Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Regarding emerge and ebuild
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shadab
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:38 am    Post subject: Regarding emerge and ebuild Reply with quote

Hi I am running Gentoo "livedvd-x86-amd64-32ul-10.1" on VM ware. Now i have some problems.
I am new to this gentoo. so
I don't know how to install any software or package on this gentoo.

& I can't find "emerge" command on my system. whenever i type command related to emerge it try's to access the net.
But it is unable to do that.
tell me from where to download "emerge package" so that "emerge" command runs. tell me how to install that package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7219
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Split from emerge world -- skipping over dependencies in package.mask.

Welcome to Gentoo Shadab!

If emerge is trying to access the net then it is installed correctly, but there is a problem with your network set up.

Are you trying to install Gentoo on the VM or is it already installed?

Can you post the output from when you try to emerge something?
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shadab
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply Reply with quote

This is my Output after passing any command related to emerge..

============================================
#emerge --sync


Performing Global Updates: /usr/portage/profiles/updates/1Q-2009
(Could take a couple of minutes if you have a lot of binary packages.)
.='update pass' *='binary update' #='/var/db update' @='/var/db move'
s='/var/db SLOT move' %='binary move' S='binary SLOT move'
p='update /etc/portage/package.*'
..............


Performing Global Updates: /usr/portage/profiles/updates/2Q-2009
(Could take a couple of minutes if you have a lot of binary packages.)
.='update pass' *='binary update' #='/var/db update' @='/var/db move'
s='/var/db SLOT move' %='binary move' S='binary SLOT move'
p='update /etc/portage/package.*'
.....................................................................................


Performing Global Updates: /usr/portage/profiles/updates/3Q-2009
(Could take a couple of minutes if you have a lot of binary packages.)
.='update pass' *='binary update' #='/var/db update' @='/var/db move'
s='/var/db SLOT move' %='binary move' S='binary SLOT move'
p='update /etc/portage/package.*'
...............................................
!!! Failed to open file: '/mnt/livecd/usr/livecd/db/pkg/app-crypt/gnupg-2.0.11/RDEPEND.29613'
!!! [Errno 30] Read-only file system: '/mnt/livecd/usr/livecd/db/pkg/app-crypt/gnupg-2.0.11/RDEPEND.29613'
Exception AttributeError: "'atomic_ofstream' object has no attribute '_file'" in ignored
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 40, in <module>
retval = _emerge.emerge_main()
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/__init__.py", line 15469, in emerge_main
if portage._global_updates(trees, mtimedb["updates"]):
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage/__init__.py", line 8123, in _global_updates
vardb.update_ents(myupd, onUpdate=onUpdate)
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage/dbapi/__init__.py", line 233, in update_ents
aux_update(cpv, metadata_updates)
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage/dbapi/vartree.py", line 572, in aux_update
mylink.setfile(k, v)
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage/dbapi/vartree.py", line 2919, in setfile
write_atomic(os.path.join(self.dbdir, fname), data)
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage/util.py", line 1015, in write_atomic
raise ReadOnlyFileSystem(func_call)
ReadOnlyFileSystem: write_atomic('/var/db/pkg/app-crypt/gnupg-2.0.11/RDEPEND')
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I installed gentoo on VM ware already. yes i know that there is problem with network but how to configure it..

or tell me the procedure for directly installing gentoo on machine....ok
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7219
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like you trying to run Gentoo directly from the DVD but that won't work as it's read-only. You need to look at the installation handbook to install Gentoo onto the VM.
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shadab
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:42 am    Post subject: gentoo installation Reply with quote

yes i was trying to run gentoo directly ,
then tell me how to install this on gentoo.........


I am not getting full idea of gentoo instalation from gentoo handbook...............
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7219
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Networking & Security to Installing Gentoo as it is now clear this is an installation problem rather than a networking problem.

To install Gentoo you need to follow the steps in the handbook, if you get stuck you should post back here saying what step you're having problems with and someone will be able to help.
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
disi
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 1354
Location: Out There ...

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:29 am    Post subject: Re: gentoo installation Reply with quote

Shadab wrote:
yes i was trying to run gentoo directly ,
then tell me how to install this on gentoo.........


I am not getting full idea of gentoo instalation from gentoo handbook...............


I think the important thing to know: emerge is not an OS installer but a stack of scripts that let's you build and install applications from source code.

Steps in short:
prepare the harddrive
extract the stage3 tarball
chroot
prepare the kernel and bootloader
install needed packages and configure the password
_________________
Gentoo on Uptime Project - Larry is a cow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shadab
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ya thanx i started reading the handbook i am getting very much from it.........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1686

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need four things to start installing Gentoo - the instructions, a stage 3 tar file, a portage
snapshot (another tar file), and some way of booting Linux (a system rescue CD, a Gentoo
DVD, another Linux distribution).

Once you've got those things available, it's really just a matter of following the instructions,
which should get you a system that boots to a shell prompt. Then establish a network
connection, and build a complete system.

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shadab
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i got the error of chroot when running ths command.

#chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash

and the ERROR was
chroot:failed to run command `/bin/bash' : Exec format error


and i used rescuecd but after installing this cd i am getting the same ERROR
as above defined.......


plz suggest me some another solution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shadab
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i did all that you CWR

i am getting the same error of emerge it is trying to access yhe net but can't download anything.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 2477

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just out of curiosity, it appears that you're trying to chroot into an amd64 stage3. Are you sure that your booted rescueCD is 64-bit? I've never tried this particular combination myself, but that looks like the kind of error I'd expect when trying to run a 64-bit executable from a 32-bit system.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7219
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It definitely looks like a mismatch between architecture of the rescue CD and your system. Please let us know what version of the live/rescue CD you are using and also the output of the following command:

Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo

_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum