Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
adobe-flash 11.2.202.228 not working at all
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5529

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 2:28 pm    Post subject: adobe-flash 11.2.202.228 not working at all Reply with quote

As opposed to more common problems with colors, for me this version of flash is not working at all, both in firefox and in opera.

Both browsers act as if the plugin was present (as they don't display messages that it's missing), yet none of the flash content gets displayed.

I've got little hope for a fix, but does anyone else have similar problem ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've seen a mention of that elsewhere, but not a solution. So good news, you're not alone. Bad news, you're probably screwed anyway :)

One maybe good thing is that Adobe released a new 10.3 version that fixes some recent vulnerability. You can get it here: http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/distribution3.html. The problem is that future vulnerabilities will probably only be fixed in 11.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2087
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

somewhat off topic but when I go to

http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

the page reports I have

Code:
You have version
11,1,102,55 installed


even though portage reports I do have 11.2.202.228

So that's curious
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not here albright.
It senses my version correctly as 11.2.202.228.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2087
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

uninstall, reboot, re-install

now I actually have 11.2.202.228

very strange, but flash works for me

Edit: but now I've got the boosted blue effect :cry:
(which can be corrected by disabling hardware accel.)
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to the club.
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-918540-highlight-.html
I tried to d/l the patch but FF said I had an addon missing.
So I ended up unmerging libvdpau now it plays normal colors.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2087
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
So I ended up unmerging libvdpau now it plays normal colors.


yes, but

Code:
$ equery depends libvdpau
 * These packages depend on libvdpau:
media-libs/xine-lib-1.2.1 (vdpau ? x11-libs/libvdpau)
media-video/ffmpeg-0.10.2 (vdpau ? x11-libs/libvdpau)
media-video/mplayer-1.0_rc4_p20110322-r1 (vdpau ? x11-libs/libvdpau)
www-plugins/adobe-flash-11.2.202.228 (vdpau ? x11-libs/libvdpau)
x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-295.20-r1 (>=x11-libs/libvdpau-0.3-r1)

_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know but I'll see what will be done in the coming weeks.
I don't watch movies anyway.
I sometimes get a flash movie in the mail,that's all.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2299
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*Deleted because it seemed to affect others delicate sensibilities*
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4


Last edited by Anon-E-moose on Sat Mar 31, 2012 6:58 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried that too Anon-E-moose.
Still blue people.
In my xorg.log it says
Code:
15957.399] (II) Loading sub module "dri2"
[ 15957.399] (II) LoadModule: "dri2"
[ 15957.400] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/opengl/xorg-x11/extensions/libdri2.so
[ 15957.400] (II) Module dri2: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 15957.400]    compiled for 1.11.2, module version = 1.2.0
[ 15957.400]    ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 6.0
[ 15957.400] (II) NVIDIA(0): [DRI2] Setup complete
[ 15957.400] (II) NVIDIA(0): [DRI2]   VDPAU driver: nvidia

Revdep-rebuild turns up nothing!
So maybe we can do without?
Code:

ikke@Gerard ~ $ equery b libdri2.so
 * Searching for libdri2.so ...
x11-base/xorg-server-1.11.2-r2 (/usr/lib64/opengl/xorg-x11/extensions/libdri2.so)
ikke@Gerard ~ $


Gerard.
Edit: The vdpau USE flag is a local flag.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5529

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:roll: Well, the thread got successfully derailed.
@Gusar: do you recall where did you see it ? I want to make sure that it's not something specific to my hardware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
@Gusar: do you recall where did you see it ? I want to make sure that it's not something specific to my hardware.

Here: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=138534

And surprise, surprise, that thread also got derailed :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2299
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*Deleted because it seemed to affect others delicate sensibilities*
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4


Last edited by Anon-E-moose on Sat Mar 31, 2012 6:59 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Now, if we were to look at version of libvdpau, version of firefox/whatever browser/etc then maybe we could find out what's going on.

What's going on is very well known, as is a workaround. There is a thread about it already - http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-918540-highlight-.html

This thread is about a different issue though, but it can't be discussed if people continue on about the blue people.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5529

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This might be related, though it's hard to say - the report lacks details.

...well, not that my post has many; on the other hand, I really can't tell what details I could acquire, after all neither dmesg, nor full log show any crashes.

Also, some of the posts I came across suggest it's a CPU problem - this hardware is quite a bit dated, so it might be that Adobe built this release with optimizations, that result in SIGILL (shouldn't that show up in the logs though ?).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genterminl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 338
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oddly (?) I'm not having any problems with flash on my gentoo box (amd64, nvidia video) but flash doesn't work for me at all on my archlinux box (x86, ati video) in firefox, chromium, or opera - exactly like VoidMages' initial post. This is 11.2.202.228 on both systems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5529

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@genterminl:
Well, this might be something.
x86 AMD Athlon XP 2500+ , r200 video type.

what is it for you ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genterminl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 338
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@VoidMage -

My working Gentoo is AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4000+, NVIDIA GPU GeForce 7600 GS using nvidia driver

The problem arch system is AMD Athlon(TM) XP (/proc/cpuinfo gives speed as 1150 - don't remember rating), video ATI Radeon 9200 5961 (AGP) using radeon driver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5529

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So it seems our (non-working) hardware is very much alike (though could you give 'model name' instead of 'cpu MHz' ?).

Any ideas if it's the card or the processor ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Strykaas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I have a similar problem here.

Not using gentoo but Lubuntu 11.10 and Ubuntu 11.04, on different hardware configurations.

The intel + ATI video one does not seem to have any problem with the latest version.

The AMD Athlon Xp 3000+ and ATI Radeo 9800 pro HAS the same problem.

I suspect Adobe decided to stop supporting older CPUs...

Any progress by your sides ?


Strykaas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Strykaas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I have downloaded the previous 10.x version from :

http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/current/licensing/linux/install_flash_player_10_linux.tar.gz


And then replaced the libflashplayer.so (only) and it fixed the problem. Adobe obviously made a mistake with its latest version.

Strykaas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5529

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Strykaas: is that intel + ATI video still x86 and older radeon ?
I'd like to find out if it can be proven it's CPU, not GPU.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marens
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strykaas wrote:
OK, I have downloaded the previous 10.x version from :

http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/current/licensing/linux/install_flash_player_10_linux.tar.gz


And then replaced the libflashplayer.so (only) and it fixed the problem. Adobe obviously made a mistake with its latest version.

Strykaas


Flash updates are seldomly feature updates. The changelog of the ebuild lists the bug from bugs.gentoo.org which informs you about the following:

Quote:
These priority 2 updates address critical vulnerabilities in Adobe Flash Player 11.1.102.63 and earlier versions for Windows, Macintosh, Linux and Solaris, and Adobe Flash Player 11.1.111.7 and earlier versions for Android 3.x and 2.x. These vulnerabilities could cause a crash and potentially allow an attacker to take control of the affected system.

Adobe recommends users of Adobe Flash Player 11.1.102.63 and earlier versions for Windows, Macintosh and Linux update to Adobe Flash Player 11.2.202.228. Users of Adobe Flash Player 11.1.102.63 and earlier versions for Solaris should update to Adobe Flash Player 11.2.202.223. Users of Adobe Flash Player 11.1.111.7 and earlier versions for Android 3.x and earlier versions should update to Flash Player 11.1.111.8.


No idea how many actively exploited security holes you just opened. Better fallback to html5 videos on youtube and others until the problem is solved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you go read the full security bulletin, you can see that 10.3.183.18 has also been fixed, so Strykaas is safe.

Edit: A new vulnerability has been found, 10.3.183.18 is *not* ok to use. 10.3.183.19 is though.
Edit2: New vulnerabilities found, not even 10.3.183.19 is safe. *Always* get the latest 10.3 from the link I posted above.


Last edited by Gusar on Wed Jul 18, 2012 12:41 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marens
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
If you go read the full security bulletin, you can see that 10.3.183.18 has also been fixed, so Strykaas is safe.

10.3.183.18 is ok to use, the 10.3.183.10 that's in portage is not.


ah cool!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum