Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HELP] how to upgrade gentoo from x86 to amd64?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
figofuture
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Location: china

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 4:06 am    Post subject: [HELP] how to upgrade gentoo from x86 to amd64? Reply with quote

Does anybody know how to upgrade current x86 system to amd64 directly? no need any live cd's help? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wswartzendruber
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 1217
Location: Jefferson, USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe the general consensus is that reinstalling the whole system takes less work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devilheart
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Posts: 777
Location: san leonardo del friuli

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It won't work. Too much work, unless you are willing to get really dirty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chiefbag
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2010
Posts: 440
Location: The Kingdom of Kerry

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It can't be done.
_________________
A place for useful technical information
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terminou
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 154
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and you MUST use a liveCD 64 bit when chrooting :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31365
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

figofuture,

Updating from a 32 bit to a 64 bit install is a very long drawn out process. I've seen it documented on these forums once.
The main problems are that you need a 64 bit kernel to get booted to build yourself a 64 bit toolchain in some other location than /

This means you need to use a cross compiler to build the toolchain, the kernel and a few other essential binaries.
Its like a stage1 install only worse.

Further, the on disk layout of 64 bit installs differ. There is both /lib and /lib64.

The only reason for going this route is for the educational experience. A new install is far faster. You can preserve your home, there's not much else you can save. if you have, or can make a spare partition, you can do a dual boot 32 bit/64 bit install and migrate from one to the other. Then destroy the 32 bit install when you no longer need it.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cyker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1438

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The misconception with AMD64 is that it's just a superset of x86; It isn't - It is a completely different platform that happens to be able to run x86 instructions.

Trying to upgrade from x86 to AMD64 is more akin to 'upgrading' from x86 to Itanium or PPC or even Sparc! :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 7820

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
You can preserve your home, there's not much else you can save.
Significant portions of /etc/ could also be salvageable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devilheart
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Posts: 777
Location: san leonardo del friuli

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2011 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Updating from a 32 bit to a 64 bit install is a very long drawn out process. I've seen it documented on these forums once.
The main problems are that you need a 64 bit kernel to get booted to build yourself a 64 bit toolchain in some other location than /
Once I managed the switch by unpacking stage1 tarball on /, followed by a chroot&&emerge -e world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toomuch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2011 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

While I know that this requires a full reinstall, I've been wondering if it would be possible to take the world file and /home (plus possibly parts of /etc) onto a fresh root-partition with a minimal amd64-install and emerge -e from there to get a system that'd be as similar to the current x86 one as possible with minimal hassle. The point being not having to emerge and configure every single program separately afterwards. Is this feasible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 3925

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2011 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well never done it myself, and as i have 0 64bits install i might lack some infos, but for me it seems doable to just
- install glibc, gcc, bash & bin-utils tools from 64bits tinderbox binaries, and some other things i don't have in mind right now, but basic tools
- rename /lib to /lib32, create /lib64, symlink that to /lib
and kick off a 64bits livecd, once the hard part is done (having the chroot success), emerge should be able to finish the job.

I'm not sure about success, pretty sure you can keep everything (well, except the /lib, lib32, lib64 difference i don't any others), anyway an interresting experiment, of course not something to play with a server. But looks doable for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2139
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd like to experiment on this someday.
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum