Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
You are using a bash array for config_eth0. how to?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 3993
Location: india

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 3:26 am    Post subject: You are using a bash array for config_eth0. how to? Reply with quote

from rc.log
Code:
* Bringing up interface eth0
 *   You are using a bash array for config_eth0.
 *   This feature will be removed in the future.
 *   Please see net.example for the correct format for config_eth0.
 *   dhcp ...
 *     Running dhcpcd ...


my current ifconfig shows

Code:
localtux ramaswamy # ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0e:7b:4d:36:04
          inet addr:192.168.1.2  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::20e:7bff:fe4d:3604/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:32971 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:23127 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:36892441 (35.1 MiB)  TX bytes:3160472 (3.0 MiB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:100 (100.0 B)  TX bytes:100 (100.0 B)

localtux ramaswamy #                     


how do i configure my /etc/conf.d/net ?
net.example does not give me any idea.
i am not sure i have ipv4 or ipv6
some help needed pls.
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sadako
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 3753
Location: sleeping in the bathtub

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We would need to see what you have in your /etc/conf.d/net currently to help.
_________________
"You have to invite me in"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 3993
Location: india

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ramaswamy@localtux ~ $ cat /etc/conf.d/net
# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d.  To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /usr/share/doc/openrc/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )

ramaswamy@localtux ~ $


even though it is dhcp lan , i have 3 computers to share from the router same network and to share between them the files and programs.

i want to set this laptop with
ip 192.168.1.102
dns 1 125.22.47.125
dns 2 202.56.250.5
route 192.168.1.1

the other 2 computers have ip 100 and 101 respectively

thanks for reply :)
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sadako
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 3753
Location: sleeping in the bathtub

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try just changing config_eth0=( "dhcp" ) to config_eth0="dhcp", the parentheses '( )' aren't required, and are used to define arrays in bash.
_________________
"You have to invite me in"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 3993
Location: india

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
* Bringing up interface lo
 *   127.0.0.1/8 ...
 [ ok ]
 *   Adding routes
 *     127.0.0.0/8 via 127.0.0.1 ...
 [ ok ]
 * Bringing up interface eth0
 *   dhcp ...
 *     Running dhcpcd ...
dhcpcd[1872]: version 5.2.12 starting
dhcpcd[1872]: eth0: rebinding lease of 192.168.1.2
dhcpcd[1872]: eth0: NAK: from 192.168.1.1
dhcpcd[1872]: eth0: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd[1872]: eth0: offered 192.168.1.2 from 192.168.1.1
dhcpcd[1872]: eth0: acknowledged 192.168.1.2 from 192.168.1.1
dhcpcd[1872]: eth0: checking for 192.168.1.2
dhcpcd[1872]: eth0: leased 192.168.1.2 for 86400 seconds
dhcpcd[1872]: forked to background, child pid 1911
 [ ok ]
 *     received address 192.168.1.2/24
 [ ok ]


the message has gone and it looks trying more than previously to get the connection.
otherwise it seems to work ok :)

Code:
 * Bringing up interface eth0
 *   You are using a bash array for config_eth0.
 *   This feature will be removed in the future.
 *   Please see net.example for the correct format for config_eth0.
 *   dhcp ...
 *     Running dhcpcd ...
dhcpcd[1880]: version 5.2.12 starting
dhcpcd[1880]: eth0: rebinding lease of 192.168.1.2
dhcpcd[1880]: eth0: acknowledged 192.168.1.2 from 192.168.1.1
dhcpcd[1880]: eth0: checking for 192.168.1.2
dhcpcd[1880]: eth0: leased 192.168.1.2 for 86400 seconds
dhcpcd[1880]: forked to background, child pid 1910
 [ ok ]
 *     received address 192.168.1.2/24
 [ ok ]


this the difference before edit of the net file
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TaKeNeK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any idea how to change this?
TEST ~ # cat /etc/conf.d/net
dns_servers_eth0="127.0.0.1"
config_eth0=(
"XX.160.232.132/24"
"XX.160.232.133/24"
"XX.160.232.134/24"
"XX.160.232.150/24"
"XX02:f40:10::2/64"
"XX02:f40:10::6/64"
"XX02:f40:10::7/64"
)
routes_eth0=(
"default gw XX.160.232.1"
"default gw XX02:f40:10::1"
)
dns_search_eth1="something.net"
config_eth1=(
"172.17.1.132/24"
"172.17.1.129/24"
)
routes_eth1=(
"172.16.0.0/12 via 172.17.1.20"
"10.0.0.0/8 via 172.17.1.21"
"192.168.0.0/16 via 172.17.1.22"
)

I do config_eth0="XX.160.232.132/24 XX.160.232.133/24 XX.160.232.134/24 XX.160.232.150/24 XX02:f40:10::2/64 XX02:f40:10::6/64 XX02:f40:10::7/64" - that was easy... but how about give 2 another route i try
routes_eth0="default gw XX.160.232.1 default gw XX02:f40:10::1"
or
routes_eth0="default gw XX.160.232.1 XX02:f40:10::1"
But don`t work....
This same with eth1 how give so much route ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 3993
Location: india

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think you can use add route command to add routes
reffer the link

http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/linux-setup-default-gateway-with-route-command/

prior to gentoo whan i tried fedora early stage distro i had to connect manually to the net using add route and add default gateway and things like that.
some more knowledges people may give a better answer :)
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TaKeNeK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey m8 i know how work add route and ip a a but i want use normal net.eth0/net.eth1 script from gentoo openrc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sadako
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 3753
Location: sleeping in the bathtub

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you just put one per line, ie;
Code:
routes_eth0="default gw XX.160.232.1
default gw XX02:f40:10::1"

_________________
"You have to invite me in"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From my VPS, which has native IPv6

Code:
# no brackets for baselayout2
config_eth0="212.110.180.12/24
             2001:41c8:123:112::2/64"

routes_eth0="default via 212.110.180.254
             default via 2001:41c8:123:112::1"

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum