Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
playability of starcraft 2 in linux
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
r0shi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 1:42 am    Post subject: playability of starcraft 2 in linux Reply with quote

Has anyone managed to get starcraft 2 to run under linux at a playable frame rate?
I've tried several distributions, both 64bit and 32bit and performance has been less than half of what
it is under windows making it completely unplayable.
I think it could have something to do with the level of optimization of the linux nvidia drivers because my cpu
couldn't possibly be the bottleneck as it's a watercooled 4Ghz i7.
My GPU is a GTX 460. I get approximately 40fps most of the time and it often drops to about 10fps during heavy battles.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
palmer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Nov 2004
Posts: 321
Location: Berkeley, CA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used to have a GTX 460 (and a significantly slower AMD CPU), and Starcraft 2 was entirely playable for me -- though I play on lowest as I don't really like the fancy graphics. Are you using the latest wine (I'm on 1.3.34, which is ~amd64) and the latest nvidia drivers (I'm on 285.05.09-r1)?

There are some performance tips on Wine's website:
http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=20882

Are you using a compositing window manager (Gnome 3 or KDE 4)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r0shi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I use KDE but RAM isn't an issue. Since you upgraded your graphics card have you found that you can play at ultra settings and have it remain playable?
I guess you could say it's playable on my system on low settings, but it's worth rebooting into windows to have the game not look like sc1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
j_c_p
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Aug 2003
Posts: 296
Location: France - Colmar

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's ok for me with a few tricks (see WhineHQ): 30fps at high settings 1680x1050.
_________________
Lian Li PC60 - AMD Phenom II X6 1100T BE - Asrock 990FX EXTREME9 - MSI 480GTX TFII - M-Audio Delta Audiophile 24/96
Kernel 3.14.4 KDE 4.13.1 GCC 4.8.2 x86_64 05/16/2014
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
palmer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Nov 2004
Posts: 321
Location: Berkeley, CA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

r0shi wrote:
Yeah, I use KDE but RAM isn't an issue.

I don't know what RAM has to do with it: compositing window managers are slow because there is an extra layer between the game and the hardware. In the past (and this is years ago with Quake 3, so YMMV with SC2), I had luck running with games-util/xgame, which just starts a 2nd X server that runs only your game. It can improve performance quite a bit, but it's kind of a pain (I have 2 monitors and like to run pidgin + mumble on the other screen while I queue for games).

r0shi wrote:
Since you upgraded your graphics card have you found that you can play at ultra settings and have it remain playable?
I guess you could say it's playable on my system on low settings, but it's worth rebooting into windows to have the game not look like sc1.

I set my settings on Ultra everything and ran a game against the computer. I typed out my FPS a couple of times. If you watch the replay you should be able to compare your FPS to mine. The lowest I saw was 18. There weren't any large battles, though, as my Zerg is pretty terrible :). I am running in wine's windowed mode at 1680x1050, so everything is probably quite a bit slower than it would be in xgame.

http://hotfile.com/dl/137335901/3965c57/for_gentoo_forums.SC2Replay.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mad Merlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 1143

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I play SC2 on a GTX 275 and it's quite smooth. I haven't fiddled with settings for a long time now, but I found the sweet spot was setting shaders to "low" and whatever is remaining can be set to the highest that it allows. UseGLSL=disabled was also worth something like 5-10 fps (and on Nvidia, has no difference graphically). I generally get 60-70 fps @1600x1200, rarely dropping below 30 fps in big battles, etc. Higher settings were too slow for me, but I'm quite picky about that sort of thing.
_________________
Game! - Where the stick is mightier than the sword!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desti²
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The poor performance is not a driver issue, it's caused by wine.
_________________
Linux Users Everywhere @ climateprediction.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum