Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mesa and gallium
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so after looking at lspci -k and configuring my Gentoo kernel to have some additional modules, there was no difference.

These are the extra things that got loaded -

agpgart 26268 2 ttm,drm -- I dont have an AGP slot in my lap... so this should have been a possible feature of the chipset.
i2c_algo_bit 4823 1 radeon -- I have radeon built into the kernel.
shpchp 28659 0 -- PCI hotplugging, I dont have any additional PCI slots...
pci_hotplug 11274 1 shpchp


More kernel configs?
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No possible magical switch in the kernel?
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Opensuse is giving 510 fps.
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hirakendu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 386
Location: san diego

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just out of curiosity, not sure it may help, but can you try my precompiled kernel from here. Get this tgz fille and extract it to / (has the kernel file vmlinuz-2.6.36-helium0 in boot/ and modules in lib/modules/2.6.36-helium0/).

As a possible sidenote, are you missing some firmware support inside the kernel? (There should be some radeon related firmware bin files installed by the kernel in /lib/firmware/radeon/, e.g., /lib/firmware/radeon/RS600_cp.bin etc.)
_________________
Helium Sources || Gentoo Minimal Livecd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Generic kernels always work (I've tried Sabayon's). Trying the firmware guess... Thanks for the advice.
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I enabled KMS and most importantly -- Enabled building of firmware that too within the kernel. Your idea worked.

Then I selected the gallium drivers and got ~350 fps.

However there's a major issue, the system at times hangs for a while all of sudden (or actually after doing something visually challenging like lots of images in a web page and videos).
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Increasing the video memory solved the problem. But X becomes comparatively sluggish with KMS enabled... so I have to disable it.

This, however, does not happen with openSUSE.
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've happend to leave Gentoo for a while to test Debian, here I installed the linux-firmware, linux-firmware-nonfree package to get the FPS rates to a stragging ~900 FPS, bumped more than twice!

We have a similar package in Gentoo (but unforutnately I dont have it installed now, I'll be back in a month or 2).

What's it's function?
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's the function of the firmware package?

It gets loaded onto your graphics card and provides an API for the drivers to use. Without firmware, you have no acceleration of any kind. 300 fps on gears is what you'd expect from purely unaccelerated software rendering.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Userspace firmware?
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is executed by your graphics card, not your CPU. It's a type of BIOS, not a Linux process. The drivers just load it onto the card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I assume the in build size of the non-volatile memory is too small accommodate this firmware, as a results it's in userspace?
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Err...
It's not in userspace. Read again: "The drivers just load it onto the card."

Also... if you're using glxgears, all your test are pretty much completely meaningless. Use something real, like a timedemo of Quake4 or something similar, or an Unigine demo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dE_logics wrote:
So I assume the in build size of the non-volatile memory is too small accommodate this firmware, as a results it's in userspace?

The firmware does not run on your CPU, neither in user space nor in kernel space. The kernel simply loads it onto the card, all of it.

The reason why it is external and loaded on demand instead of burned into ROM is so you don't have to buy a new graphics card every time they fix a BIOS bug.

The issue of closed-source firmware is a different topic, albeit also an important one. Unfortunately, most firmware is not open at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did installed the firmware, selected gallium using mesa module of eselect, and xserver segfaults.

I have to quit gallium in order to use X.
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, a few improvements. Enabling KMS does make X start, but I get a blank window during glxgears + the UI is VERY sluggish and buggy.
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pingufunkybeat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gallium infrastructure requires KMS, it won't work without it.

Then we can debug from there. A good start is always:

dmesg |grep drm
cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log |grep EE
glxinfo |grep enGL
xorg.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
de@OLD_BROKEN_LAP ~ $ dmesg |grep drm
[drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
[drm] radeon defaulting to kernel modesetting.
[drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
[drm] initializing kernel modesetting (RS690 0x1002:0x791F).
[drm] register mmio base: 0xFE9F0000
[drm] register mmio size: 65536
[drm] radeon: irq initialized.
[drm] Detected VRAM RAM=96M, BAR=128M
[drm] RAM width 128bits DDR
[drm] radeon: 96M of VRAM memory ready
[drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
[drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072
[drm] radeon: 1 quad pipes, 1 z pipes initialized.
[drm] Loading RS690/RS740 Microcode
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000040000000
[drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs
[drm] radeon: ib pool ready.
[drm] ib test succeeded in 0 usecs
[drm] Enabling audio support
[drm] Radeon Display Connectors
[drm] Connector 0:
[drm]   VGA
[drm]   DDC: 0x7e50 0x7e40 0x7e54 0x7e44 0x7e58 0x7e48 0x7e5c 0x7e4c
[drm]   Encoders:
[drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
[drm] Connector 1:
[drm]   LVDS
[drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e50 0x7e44 0x7e54 0x7e48 0x7e58 0x7e4c 0x7e5c
[drm]   Encoders:
[drm]     LCD1: INTERNAL_LVTM1
[drm] Connector 2:
[drm]   S-video
[drm]   Encoders:
[drm]     TV1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
[drm] Connector 3:
[drm]   DVI-D
[drm]   HPD2
[drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e60 0x7e44 0x7e64 0x7e48 0x7e68 0x7e4c 0x7e6c
[drm]   Encoders:
[drm]     DFP2: INTERNAL_DDI
[drm] radeon: power management initialized
[drm] fb mappable at 0xF0040000
[drm] vram apper at 0xF0000000
[drm] size 4096000
[drm] fb depth is 24
[drm]    pitch is 5120
fbcon: radeondrmfb (fb0) is primary device
fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
drm: registered panic notifier
[drm] Initialized radeon 2.6.0 20080528 for 0000:01:05.0 on minor 0

de@OLD_BROKEN_LAP ~ $ cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log |grep EE
[    33.056] Current Operating System: Linux OLD_BROKEN_LAP 2.6.36-zen1 #12 ZEN SMP PREEMPT Sat Dec 25 11:27:07 IST 2010 x86_64
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
[    33.265] (II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
[    33.437] (EE) module ABI major version (7) doesn't match the server's version (9)
[    33.437] (EE) Failed to load module "vesa" (module requirement mismatch, 0)


de@OLD_BROKEN_LAP ~ $ glxinfo |grep enGL
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org R300 Project
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RS690
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.10-devel
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
OpenGL extensions:


xorg.conf is not there.

I'm using mesa and xserver 9999
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4924

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you by any chance enabled fb in the kernel?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, for the splash. Vesa

Code:
Symbol: FB_VESA [=y]


Unfortunately we don't have the 9999 version in the overlays for ABI change.
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dE_logics wrote:
Yes, for the splash. Vesa

Get rid of it. KMS provides it's own framebuffer driver. And get rid of any vga= from your grub config.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Done that but no go.
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1667
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Enabling a framebuffer driver like vesafb, uvesafb, ... in the kernel will only lead to problems.glxgears is useless as a benchmark. Its fps are not indicative of anything.

For r300g, enabling USE="llvm" can increase 3D performance considerably.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
Enabling a framebuffer driver like vesafb, uvesafb, ... in the kernel will only lead to problems.glxgears is useless as a benchmark. Its fps are not indicative of anything.

For r300g, enabling USE="llvm" can increase 3D performance considerably.


Apparently problem with glxgears is that it's blank... first lets get something to be seen in glxgears windows, then we'll talk performance.

And yes, I've enabled llvm.
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dE_logics
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 2175
Location: $TERM

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get exactly the same fps (as in Debian) with the Debian kernel and modules.

What could be there in the Debian kernel....?
_________________
Buy from companies supporting opensource -- IBM, Dell, HP, Hitachi, Google etc...
Disfavor companies supporting only Win -- Logitech, Epson, Adobe, Autodesk, Pioneer, Kingston, WD, Yahoo, MSI, XFX
My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum