Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] emerge --depclean
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JohnBlbec
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ferreirafm wrote:
Hi JohnBlbec,
I thought that you were stucked with openoffice and still had a list of python-updates to emerge. That way you could skip openoffice a keep emerging the other python-updates.
Weird, I don't understand why you can't be able to emerge openoffice. If you need to use it right now, emerge openoffice-bin instead.
G'Luck


no every other package is up to date only openoffice is not able to rebuild against to python-2.7 so i have returned back to use python-2.6, executed python-update again so my system is ok but it uses python-2.6 and when a try to run emerge --depclean it wants to remove python-2.6 ;-)

I do not understand too why openoffice is not able to rebuild - see a link to bugzilla i have added somewhere above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghrueff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Etal: thank-you this helped me out tremendously

Quote:
Try running "eselect python" and set it to version 2.7. You also probably forgot to run python-updater.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Etal
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 1640

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JohnBlbec wrote:
I do not understand too why openoffice is not able to rebuild - see a link to bugzilla i have added somewhere above.

You might want to try upgrade to libreoffice instead :wink:

ghrueff wrote:
Etal: thank-you this helped me out tremendously

Quote:
Try running "eselect python" and set it to version 2.7. You also probably forgot to run python-updater.


You're welcome :)
_________________
“And even in authoritarian countries, information networks are helping people discover new facts and making governments more accountable.”– Hillary Clinton, Jan. 21, 2010
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnBlbec
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Etal wrote:
JohnBlbec wrote:
I do not understand too why openoffice is not able to rebuild - see a link to bugzilla i have added somewhere above.

You might want to try upgrade to libreoffice instead :wink:


I am thinking about it but libreoffice has the same bug - not able to compile against python-2.7 (source is the same link to bugzilla I have mentioned).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Etal
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 1640

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No it doesn't :P

Quote:
Comment 8 Andreas Proschofsky 2011-02-17 05:26:23 EST

Builds fine here with the patch, also the browser plugin is functional, so
applied to libreoffice 3.3.0 and 3.3.1rc1. Thanks to Neil for the fix, great
work!

Leaving the bug open as OOo is still broken, one more good reason to move to
LibreOffice ;-)


But just in case, you can run "quickpkg openoffice", so that if it doesn't work, you can restore openoffice with "emerge -aK openoffice"
_________________
“And even in authoritarian countries, information networks are helping people discover new facts and making governments more accountable.”– Hillary Clinton, Jan. 21, 2010
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
urcindalo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 553
Location: Almeria, Spain

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JohnBlbec wrote:
I am thinking about it but libreoffice has the same bug - not able to compile against python-2.7 (source is the same link to bugzilla I have mentioned).


That's strange. I just finished the move to python 2.7 on three boxes without a problem, and I use libreoffice. In fact, I had libreoffice installed with python 2.6, so before moving to 2.7. It re-emerged perfectly.

Why don't you un-emerge openoffice, run --depclean to remove its dependencies, update to python 2.7 (following all the necessary steps), un-emerge python 2.6 (or --depclean again), and then emerge libreoffice from scratch? May some of the already-installed dependencies is not in a good shape :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnBlbec
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

urcindalo wrote:
JohnBlbec wrote:
I am thinking about it but libreoffice has the same bug - not able to compile against python-2.7 (source is the same link to bugzilla I have mentioned).


That's strange. I just finished the move to python 2.7 on three boxes without a problem, and I use libreoffice. In fact, I had libreoffice installed with python 2.6, so before moving to 2.7. It re-emerged perfectly.

Why don't you un-emerge openoffice, run --depclean to remove its dependencies, update to python 2.7 (following all the necessary steps), un-emerge python 2.6 (or --depclean again), and then emerge libreoffice from scratch? May some of the already-installed dependencies is not in a good shape :?


it sounds good, i will try it today later :-)

[edited]
well done ;-)
a summary for beginners with the same problem/hesitating is follow:

1) uninstall openoffice to avoid a dependency to python-2.6
2) emerge --depclean ... yes i was risky and now i am glad i had a courage to do it (some packages has been manually added to the world using emerge --noreplace)
3) set python-2.7 as a default
4) execute python-updater
5) revdep-rebuild
6) emerge libreoffice ... i was surprised a compilation requires close to 8GB /var/tmp !
7) revdep-rebuild again to be sure everything is ok

it seems all work great.

(just one comment: i have clicked to "i" icon in libreoffice main dialog and it uses something from kde - i must say i do not like hardcoded things. how is it possible libreoffice developers think everybody will use kde? exactly error is "/usr/lib64/libreoffice/program/../basis-link/program/kde-open-url: line 7: kfmclient: command not found". i am using fluxbox...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ferreirafm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 456
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JohnBlbec wrote:
(just one comment: i have clicked to "i" icon in libreoffice main dialog and it uses something from kde - i must say i do not like hardcoded things. how is it possible libreoffice developers think everybody will use kde? exactly error is "/usr/lib64/libreoffice/program/../basis-link/program/kde-open-url: line 7: kfmclient: command not found". i am using fluxbox...)

Hi JohnBlbec,
You may have emerged the openoffice package setting the kde USE flag.
Ckeck this with:
Code:
equery uses openoffice

If so, remove kde from you make.conf USE list and rebuild the openoffice afterwards.
G'Luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnBlbec
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ferreirafm wrote:
JohnBlbec wrote:
(just one comment: i have clicked to "i" icon in libreoffice main dialog and it uses something from kde - i must say i do not like hardcoded things. how is it possible libreoffice developers think everybody will use kde? exactly error is "/usr/lib64/libreoffice/program/../basis-link/program/kde-open-url: line 7: kfmclient: command not found". i am using fluxbox...)

Hi JohnBlbec,
You may have emerged the openoffice package setting the kde USE flag.
Ckeck this with:
Code:
equery uses openoffice

If so, remove kde from you make.conf USE list and rebuild the openoffice afterwards.
G'Luck


hi. i do not use "kde" in my USE flag and my libreoffice has -kde flag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ferreirafm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 456
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You just full upgraded. Nerver mind kde.
All the Best
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnBlbec
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ferreirafm wrote:
You just full upgraded. Nerver mind kde.
All the Best


exactly and the libreoffice issue is an detail only - but a bug. thanks for your assistance :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7219
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Duplicate Threads, please see Python 2.7 upgrade?
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum