Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
openrc problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mljive
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:44 pm    Post subject: openrc problem Reply with quote

I have just emerged openrc-0.6.5. The system boots fine, but after a couple of minutes the load goes up and the machine becomes unresponsive (although I can still see gkrell or top). Reverting back to openrc-0.6.4 doesn't help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, can you run htop for a while and when it happens, double check which process is eating your box.
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattst88
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 363

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:35 am    Post subject: Re: openrc problem Reply with quote

mljive wrote:
I have just emerged openrc-0.6.5. The system boots fine, but after a couple of minutes the load goes up and the machine becomes unresponsive (although I can still see gkrell or top). Reverting back to openrc-0.6.4 doesn't help.


What from this makes you think it's a problem with OpenRC?
_________________
My 1U Dual 833 MHz Alphaserver DS20L
The AlphaLinux.org Wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mljive
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
Hi, can you run htop for a while and when it happens, double check which process is eating your box.

It just shows load increase, there are no processes that take up more than 0% CPU. It spits out two call stack traces on the console (I am not running X) with just numbers (over the htop output) and shortly after that it becomes unresponsive, whilst I can still see the load increase on the screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mljive
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:38 am    Post subject: Re: openrc problem Reply with quote

Quote:
What from this makes you think it's a problem with OpenRC?

It started happening after I did emerge world which updated a single package, openrc. Last week I updated baselayout to 2 and it worked fine until this update two days ago. Reverting back to baslayout-1 doesn't look as straightforward.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mljive
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that the problem was in converting the old module load list to /etc/conf.d/modules which was empty, so powernow-k8 was not being loaded at all (although all other modules that were in the old module load file are being hot-plugged in?) and the system was becoming overloaded after 5 or 10 minutes. I've stuck modules="powernow-k8" in /etc/conf.d/modules which seems to have done the trick.
Anyway, thanks for your suggestions, especially introducing me to htop, a great little application.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum