Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Tips and tricks for ConsoleKit, PolicyKit, and udev helpers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
unimatrix_zero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Bochum/ Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martux wrote:
Hello!
Using KDE-4.6 here on ~amd64. I followed the sticky bit by bit but am not able to get it working.
polkit-kde-agent is crashing on each system start and nothing automount-related works. Any ideas?
Under the polkit-kde-kcmodules there are no options at all.
Any help appreciated :)


Hello Martux

same issues here!!
Did you get a soulotion? If yes please conatct me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
unimatrix_zero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Bochum/ Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unimatrix_zero wrote:
Martux wrote:
Hello!
Using KDE-4.6 here on ~amd64. I followed the sticky bit by bit but am not able to get it working.
polkit-kde-agent is crashing on each system start and nothing automount-related works. Any ideas?
Under the polkit-kde-kcmodules there are no options at all.
Any help appreciated :)


Hello Martux

same issues here!!
Did you get a soulotion? If yes please conatct me


Resolving polkit-kde-agent crashing with segfault bey removing an old plasmarc in my ~

but mounting with udisks

Cannot find device with major:minor 8:17: Failed to execute program /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper: Success

And "success" connoted successful
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cjubon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Vienna/Europe

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for this guide. However, I cannot get rid of hal.

i did everthing recommended here as well as on the kde upgrade guide, but after removing hal, kdm won't start:
Code:
mazeltov ~ # /etc/init.d/xdm restart
ERROR: xdm did not start because hald would not start


There seems to be a hidden dependency somewhere in my config. equery belongs /etc/init.d/xdm tells me that the xdm init script has been installed by xorg-server, but re-installing that latter one didn't help. Also, I remember there was a NEEDS_HAL option a while ago in some file in /etc (/conf.d ?) but I cant find it any more.

My system is an up-to-date amd64 stable install with kde-4-6.3.

Thanks for your advice.
_________________
Mandrake Dec 2001 · Debian "Woody" Aug 2002 · Gentoo Jan 2004 · Funtoo Oct 2009
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwc
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 762
Location: Tri-Cities, WA USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2011 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cjubon wrote:
Thanks for this guide. However, I cannot get rid of hal.

i did everthing recommended here as well as on the kde upgrade guide, but after removing hal, kdm won't start:
Code:
mazeltov ~ # /etc/init.d/xdm restart
ERROR: xdm did not start because hald would not start


There seems to be a hidden dependency somewhere in my config. equery belongs /etc/init.d/xdm tells me that the xdm init script has been installed by xorg-server, but re-installing that latter one didn't help. Also, I remember there was a NEEDS_HAL option a while ago in some file in /etc (/conf.d ?) but I cant find it any more.

My system is an up-to-date amd64 stable install with kde-4-6.3.

Thanks for your advice.


emerge --search hal

app-misc/hal-info
Latest version available: 20091130
Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
Size of files: 141 kB
Homepage: http://hal.freedesktop.org/
Description: The fdi scripts that HAL uses
License: GPL-2


sys-apps/hal [ Masked ]
Latest version available: 0.5.14-r4
Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
Size of files: 927 kB
Homepage: http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Software/hal
Description: Hardware Abstraction Layer
License: || ( GPL-2 AFL-2.0 )

azzerare ~ # more /etc/portage/package.mask
sys-apps/hal

I had to remove hal-info and hal. I did not have any dependencies.

azzerare ~ # uname -a
Linux azzerare 2.6.38-gentoo-r6 #6 SMP Sun Jun 12 18:12:20 PDT 2011 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
Running gnome not kde.
_________________
Without diversity there can be no evolution:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cjubon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Vienna/Europe

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your answer, I removed both hal and hal info, but that's not the point. With dependencies, I didn't mean portage dependencies, but dependencies in the init scripts. I can perfectly remove hal and portage won't complain nor try to reinstall it, but xdm won't start any more.

What I need to now is which config option in a probably stale configuration file causes the xdm init script to abort when it there is no running hal.

Thank you for further suggestions.
_________________
Mandrake Dec 2001 · Debian "Woody" Aug 2002 · Gentoo Jan 2004 · Funtoo Oct 2009
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
the_mgt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Aug 2005
Posts: 259
Location: Germany, near Hannover

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cjubon wrote:
What I need to now is which config option in a probably stale configuration file causes the xdm init script to abort when it there is no running hal.


Mabye you did this already, but grep for hal in /etc/init.d (and /etc/conf.d, but I doubt that is the clue).
If you are using openrc/baselayout-2 you might even have something in /etc/rc.conf (This fits your needs_hal description, I think)

If in doubt, grep all of /etc ;)
_________________
Citadel Groupware | Avahi Howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
unimatrix_zero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Bochum/ Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

unimatrix_zero wrote:
unimatrix_zero wrote:
Martux wrote:
Hello!
Using KDE-4.6 here on ~amd64. I followed the sticky bit by bit but am not able to get it working.
polkit-kde-agent is crashing on each system start and nothing automount-related works. Any ideas?
Under the polkit-kde-kcmodules there are no options at all.
Any help appreciated :)


Hello Martux

same issues here!!
Did you get a soulotion? If yes please conatct me


Resolving polkit-kde-agent crashing with segfault bey removing an old plasmarc in my ~

but mounting with udisks

Cannot find device with major:minor 8:17: Failed to execute program /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper: Success

And "success" connoted successful


The solution for me is/ was

chmod o+x /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper

after that all is well and i´m happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cjubon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Vienna/Europe

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the_mgt wrote:
Mabye you did this already, but grep for hal in /etc/init.d (and /etc/conf.d, but I doubt that is the clue).
If you are using openrc/baselayout-2 you might even have something in /etc/rc.conf (This fits your needs_hal description, I think)


Thanks, but I did that already, but to no avail. Strange thing, there is the error message ("Error: xdm did not start because hald would not start"), this must be produced by some file, but I can't find it (e.g. by grepping "would not start" in /etc/init.d/* or whatever).

I'd really like to get rid of hal.
Thanks for further suggestions.
_________________
Mandrake Dec 2001 · Debian "Woody" Aug 2002 · Gentoo Jan 2004 · Funtoo Oct 2009
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
the_mgt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Aug 2005
Posts: 259
Location: Germany, near Hannover

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cjubon wrote:
this must be produced by some file, but I can't find it (e.g. by grepping "would not start" in /etc/init.d/* or whatever)


The error text is probably somewhere under /usr/bin or /usr/share or where the script that runs the whole init stuff is residing. So just grep for "hal" through /etc. Also check /etc/rc.conf if you use openrc.
What about "strace /etc/init.d/xdm start"?
_________________
Citadel Groupware | Avahi Howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 9754
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flurp wrote:
I have been having problems with consolekit authorisation using Qingy with XFCE. It turns out that on my systems at least, if Qingy is using the DirectFB frontend and starts the X server on the tty that it is running on (the default setting) then the session is inactive.

Changing:
Code:
x_server_tty = qingy_tty

to
Code:
x_server_tty = unused_tty

in /etc/qingy/settings fixes it :D

I was pointed in the right direction by the current bug in DirectFB-1.4.9 which stopped Qingy using DirectFB - if Qingy is running from the console then everything works correctly anyway.

HTH


I was facing the same problem:

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-6731768.html#6731768

I just filed a bug, let's see if we can have this silly thing fixed.

http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=372675
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xsilentmurmurx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey everyone

someone probably already asked this in this topic but what authentication agent should be used if the desktop environment is OPENBOX?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dan2003
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 May 2003
Posts: 251
Location: somewhere near london, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just updated and run into what may or may not be this same issue.

I cannot mount/umount usb sticks in kde (4.6.4) - they don't even show up.

I have gone through all the steps in the first post, but no luck. I have tried very lasest kernel (2.6.39.2) and have the relevant options set.

Code:
dan@MANGO ~ $ ck-list-sessions
Session2:
        unix-user = '1000'
        realname = '(null)'
        seat = 'Seat1'
        session-type = ''
        active = TRUE
        x11-display = ':0'
        x11-display-device = '/dev/tty7'
        display-device = ''
        remote-host-name = ''
        is-local = TRUE
        on-since = '2011-07-03T10:59:05.491903Z'
        login-session-id = '4294967295'


Code:
dan@MANGO ~ $ udisks --mount /dev/sdb1
Cannot find device with major:minor 8:17: Failed to execute program /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper: Success


Neither dbus-monitor --system or --session show any info about my USB device being found, but it shows under /dev and can be mounted with mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/

I have remerged dbus, udev, upower, parted, udisks and some others - all are current ~amd64.

Reboot and shutdown work fine.

Any ideas what to try next?
_________________
Too easy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dan2003
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 May 2003
Posts: 251
Location: somewhere near london, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I managed to fix this issue - Somehow the gid for messagebus group in /etc/passwd did not agree with that in /etg/group - after fixing this it all works :) - I do recall retrieving one of these files from a previous backup at some point having screwed it up. This must have put things out of sync.
_________________
Too easy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grimm26
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 302
Location: Chicagoland, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just read through this rather long post and I can't figure out why my Restart and Shutdown buttons won't work in Xfce 4.8. All they do is log me out of my session and then I have to use the shutdown button in GDM to actually shutdown.
Code:

% ck-list-sessions
Session1:
        unix-user = '8687'
        realname = 'Mark'
        seat = 'Seat1'
        session-type = ''
        active = TRUE
        x11-display = ':0'
        x11-display-device = '/dev/tty7'
        display-device = ''
        remote-host-name = ''
        is-local = TRUE
        on-since = '2011-07-18T01:45:15.343637Z'
        login-session-id = '4294967295'
% grep AUDIT /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_AUDIT_ARCH=y
CONFIG_AUDIT=y
CONFIG_AUDITSYSCALL=y
CONFIG_AUDIT_WATCH=y
CONFIG_AUDIT_TREE=y
qa4437@shadow ~ % uname -a
Linux shadow 2.6.39-gentoo-r3 #1 SMP Sun Jul 17 13:19:52 CDT 2011 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7500 @ 2.20GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

hal is not installed. It looks to me like things should work. What do I need to check?
_________________
"Blessed is he who finds happiness in his own foolishness, for he will always be happy".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jon.clugston
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having the exact same problem - Restart and Shutdown buttons don't work (they just log out) in Xfce 4.8. It used to work, but when I upgraded to Xorg 1.10.2 (from 1.9.something) it stopped working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grimm26
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 302
Location: Chicagoland, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've actually had it work a couple of times now, but not consistently. I did re-emerge xfce-base/xfce-utils, xfce-base/xfce4-panel, and gdm hoping that might shake something loose :).
_________________
"Blessed is he who finds happiness in his own foolishness, for he will always be happy".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1206

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Tips, and tricks for ConsoleKit/PolicyKit/udev, without Reply with quote

ssuominen wrote:
Here is a small checklist to get a working ConsoleKit and PolicyKit setup for your console and X11.
Code:

# rc-update add dbus default
# rc-update add consolekit default


Nice guide.
However I wonder about two items:
Does it matter if these are started at boot or default?
I think I start consolekit at boot and dbus in default.
I cant remember why.

Setting the
Code:
dbus
use flag did not require a recompilation of anything for me.
Are you sure this is not just set by default?
_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luizm929
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Location: San Diego CA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:23 am    Post subject: Mouse and keyboard stoped working after this procedure. Reply with quote

Code:

Brasidas user # ck-list-sessions
Session2:
   unix-user = '0'
   realname = 'root'
   seat = 'Seat1'
   session-type = ''
   active = TRUE
   x11-display = ''
   x11-display-device = ''
   display-device = '/dev/tty1'
   remote-host-name = ''
   is-local = TRUE
   on-since = '2011-08-12T02:20:44.612157Z'
   login-session-id = '2'



I dont know what other data to post here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_AxS_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Tips, and tricks for ConsoleKit/PolicyKit/udev, without Reply with quote

ssuominen wrote:

SLIM users: Make sure to include "ck-launch-session" in login_cmd at /etc/slim.conf, or /etc/X11/Sessions/<your session> or in ~/.xinitrc or ~/.xsession file at home directory. It's really up to you where you want to put it, just be sure it's there only once and you are not duplicating previous location! You can detect such duplication
by simply looking at 'ck-list-sessions' output and comparing "x11-display-device" lines where /dev/tty7 should only appear once.

Here is an working example for running Xfce:

Code:

$ grep ^login_cmd /etc/slim.conf
login_cmd    exec ck-launch-session startxfce4




For any readers that get this far, as of slim-1.3.2-r5 and above, slim will manage ck-launch-session through it's default Xsession startup script. There is no need to modify slim.conf anymore. Please see the post-install elog of x11-misc/slim for more information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
|Quantum|
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 133
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is getting ridiculous. Pam/consolekit/policikit is supposed to be BETTER?!
At least hal worked out of the box. Now, I haven't seen a working shutdown button and automounted disks for almost a year.
I tried everything there is to try as was suggested in this long thread.

Sorry for the rant, needed to get it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fenril
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2009
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For those who have still problem with getting an active session, think about this :
with my new config, i have installated Gentoo then Xfce. When i launch my DE with the "exec ck-launch-session startxfce4" i don't get an active session, i don't know why. The only way i get an active session is with edited /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc, like this :

Code:
#!/bin/sh

userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
sysresources=/etc/X11/xinit/Xresources
sysmodmap=/etc/X11/xinit/Xmodmap

# merge in defaults and keymaps

if [ -f $sysresources ]; then
    xrdb -merge $sysresources
fi

if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $sysmodmap
fi

if [ -f "$userresources" ]; then
    xrdb -merge "$userresources"
fi

if [ -f "$usermodmap" ]; then
    xmodmap "$usermodmap"
fi

# start some nice programs


if [ -n "`/etc/X11/chooser.sh`" ]; then
   command="`/etc/X11/chooser.sh`"
else
   failsafe="yes"
fi

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ] ; then
   for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/* ; do
      [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
   done
   unset f
fi

if [ -n "$failsafe" ]; then
   #tvm &
   #xclock -geometry 50x50-1+1 &
   #xterm -geometry 80x50+494+51 &
   #xterm -geometry 80x20+494-0 &
   #exec xterm -geometry 80x66+0+0 -name login
   exec ck-launch-session startxfce4
else
   exec $command
fi


Launch your DE with "startx" and voila !
I know it's not the best way because it sets a default DE that you put on system xinitrc for all users of the computer. Maybe this for those still can't get active session.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5191

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

b3cks wrote:
IgorPashev wrote:
xfce should startx with
Code:
ck-launch-session dbus-launch xfce4-session
within /etc/xdg/xfce4/xinitrc

ck-launch-session startxfce4 does not work for me (no power managment, no mount)
and
ck-launch-session xfce4-session is not enough (I can't mount/umount media by desktop or Thunar,
but can do it in terminal emulator).

I can approve this. Thanks for this info!


If you mean in this section:
Code:

# Run xfce4-session if installed
if which xfce4-session >/dev/null 2>&1; then
    xfce4-session

    if test "$ssh_agent_kill_cmd"; then
        echo "running '$ssh_agent_kill_cmd'"
        eval "$ssh_agent_kill_cmd"
    fi

    exit 0
fi


Replacing xfce4-session with the above suggestion actually removes the suspend and hibernate options on my system, in addition to greying out shutdown and restart.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5191

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still unable to get the shutdown and reboot to work from the XFCE4 applications menu. Suspend, hibernate and logout work, but after going through the first four pages - assiduously - of this thread and trying everything suggested therein, I felt it was time to just post.

I'm totally stumped, since, as I said, logout, hibernate and suspend work, but reboot and shutdown will not. Three times, shutdown actually worked immediately after trying something in this thread, but after the first time, with no additional changes, reverted to its old behavior: attempting to reboot or shutdown from the XFCE4 applications menu goes to the login screen.

ck-list-sessions:
Code:

Session4:
   unix-user = '1001'
   realname = '(null)'
   seat = 'Seat1'
   session-type = ''
   active = TRUE
   x11-display = ':0.0'
   x11-display-device = '/dev/tty7'
   display-device = ''
   remote-host-name = ''
   is-local = TRUE
   on-since = '2011-08-28T21:07:42.331932Z'
   login-session-id = '2'
Session1:
   unix-user = '1001'
   realname = '(null)'
   seat = 'Seat2'
   session-type = ''
   active = FALSE
   x11-display = ':0.0'
   x11-display-device = ''
   display-device = ''
   remote-host-name = ''
   is-local = TRUE
   on-since = '2011-08-28T21:07:16.610867Z'
   login-session-id = '1'
Session3:
   unix-user = '1001'
   realname = '(null)'
   seat = 'Seat3'
   session-type = ''
   active = FALSE
   x11-display = ':0.0'
   x11-display-device = ''
   display-device = ''
   remote-host-name = ''
   is-local = TRUE
   on-since = '2011-08-28T21:07:42.288830Z'
   login-session-id = '2'


/etc/sudoers:
Code:

root ALL=(ALL) ALL
#%wheel ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL
%users ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: /usr/lib64/xfce4/session/xfsm-shutdown-helper


EDIT: Upgrading to xfdesktop 4.8.2 fixed this for me.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msalerno
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2002
Posts: 1336
Location: Sweating in South Florida

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

XFCE 4.8.0 - Automount works and shutdown - have not tested everything else.
SLIM 1.3.2-r3

The only issue I have come across so far is when I log in via SLIM, the path is incorrect.

Code:
$ echo $PATH
/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin


Code:
$ ssh localhost
...
$ echo $PATH
/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.5.3:/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.4.5:/opt/ICAClient:/opt/android-sdk-update-manager/tools:/opt/android-sdk-update-manager/platform-tools


When I undo the recommended changes in the /etc/slim.conf, the PATH is properly set, but automount and the other options do not work.

I went through all of the pages of this thread and did some searching and I couldn't find another occurrence of this happening. I'm sure I'm not the only one. I'm thinking that I have something screwed up with the runlevels, but it's happening on 2 different stable gentoo systems
_________________
When harmonious relationships dissolve
Then respect and devotion arise;
When a nation falls to chaos
Then loyalty and patriotism are born.
-Lao Tse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msalerno
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2002
Posts: 1336
Location: Sweating in South Florida

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Issue with path resolved.


Rather than using the config given for the slim.conf
Code:
login_cmd    exec ck-launch-session startxfce4


The below line works
Code:
login_cmd   exec /usr/bin/ck-launch-session /bin/bash -login /usr/share/slim/Xsession %session

_________________
When harmonious relationships dissolve
Then respect and devotion arise;
When a nation falls to chaos
Then loyalty and patriotism are born.
-Lao Tse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 12 of 16

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum