Setting up arm chroot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
xteejx
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:37 pm    Post subject: Setting up arm chroot Reply with quote

Hi guys,

I'm new to Gentoo, so I'm sorry if there is a really obvious answer staring me in the face.
I want to get gentoo onto my HTC Kaiser (arm1136EJ-S armv6) using HaRET. I know it would take years to compile on the phone, so I want to setup a chroot where I can build the entire rootfs and kernel and then copy it to an SD card to boot and run on the phone.
The problem is, I've looked everywhere and not found anything simple to understand. The Embedded Handbook looked like a good idea until I had numerous problems with trying to emerge qemu-user. I've been on IRC to ask about emerge-ing qemu-user but, although the suggestions were great and muchly appreciated, they didn't work properly.
Is the Embedded Handbook Chapter 5 what I should be using, as it appears to be out of date. I read elsewhere that qemu replaced qemu-user, and others suggested using qemu-kvm, but I don't have kvm support on my CPU (running Gentoo in Virtualbox until I can get my head around everything, but even with PAE enabled it doesn't want to know). Also, someone else said kvm isn't a good idea for what I want, and that I'd need to build qemu statically to use the file in the chroot or something?

That's about as much as I know, if I've confused any readers, I apologise, but I really want to get this working, and I *will* be contributing my findnigs, writing it all up and giving it back to the community (including via xda forums for any other interested parties).

Any help would be very very much appreciated.
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xteejx,

Welcome to Gentoo