Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] triple display config. twinview, xinerama, xrandr
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
musasabi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 137
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 6:02 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] triple display config. twinview, xinerama, xrandr Reply with quote

so, i am tangling with triple display stuff. when i first started (a month ago or so), i found this article:

http://superuser.com/questions/55845/triple-3-monitors-under-linux

are we still this broken? from what i can tell, we are. i tried using the nvidia config tool, and got all three working as either "one" xinerama or one twinview and one separate x screen. also, three separate x screens works fine.

my question is: what am i supposed to do to get one big desktop across three (identical) monitors that respects monitor boundaries in maximization? that's all i want. haha. i tried following this guide to set up xrandr:

http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Xorg_RandR_1.2

but when i run xrandr -q, i get this:

Code:
blackbox ~ # xrandr -q
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 175, current 1440 x 900, maximum 1440 x 900
default connected 1440x900+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1440x900       50.0*
   1152x864       51.0 
   1152x720       52.0 
   1024x768       53.0     54.0     55.0     56.0     57.0     58.0 
   ...
   320x175       107.0


now, all three monitors are connected and powered on. if i go in and let the nvidia utility write me a new config file, i get twinview on two monitors by default. so... why isn't xrandr detecting everyone?

following the thinkwiki guide, i tried to create an xorg.conf that played along, but i cant quite figure it out:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "1"
   InputDevice    "Mouse" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load  "glx"
   Load  "extmod"
   Load  "record"
   Load  "dbe"
   Disable "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard"
   Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "HP"
   ModelName    "w1907"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "Monitor1"
        VendorName   "HP"
        ModelName    "w1907"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "Monitor2"
        VendorName   "HP"
        ModelName    "w1907"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "nvidia"
   BusID       "PCI:4:0:0"
   Option "Display0" "Monitor0"
   Option "Display1" "Monitor1"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Card1"
        Driver      "nvidia"
        BusID       "PCI:5:0:0"
   Option "Display2" "Monitor2"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
#      Virtual 4320 900
   EndSubSection
EndSection


what's the deal? and, more importantly, is what i want to do even possible?


Last edited by musasabi on Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Knute
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 362
Location: Fargo, ND

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have 2 cards, so, it would stand to reason that, you would need 2 Screen sections.

Also, you may need to define the Virtual option, but I'm not sure.

HTH
_________________
Knute
----------
The human race has one really effective weapon, and that is laughter.
-- Mark Twain

If you want proof of that, take a look at windows sometime. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musasabi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 137
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the guide i posted above (which is the one X's website links to as the guide for setting up xrandr) says "omit dual Device/Screen/Monitor sections". i realize i've got multiple monitor and device sections already, but... yeah.

half the reason i made this post is because xrandr's documentation is... incomplete, at best, in so far as i can tell. so, i can slap in an extra screen section, but the real question is where is xrandr getting the name "default" from? how do i change that? and, again, is what i'm going after even possible?

i'll throw another screen section in, though, don't worry. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Knute
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 362
Location: Fargo, ND

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What happens if you open nvidia-settings from a terminal as root?

Does all 3 monitors show up?

Can you configure them the way that you want? If so, then if you save to Xconfig, and then merge the changes, do they work when you go back into X?
_________________
Knute
----------
The human race has one really effective weapon, and that is laughter.
-- Mark Twain

If you want proof of that, take a look at windows sometime. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musasabi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 137
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, that's actually what i wound up doing. it would've worked from the start, but i forgot to compile metacity with the xinerama useflag. =)

for posterity, here's the working xorg.conf:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "1"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 1440 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
    Screen      2  "Screen2" RightOf "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Mouse" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard" "CoreKeyboard"
    Option         "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "glx"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "record"
    Load           "dbe"
    Disable        "dri"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "Xinerama"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Keyboard"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Mouse"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "HP w1907"
    HorizSync       24.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "HP w1907"
    HorizSync       24.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor2"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "HP w1907"
    HorizSync       24.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 460"
    BusID          "PCI:4:0:0"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device2"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 460"
    BusID          "PCI:4:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 460"
    BusID          "PCI:5:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen2"
    Device         "Device2"
    Monitor        "Monitor2"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-2: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum