Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
New boxen! :)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 474
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:52 am    Post subject: New boxen! :) Reply with quote

Over the weekend I collected a Sunblade 2000 w/ dual 1.2GHz processors, 2 x 73GB FC-CAL disks and 4GB RAM, along with an old Ultra 60 w/ dual 360Mhz processors, 2 x 36GB SCSI disks and 256MB RAM.

I've now got the Sunblade 2000 up and running (took me 24 hours to figure out things), root filesystem on this box is on a RAID10, f2 layout ext4 file system. My gosh, does it really fly when emerging packages! :)

The only thing that's giving me grief is the network interfaces. This Blade has six of them, and most annoyingly, two of the interfaces seem to have to the same MAC addresses. I need to make sure they all have unique addresses, so I set it in its EEPROM:

Code:
setenv local-mac-address? true


But these two interfaces still won't use unique mac addresses.

Is there anything else I can do?

The two interfaces are the one on the Sunblade's motherboard (SunGEM gigabit ethernet) and the other is on the external fast-wide SCSI PCI card (a Happy Meal whatever that means!). Somehow they both share the same MAC address. :S Any ideas?

The other four interfaces are on the Quattro fast ethernet card and they all have unique addresses, so that's OK!
_________________
Cheers,
Alex.

Linux - the best text adventure game ever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4613
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
~ $ cat /etc/conf.d/net
mac_eth0=( "00:1d:92:e0:08:9c" )
config_eth0=( "192.168.2.1/24" )
routes_eth0=( "default via 192.168.2.254" )

I screwed up one if my boxes (x86) while flashing BIOS, somehow I erased the MAC address. Now I set it in conf as shown above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 474
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Code:
~ $ cat /etc/conf.d/net
mac_eth0=( "00:1d:92:e0:08:9c" )
config_eth0=( "192.168.2.1/24" )
routes_eth0=( "default via 192.168.2.254" )

I screwed up one if my boxes (x86) while flashing BIOS, somehow I erased the MAC address. Now I set it in conf as shown above.


I could do it in that way if udev didn't keep messing it up. Basically on bootup, I'm seeing this:

Code:

eth0-3: Quattro HME (PCI/CheerIO) 10/100baseT Ethernet unknown bridge 8086.b154
eth0: Quattro HME slot 0 (PCI/CheerIO) 10/100baseT Ethernet 00:03:ba:30:49:ef
eth1: Quattro HME slot 1 (PCI/CheerIO) 10/100baseT Ethernet 00:03:ba:30:49:f0
eth2: Quattro HME slot 2 (PCI/CheerIO) 10/100baseT Ethernet 00:03:ba:30:49:f1
eth3: Quattro HME slot 3 (PCI/CheerIO) 10/100baseT Ethernet 00:03:ba:30:49:f2
eth4: HAPPY MEAL (PCI/CheerIO) 10/100BaseT Ethernet 00:03:ba:33:96:43
eth5: Sun GEM (PCI) 10/100/1000BaseT Ethernet 00:03:ba:33:96:43
eth5: Found Generic MII PHY
eth5_rename: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full-duplex.


When it renames it like that, I can't even do anything with it as ifconfig et. al. refuses to do anything as they can't find said interface (eth5_rename).

Any ideas? I really need eth5 to be named correctly so I can "fix" its MAC address! :p
_________________
Cheers,
Alex.

Linux - the best text adventure game ever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4613
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only idea right now is to use module(s) instead of built-in drivers, this may give some leeway. What if you build eth4 driver as module for instance?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 474
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
The only idea right now is to use module(s) instead of built-in drivers, this may give some leeway. What if you build eth4 driver as module for instance?


It's moot anyway since I've decided to yank the PCI card - it's one of these combined SCSI and ethernet interface cards, SCSI is 20MB/s and I've already got a 40MB/s SCSI external port on the 'Blade anyway. It might just be a bad NVRAM on the card that makes it copy the MAC from the system.
_________________
Cheers,
Alex.

Linux - the best text adventure game ever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum