Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] CONFIG_PATA_MACIO with 2.6.33-gentoo-r2
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1204
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:50 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] CONFIG_PATA_MACIO with 2.6.33-gentoo-r2 Reply with quote

I cannot get the new CONFIG_PATA_MACIO libata driver working with 2.6.33-gentoo-r2 on the PowerBook G4.
As soon as I enable this and disable the old CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDE_PMAC the root filesystem cannot be mounted at startup. With both enabled it starts up fine.

I'm looking forward to try the new libata driver because of topic Writing CD/DVD is blocking system on PowerBook G4
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme


Last edited by Massimo B. on Thu Aug 26, 2010 1:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blob999
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 64
Location: NATO area

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you need to change your fstab too hda -> sda
_________________
LinuxPPC user!
my blog: http://linuxpowerpc.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iMike
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 208
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also in the Kernel make sure
Device Drivers --> SCSI device support --> SCSI disk support [y] and SCSI CDROM support [y]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah the libata feature change your drive from hdx to sdx automagically.
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1204
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is still missing the modified bootloader. First I only changed root= while the old kernel was running with hda naming.
I now replaced everything like hd to sd under the new kernel and ran ybin -v again.
Code:
# zgrep sd /etc/yaboot.conf
boot=/dev/sda2
device=sd:
root=/dev/sda4
macosx=/dev/sda6

I just wonder if yaboot also knows sda before the new kernel is being loaded.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1204
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That pasted yaboot.conf does not work. I get the choice between OSX or linux but after that only grey screen.
With that version I can install yaboot under an older hda-kernel and it starts up the new .33 kernel with sda:
Code:
# cat /etc/yaboot.conf |grep -v "#"

boot=/dev/hda2
device=hd:
timeout=20
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
partition=7
root=/dev/sda4
macosx=/dev/hda6

default=lan-banet

image=/boot/kernel
        label=lan-itow
        read-only
        append="video=radeonfb:1440x960-32 splash=verbose,fadein,kdgraphics,theme:livecd-2007.0 quiet fbcon=scrollback:128K CONSOLE=/dev/tty1 softlevel=lan-itow"
        initrd=/boot/fbsplash

But this yaboot.conf cannot be installed while under the .33 kernel with sda.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your yaboot.conf still mentions hd instead of sd. Yaboot doesn't actually use those paths, the open firmware versions are found by the program ofpath. If you change *all* of the hd references to sd, it should work fine again (it did on my laptop!). Note that this includes the device=hd: line.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1204
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Your yaboot.conf still mentions hd instead of sd. Yaboot doesn't actually use those paths, the open firmware versions are found by the program ofpath. If you change *all* of the hd references to sd, it should work fine again (it did on my laptop!). Note that this includes the device=hd: line.
This does not work.
I was using this yaboot.conf:
Code:
boot=/dev/sda2
device=sd:
timeout=20
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
partition=7
root=/dev/sda4
macosx=/dev/sda6
default=lan-banet

image=/boot/kernel
        label=lan-itow
        read-only
        append="video=radeonfb:1440x960-32 splash=verbose,fadein,kdgraphics,theme:livecd-2007.0 quiet fbcon=scrollback:128K CONSOLE=/dev/tty1 softlevel=lan-itow"
        initrd=/boot/fbsplash
There I replaced really every s/hd/sd but after power on I get kind of Open Firmware blue background with a "?" inside which turns into a harddisk icon, after that I get a "white screen".

I needed to boot with a livecd which uses hda. There I've used this yaboot.conf which works:
Code:
boot=/dev/hda2
device=hd:
timeout=20
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
partition=7
root=/dev/sda4
macosx=/dev/hda6
default=lan-banet

image=/boot/kernel
        label=lan-itow
        read-only
        append="video=radeonfb:1440x960-32 splash=verbose,fadein,kdgraphics,theme:livecd-2007.0 quiet fbcon=scrollback:128K CONSOLE=/dev/tty1 softlevel=lan-itow"
        initrd=/boot/fbsplash

_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1204
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
~ # zgrep sdb /var/log/everything/current
Aug 26 08:46:16 [kernel] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] 1465149168 512-byte logical blocks: (750 GB/698 GiB)
Aug 26 08:46:16 [kernel] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] Write Protect is off
Aug 26 08:46:16 [kernel] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
Aug 26 08:46:16 [kernel]  sdb: unknown partition table
Aug 26 08:46:16 [kernel] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI disk

~ # mac-fdisk -l
/dev/sda
        #                    type name                  length   base      ( size )  system
/dev/sda1     Apple_partition_map Apple                     63 @ 1         ( 31.5k)  Partition map
/dev/sda2         Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap               1600 @ 64        (800.0k)  NewWorld bootblock
/dev/sda3         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap                 2928024 @ 1664      (  1.4G)  Linux swap
/dev/sda4         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root                31457280 @ 3073664   ( 15.0G)  Linux native
/dev/sda5         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 home               269557384 @ 34530944  (128.5G)  Linux native
/dev/sda6               Apple_HFS Apple_HFS_Untitled_2   8493464 @ 304088328 (  4.0G)  HFS
/dev/sda7         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 boot                  143976 @ 2929688   ( 70.3M)  Linux native
/dev/sda8              Apple_Free Extra                     16 @ 312581792 (  8.0k)  Free space

Block size=512, Number of Blocks=312581808
DeviceType=0x0, DeviceId=0x0

~ # ofpath /dev/sda
/pci@f4000000/firewire@e/node@0001d202e0bc028c/sbp-2@c000/disk@0:

_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1204
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Together with JoseJX we found out that ofpath detects by mistake my firefire device as target.
Until JoseJX provides a bugfix I'm going to detach the firewire device for ybin.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, some more insight into why this breaks. The new MacIO driver doesn't make a /proc entry for the device, so it gets confused and just picks the first scsi device it finds. In most systems, this will be the HD, but with firewire attached, it'll pick the wrong one. I'm looking into fixing ofpath, but don't expect a quick patch. Sorry. :/
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I took some time and completely rewrote ofpath. If you could please test it out here:

http://dev.gentoo.org/~josejx/new-ofpath

Thanks!
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1204
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Curiously the current ofpath shows this:
Code:
# ofpath /dev/sda
/disk@0:
...while your new version shows this
Code:
# ./new-ofpath /dev/sda
/pci@f4000000/ata-6@d/disk@0:

Currently firefire is plugged in and shows up as /dev/sdb.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme


Last edited by Massimo B. on Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please try the unstable yaboot which includes the new ofpath.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1204
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works. Thanks.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum