Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xfce4 menu is gone [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
user124
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 8:52 am    Post subject: xfce4 menu is gone [solved] Reply with quote

i did an update to xfce 4.6.2 today and at the next restart the menu was gone.
right-click to the xfce-panel and "add item" list does not show xfce-menu in the list, right-click on the desktop shows the menu itself as the last entry.
i reemerged all xfce-base/* packages - no success
then i deleted .config and .cache - no success (all settings gone though ^^)
i emerged all xfce-extra/* packages as a last approach - no success

now i'm out of options but to revert to my last backup... but, oh well.

any ideas?

edit -----------------------------
set the XFCE_PLUGINS="brightness menu trash" variable according to http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xfce-config.xml
make sure to read every documentation on every package that will be pulled in on an emerge -Du world for changes that prevent the package from functioning like it did the last years.


Last edited by user124 on Fri Sep 03, 2010 6:09 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XavierMiller
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5435
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I have the same issue...

xfce4-popup-menu is missing, I don't see it in all the latest XFCE installed sources.

I've found a work-around : right-click on the desktop. And assign META-L with "xfdesktop -menu" (or something like so).
_________________
Xavier Miller
(FR) Merci de respecter les règles du forum.
http://www.xaviermiller.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2104
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Panel plugins are only enabled by default in the desktop profile. Otherwise you need to enable them yourself.

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xfce-config.xml

Section: 2. Installing Xfce

Read about XFCE_PLUGINS variable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gr0x0rd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks ssuominen, that was helpful... just wish I could have the last 2 hours of my life back.
_________________
~g
emerge -FML...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XavierMiller
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5435
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you !

I didn't see any elog message about that new variable. Wouldn't be nice for users to warn them about that new configuration?
_________________
Xavier Miller
(FR) Merci de respecter les règles du forum.
http://www.xaviermiller.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
user124
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

XavierMiller wrote:
Wouldn't be nice for users to warn them about that new configuration?


indeed. some eselect news warning.
in addition i really dont understand why such things are not configured in xfce4_* like use flags and ofc why you have to tell your
desktop environment to build a basic menu plugin. that thing should be *on* by default simply because most people want that plugin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2104
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why not just use "emerge -v" and reading the output?

[ebuild R ] xfce-base/xfdesktop-4.6.2 USE="branding thunar -debug" LINGUAS="-be -ca -cs -da -de -el -es -et -eu -fi -fr -he -hu -it -ja -ko -nb_NO -nl -pa -pl -pt_BR -ro -ru -sk -sv -tr -uk -vi -zh_CN -zh_TW" XFCE_PLUGINS="-menu" 0 kB

The "-menu" there should raise all the red flags needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XavierMiller
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5435
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. Definitively no.

When you have 100 packages to update (or a fresh install), emerge -pv is not the answer.
_________________
Xavier Miller
(FR) Merci de respecter les règles du forum.
http://www.xaviermiller.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
user124
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ssuominen wrote:
Why not just use "emerge -v" and reading the output?


"`Yes,' said Arthur, `yes I did. It was on display in the bottom of a locked filing cabinet stuck in a disused lavatory with a sign on the door saying "Beware of The Leopard".'" scnr :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NuLL3rr0r
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haaaaaahh!!

@ssuominen
tnx! after struggling wth it for hours and hours finally your solution worked.

there's also another thread with the same solution (I found simultaneously):
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-desktop-74/xfce4-desktop-menu-gone-from-panel-gentoo-828997/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum