Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
E17 has landed! Was: E17 is coming? (Part 7)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3181

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:04 am    Post subject: E17 has landed! Was: E17 is coming? (Part 7) Reply with quote

Continued from E17 is coming? (Part 6). Last post of previous thread.

UPDATE: (2012-12-22) E17 has been released! It is in portage and can be installed using
Code:
emerge -av "enlightenment:0.17" --autounmask-write



EDIT: Latest status ( to address dear ol' cach0rr0's concerns in the post below ;) ):
  • EFL-1.0 was officially released and is now in official portage tree
  • E17 is not in official portage tree
  • Recommended (by upstream and by gentoo devs) way to install E17 is to use the enlightenment overlay
  • E17 works without hal
  • places module does not work without hal
  • (Latest) Release plan
  • E17 now has native composite
  • itask-ng has been renamed to engage (yay! for those who can recall the old old old engage module)
  • Some (maintained and updated) themes are present in svn
  • Entrance was shown the exit, and elsa is the new entrance
  • Elfe is a module which modifies E17's interface to be more compatible with mobile devices
  • "Everything" is awesome
  • E17 is (still) awesome

_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II


Last edited by ppurka on Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:04 pm; edited 8 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4121
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

old thread locked. dunno if yall want to move over any of the old info to this thread, but the old one's now in the vault!
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 749
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I've yet again gravitated towards e17 and this time I took some more time to configure it.
There are, however, some problems I'm encountering:

  • Although in Gnome my locales work, in enlightenment they don't. This means I don't have Umlauts (+ my keyboard layout is also QWERTY, which is mildly annoying.) Is there a way to have English as the system language but use a German keyboard layout?
  • Exchange works for wallpapers but not for whole themes - what am I doing wrong here?
  • Where is "elsa"? Emerge elsa doesn't find it, so I guess it's not (yet) in the overlay; or am I missing something?

_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3181

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i will answer what I can
Clad in Sky wrote:
[*] Exchange works for wallpapers but not for whole themes - what am I doing wrong here?
You are not doing anything wrong. Exchange is just broken.
Quote:
[*] Where is "elsa"? Emerge elsa doesn't find it, so I guess it's not (yet) in the overlay; or am I missing something?
[/list]
elsa is in svn. See the link in the first post. No ebuild is present as yet. It shouldn't be too hard to create an ebuild. I had installed elsa about 9-10months ago but it wasn't really usable. I am unable to locate the ebuild that I created at that time.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 749
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, thanks.
Problem with my locales was, that e17 does indeed link the chosen language to an appropriate keyboard layout (actually a good idea). What went wrong was that I only thought I had emerged e_modules. Now that I have the modules package, I was able to locate a nice keyboard switcher applet.

As for exchange: I was wondering because I remember it (partly) working about 1 and a half year ago. So I was confused.

Ok, never mind elsa, then.
_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 749
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've found some new stuff now.


  • Gtk-apps look butt-ugly (I mean, more ugly than gnome haters out there attribute to gtk anyway). Setting a default theme in a .gtkrc file doesn't seem to help.
  • Keyboard now uses the desired layout, but behaves strangely (arrow keys not working, alt gr + keys working differently from expected behaviour


Is there a way of fixing this? I can live with ugly gtk apps, but a properly working keyboard (btw. under gnome it works) would be nice.
_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3181

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For gtk apps, install lxappearance and set a theme. I don't know about locales sorry. You better ask in #e. There are many german users there who have already figured all this out.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4121
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just synced, looks like there's no keywords added for engage yet
trivial to get around, not sure if I'm doing something wrong to not have any keywords for engage, or if it's something someone has to add upstream

OR, maybe it's something where I didn't RTFM, and it's an expected thing that I need to keep this keywords file updated on my own. Not a big deal to me

(currently using itask-ng - works lovely, but a few tiny nits that I'm sure will be ironed out over time)

EDIT: said fuck it, unloaded itask-ng, loaded engage, all smooth. Bugs are still there, though, if you decide to put engage anywhere but the bottom. You put it at the top, the reflections are gone, and there's a horizontal bar that goes across the entire width of the screen, maybe 10 pixels tall, muddying up your background. Put it on the right, and you have the same weird bar, AND hovering over items in the taskbar doesnt show the...tooltip? window name? Dont know what you call it.

So for now it's fine on the bottom. Overall E is being very good to me. Of course, I still keep KDE around as a failsafe in case anything goes catastrophically wrong with E
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2726
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do we finally have full desktop support, where in the session is saved and restored just like KDE does? That was my pet peeve with enlightenment. I got sick of writing wrapper scripts to start the applications and placing them in the correct desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3181

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
Do we finally have full desktop support, where in the session is saved and restored just like KDE does? That was my pet peeve with enlightenment. I got sick of writing wrapper scripts to start the applications and placing them in the correct desktop.
Nope. Saving desktop sessions is not implemented.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3181

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cach0rr0 wrote:
EDIT: said fuck it, unloaded itask-ng, loaded engage, all smooth. Bugs are still there, though, if you decide to put engage anywhere but the bottom. You put it at the top, the reflections are gone, and there's a horizontal bar that goes across the entire width of the screen, maybe 10 pixels tall, muddying up your background. Put it on the right, and you have the same weird bar, AND hovering over items in the taskbar doesnt show the...tooltip? window name? Dont know what you call it.
it's not a bug. It is quite deliberate. I am pretty sure if you edit the theme you can enable that reflection bit even on top. Labels when put on the left and right edge of the screen are not supported in the code. It's probably not pleasant to code if you want to support both composite and non-composited desktops as engage does :P
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4121
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ppurka wrote:
it's not a bug. It is quite deliberate. I am pretty sure if you edit the theme you can enable that reflection bit even on top. Labels when put on the left and right edge of the screen are not supported in the code. It's probably not pleasant to code if you want to support both composite and non-composited desktops as engage does :P


im not too fussed with the reflections. And the labels, well, I can live with that.

It's just the weird bar - a cosmetic defect for lack of a better term - whenever you have it anywhere but the bottom of your screen.

here - that shit above the broad's lip.

goes away if you move it to the bottom. Pixel mustache totally kills it.

engage on top shows the defect there, going horizontally
engage on left shows the defect vertically, about 3 inches from left side of screen
engage on bottom == no defect
engage on right == no defect

What i can gather, this is something engage is drawing in what is *supposed* to be a non-visible part of the screen.
Only, it assumes that if youre on the left or right side, the drawing should always go on the right (which means engage on right is fine, on left is not)
Or if you're on the top or bottom of screen, it should always go below (which makes bottom fine, but top not)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mardok45
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 63
Location: Right behind you

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since this problem deals with E17, I'd might as well post it here...

The key bindings for dimming and undimming my display isn't working. Xbacklight works, but I can't figure out how to get the keyboard shortcuts for dimming the display to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3181

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cach0rr0 wrote:
ppurka wrote:
it's not a bug. It is quite deliberate. I am pretty sure if you edit the theme you can enable that reflection bit even on top. Labels when put on the left and right edge of the screen are not supported in the code. It's probably not pleasant to code if you want to support both composite and non-composited desktops as engage does :P


im not too fussed with the reflections. And the labels, well, I can live with that.

It's just the weird bar - a cosmetic defect for lack of a better term - whenever you have it anywhere but the bottom of your screen.

here - that shit above the broad's lip.

goes away if you move it to the bottom. Pixel mustache totally kills it.

engage on top shows the defect there, going horizontally
engage on left shows the defect vertically, about 3 inches from left side of screen
engage on bottom == no defect
engage on right == no defect

What i can gather, this is something engage is drawing in what is *supposed* to be a non-visible part of the screen.
Only, it assumes that if youre on the left or right side, the drawing should always go on the right (which means engage on right is fine, on left is not)
Or if you're on the top or bottom of screen, it should always go below (which makes bottom fine, but top not)
That shouldn't be happening. From that screenshot it looks like you are using composite in some form. Assumign that you are in fact runnign some form of composite, I think one or more of this is happening
1. you don't have Settings -> Advanced -> Engine -> Use ARGB on
2. you have the dropshadow module loaded.
3. Something wrong with the theme?

Also, it seems like that bar is on teh desktop and not on top of the dialog window you have opened. That shouldn't be happening too, since engage now has only two stacking options: Above all, and Below Fullscreen. So, it shouldn't be drawing something below the windows.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3181

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mardok45 wrote:
Since this problem deals with E17, I'd might as well post it here...

The key bindings for dimming and undimming my display isn't working. Xbacklight works, but I can't figure out how to get the keyboard shortcuts for dimming the display to work.
I don't think it is fully implemented yet:
http://marc.info/?l=enlightenment-devel&m=130528966611095&w=2
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4121
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ppurka wrote:

1. you don't have Settings -> Advanced -> Engine -> Use ARGB on
2. you have the dropshadow module loaded.
3. Something wrong with the theme?

Also, it seems like that bar is on teh desktop and not on top of the dialog window you have opened. That shouldn't be happening too, since engage now has only two stacking options: Above all, and Below Fullscreen. So, it shouldn't be drawing something below the windows.


#2 is the winner
unloaded dropshadow, issue went away - cheers for that.

#1 - already have 'use ARGB' turned on
#3 - it's whatever ole default theme comes with enlightenment, plus wallpaper

A bit strange still, really, I just need to dive deeper into this, shit tonnes of options to play with, been too busy (and too happy overall) to bother scratching the surface.
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mardok45
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 63
Location: Right behind you

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ppurka wrote:
I don't think it is fully implemented yet:
http://marc.info/?l=enlightenment-devel&m=130528966611095&w=2

Do you happen to know of a temporary workaround?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3181

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mardok45 wrote:
ppurka wrote:
I don't think it is fully implemented yet:
http://marc.info/?l=enlightenment-devel&m=130528966611095&w=2

Do you happen to know of a temporary workaround?
Assign xbacklight commands to Key bindings (using key binding dialog)?
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mardok45
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 63
Location: Right behind you

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ppurka wrote:
Mardok45 wrote:
ppurka wrote:
I don't think it is fully implemented yet:
http://marc.info/?l=enlightenment-devel&m=130528966611095&w=2

Do you happen to know of a temporary workaround?
Assign xbacklight commands to Key bindings (using key binding dialog)?

:lol:

Didn't notice the custom launch command in that monstrous list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3181

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mardok45 wrote:
ppurka wrote:
Mardok45 wrote:
ppurka wrote:
I don't think it is fully implemented yet:
http://marc.info/?l=enlightenment-devel&m=130528966611095&w=2

Do you happen to know of a temporary workaround?
Assign xbacklight commands to Key bindings (using key binding dialog)?

:lol:

Didn't notice the custom launch command in that monstrous list.
You can navigate that list by clicking inside the list and typing to jump to some place. See the vids in my sig :)
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sculpur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jun 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:25 am    Post subject: E17 freeze at first-time setup Reply with quote

Hello,
I have a really stupid problem with e17. I just recently installed Gentoo and decided to use e17 for desktop. So I got SLiM, I got e17 from svn (that's how I am used to getting it so I decided I won't emerge it) and now when I boot and I log in with slim, after e17 starts, it freezes during the initial setup prompt! Right after I choose language and click next, it freezes. Checked x server logs and it doesn't seem to be the problem.
Is there some e17 log I can check? Or maybe someone got some idea what's wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3181

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try to look at /var/log/slim.log. Also, try with a fresh ~/.e directory. Try to use e17 through emerge. It is safer and less prone to errors. Finally, try to post at the E17 is coming thread instead of creating separate threads.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7219
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Merged previous two posts.
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sculpur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jun 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you ppurka, deleting .e/ did the job. Had no idea the default generated one during the install could be faulty.
And sorry, thought this thread is about release info or something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tjekke dine lommer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2011
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Amokbunny wrote:
I'm using a hal-free system here, but for these reasons always had the hal USE flag enabled for e_dbus. Since some recent update, portage forces (-hal) on e_dbus, so no ehal module is built. In principle fine, I couldn't care less, but i.E. the e_places module still depends on ehal. Any ideas how to work around that, or just sit and wait for the updated modules?


Is there any way to circumvent that and why would portage force that kind of stupid behavior? just interested.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14  Next
Page 1 of 14

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum