that my cat pulled onto it.

As a result, a new laptop was ordered.

While that was going on, Ive been doing a lot of thinking. Im just a poor university student who wants to learn more about linux so that I can help others more redily and to improve software (Im known as sandy(d) on the Ubuntu Forums). Neverless, though gentoo has taught me millions of things, and allowed me to have the latest bleeding edge software, I find myself wasting a lot of time compiling programs. In university, that time could be spent doing something more useful (since im a cs student)

Its not really gentoo's fault as much as it is mine. My laptop is extremely noisy when it turns on the fan, so I can't compile overnight. During the day, compiling stuff slows down my laptop significantly (I just have a meagre 2d-gen i5-2430M.).

Ive been thinking of installing it on my desktop as well, but it only has a even worse Pentium 4HT. Meanwhile, I replaced the motherboard on the overheated laptop. It only had a ATI Radeon 3650 HD Mobility, which lags horribly in KDE with both propriety and OSS drivers. Its one of the reasons why that laptop dual-boots.

As a result, I (sadly) won't be using gentoo anymore, not until I pick up a more powerful desktop. Ive already posted an offer on the bulletin boards in the dorms, and hopefully someone will take me up on my offer.

All in all, ive had an awesome time with you guys. Keep up the hard work, and I'll be back once I get a new (or used) computer!