Problems installing virtualbox-guest-additions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Shimfs
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 2:05 pm    Post subject: Problems installing virtualbox-guest-additions Reply with quote

Hi.
I am rather new to gentoo and have been using it for some days without major problems i couldn't solve myself or through google. However, i have just found one problem i simply cannot find the answer to.

I am running windows 7 and inside a virtualbox from that, i am running gentoo. So in order to get gfx drivers and the like, i am trying to install: app-emulation/virtualbox-guest-additions. But it won't emerge properly. I have the build.log but i am not sure how to upload it to you guys, since gentoo is running in a console window at the moment.

help would really be appreciated. And please keep in mind, i am rather new, so please write what commands to use, since i don't know all the commands in gentoo

EDIT: here is the build.log http://pastebin.com/6qJsXGMG
Trog Dog
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

checkout this bug there seems to be a problem with virtualbox 4.1.4 and kernel version 3.2.1 the "workaround" is to unmask and emerge virtualbox 4.1.8

Code:
emerge =app-emulation/virtualbox-4.1.8 --autounmask-write
etc-update
emerge =app-emulation/virtualbox-4.1.8

Shimfs
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your answer. I will check it out as soon as i get home.
Shimfs
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have spotted an error.

You want me to emerge virtualbox.
I am trying to emerge the virtualbox-Guest-Additions.

My main computer (windows7) IS already running virtualbox. I want the virtualbox guest drivers on the guest system (gentoo)