Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
XFCE4 Consolekit-DBus-HAL-Polkit-UDisk Woes! [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SiRuS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 45
Location: California,USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 10:58 pm    Post subject: XFCE4 Consolekit-DBus-HAL-Polkit-UDisk Woes! [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I just installed a fresh copy of XFCE4 from the xfce4-dev overlay. Everything works beautifully except all my user's permission to automount, shutdown, restart, etc.

This is the frustrating output when I try to automount a USB drive in Thunar:
Code:

Not Authorized


Also the restart and shutdown buttons are greyed out in the Logout menu.

Here are my enabled use flags for:
Code:

sys-apps/hal-0.5.14-r2
X acpi apm consolekit crypt disk-partition kernel_linux

sys-auth/consolekit-0.4.1
pam policykit


dbus, consolekit, and hal are all in the default runlevel and my user is in the plugdev group!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-SiRuS


Last edited by SiRuS on Fri Sep 24, 2010 7:03 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2508
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to create a file in /etc/polkit-1/ somewhere that tells it you're authorised to mount drives.

That's about as far as I can help, as this ****-kit stuff is about as well-documented as bluez. If you want your OS to actually work in this new world order you basically have to use Fedora or Ubuntu which have it all magically pre-configured with guh-nome. I don't think that was accidental.
_________________
runit-init howto | Overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2133
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:43 pm    Post subject: Re: XFCE4 Consolekit-DBus-HAL-Polkit-UDisk Woes! Reply with quote

SiRuS wrote:
I just installed a fresh copy of XFCE4 from the xfce4-dev overlay.


The overlay is completely unmaintained. It's basically passing random flags to ./configure, random USE flags that do or don't do anything, ...
This "problem" is fixed in p.masked version at Portage, it's almost same as -9999.

Heck, the p.masked or git version doesn't even support HAL anymore, it's all based on UDEV now.

So your solution is to stop using and uninstalling any packages from the overlay asap, switch to p.masked versions in Portage and you'll end up with HAL-free Xfce4 desktop doing all the consolekit stuff for you at startup by magic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2508
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ssuominen: is it really as hard as I'm making it sound to get all that stuff working, or am I talking out of my ass above? I'll take back that post if I'm wrong ;)
_________________
runit-init howto | Overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2133
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant_P wrote:
@ssuominen: is it really as hard as I'm making it sound to get all that stuff working, or am I talking out of my ass above? I'll take back that post if I'm wrong ;)


I've explicitely patched xinitrc of xfce-utils for version 4.7.0 in Portage to do all the consolekit and dbus launching magic. It's a patch from upstream Xfce4 bug.

I launch my X with:

~/.xinitrc in home directory containing:

exec startxfce4

and nothing else, then "startx"

and it just works(tm) where "it" is xfce4-power-manager hibernate/suspend/etc. and thunar-1.1.2 with USE udev and thunar-volman-0.5.1 automounting/etc.

I guess I should mention that /etc/init.d/consolekit is running, and I'm in the plugdev group. HAL is not installed at all.

And related topic is here: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-836949-highlight-xfce4powermanager.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SiRuS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 45
Location: California,USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ssuominen: Thank you so much. This was the exact info I was looking for. I will install the masked xfce4 packages from portage tonight and post an update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SiRuS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 45
Location: California,USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ssuominen: Completely reinstalled XFCE4 from the mainline portage. Everything works great including automounting and logging out of my session.

One interesting thing I noticed was after installing the xfce-base/xfdesktop-4.7.0 the xfce4 menu would not load. So I reverted back to version 4.6.2 which has the XFCE_PLUGINS="menu" in its compile options. After that the menu worked great. There are some duplicate entries in it but other than that it's fully functional. Any thoughts on this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2133
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SiRuS wrote:
@ssuominen: Completely reinstalled XFCE4 from the mainline portage. Everything works great including automounting and logging out of my session.

One interesting thing I noticed was after installing the xfce-base/xfdesktop-4.7.0 the xfce4 menu would not load. So I reverted back to version 4.6.2 which has the XFCE_PLUGINS="menu" in its compile options. After that the menu worked great. There are some duplicate entries in it but other than that it's fully functional. Any thoughts on this?


Yep, xfdesktop-4.7.0 is also with empty KEYWORDS="" for a reason, the menu files are moved to new xfce-base/garcon, and it isn't released yet.
The problem will go away with next xfce-base/garcon release, 0.1.2, very soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SiRuS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 45
Location: California,USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking forward to testing it out. Thanks for all the help, XFCE4 is running great and I know it will just get smoother with more releases :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Peach
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 3680
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just saw this thread and I'm really curious about it:

just upgraded to masked xfce4.8_pre and I found problems with automounting via thunar:
my user is in the plugdev group, I've kindly removed hal from my system and updated the whole world without that flag.
I'm still receiving "Not Authorized" when clicking on the usb device icon to mount it.

I've got console-kit already running:
Code:
# /etc/init.d/consolekit status
 * status: stopped
# ps ax | grep console-kit
23677 ?        Sl     0:00 /usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon
26701 pts/2    S+     0:00 grep --colour=auto console-kit

as you can see it's already running, and I wonder if I should add it to the default runlevel to make automounting work as expected, or if there's some other magic I need to perform here.

[edit] typos corrected
_________________
Gentoo user since 2004.
"It's all fun and games, until someone loses an eye" - mom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5652

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This thread is barely relevant.
plugdev mattered only for hal.
Does ck-list-sessions list your session as active ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sergey.T
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Peach wrote:
or if there's some other magic I need to perform here.


If you use xdm/gdm to login make sure that gdm is emerged with consolekit flag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Peach
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 3680
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
This thread is barely relevant.
plugdev mattered only for hal.
Does ck-list-sessions list your session as active ?


nope
Code:
$ ck-list-sessions
$


I'm using Slim atm, anything I should do to change it? if there's anything wrong probably it's in the /etc/X11/Sessions/Xfce4 , wouldn't it?
_________________
Gentoo user since 2004.
"It's all fun and games, until someone loses an eye" - mom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5652

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think there were already threads about problems between slim and consolekit.
Though most of those were about slim session not marked as local (so inactive), instead of plain non existent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7219
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Desktop Environments to Duplicate Threads, please see Tips, and tricks for ConsoleKit/PolicyKit/udev, without hal.
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum