Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to use Conky inside KDE 4.x
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 4:38 am    Post subject: How to use Conky inside KDE 4.x Reply with quote

Hi everyone, I had a hard time to configure my Conky with the transparent feature inside KDE 4.3.5.

So, here is my little wiki : http://gentoo-quebec.org/wiki/index.php/Guide_Conky

I hope that someone will safe precious time reading this one.

Google translator is your friend :P

This little howto will describe how to install a little tool called Conky that can monitor your Gentoo box in real time.

== Version == :

First, just to get you the best chance to have a working Conky, it's recommended to use the version 1.8.0_rc2 or higher, because this version handle the transparency inside Kde,Gnome.


Code:

# nano -w /etc/portage/package.keywords



Add this line :

Code:

>=app-admin/conky-1.8.0_rc2 ~arch


Where arch can be x86 or amd64.


== USE flags ==

With Conky, you can enable some Use flags that may give you more monitoring stuff to play.

So you can add these :

Code:

# nano -w /etc/portage/package.use}}


Code:

app-admin/conky audacious hddtemp nvidia -ipv6


Of course, if you don't use audacious and you don't have an Nvidia, please don't enable it :P

== Installation ==

I recommend that you install feh only for one reason, it's because it can be use to integrate your Conky applet directly inside your wallpaper.

Code:

# emerge app-admin/conky media-gfx/feh


I use feh because I use KDE4 and I enabled the transparency feature, so my Conky is pretty clean actually.

== Configuration ==

To have a pretty cool Conky, you need to actually code what you want.

=== Creation of the file .conkyrc ===

Code:

# touch .conkyrc


=== Configuration of the file .conkyrc ===

Code:

## Do not close Conky
total_run_times 0

## Display Conky outside of the console

out_to_consoleu no
out_to_x yes

## To relaxe the flicking
double_buffer yes

## Enable temp memory
no_buffers yes
text_buffer_size 256

## Refresh rate
update_interval 1

## Number of samples
cpu_avg_samples 4
net_avg_samples 2

## Position and size of the Conky
alignment top_right
minimum_size 320 5
maximum_width 320

## Position of the Conky from origin 0 0
gap_x 5
gap_y 5

## Enable shadow
draw_shades yes

## Enable outline
draw_outline no

## Enable shadow beside text
draw_borders no

##
border_width 1

##
border_inner_margin 4


## Enable Conky in background
background no

## Enable Conky to use its own window
own_window yes

## Type of window
own_window_type override

## Enable  transparency
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_class conky

## Enable nice police
use_xft yes
xftalpha .1
override_utf8_locale yes

##
use_spacer right

## Color
default_color 28529D
default_shade_color 000000
default_outline_color FFFFFF

color1 white
color2 black
color3 white 
TEXT
${color1}${font :style=Bold:pixelsize=20}${time %H:%M:%S}${font}${color}
${color3}${time %A %d %B %Y}

${color1}${font URW Chancery L:style=Medium Italic:pixelsize=25} Ordinateur ${color2}${hr}${font}

${color3}$sysname ${color1}$kernel ${color1}$machine

${color3}${nodename}${color1} running since ${color3}$uptime

${color1}${font URW Chancery L:style=Medium Italic:pixelsize=25} Network ${color2}${hr}${font}

${color1}Lan :${alignr}${offset -25}${color3}${addr eth0}

${color1}Wan :${alignr}${offset -33}${color3}${texeci 3600 wget http://checkip.dyndns.org -O - -o /dev/null | cut -d : -f 2 | cut -d \< -f 1}

${color3}${downspeedgraph eth0 16,115 white black}${alignr}${offset -35}${upspeedgraph eth0 16,115 white black}

${color1}${downspeed eth0}ko/s ${totaldown eth0}${alignr}${offset -5}${upspeed eth0}ko/s ${totalup eth0}

${color1}${font URW Chancery L:style=Medium Italic:pixelsize=25} Process / processor ${color2}${hr}${font}

${color1}Frequency CPU: $freq_g Ghz
${color1}Utilization Core 1: ${cpu cpu1}% ${cpubar cpu1}
${color1}Utilization Core 2: ${cpu cpu2}% ${cpubar cpu2}
${color1}Utilization Core 3: ${cpu cpu3}% ${cpubar cpu3}
${color1}Utilization Core 4: ${cpu cpu4}% ${cpubar cpu4}

${font}${color1}${alignr}${offset -32}Total : ${color3}$process   ${color1}Currently running :${color3}$running_processes

${color1}RAM :${color3} $mem/$memmax - $memperc% ${tab 70}
${color3}${membar 7,120}

${color3}Swap :${color3} $swap/$swapmax - $swapperc% ${tab 70}
${color1}${swapbar 7,120}

${color1}${font URW Chancery L:style=Medium Italic:pixelsize=25}Disk ${color2}${hr}${font}

${color1} /boot : ${fs_used /boot} / ${fs_size /boot}${alignr}${fs_used_perc /boot}%
${color3}${fs_bar 7,120 /boot}

${color1} / : ${fs_used /} / ${fs_size /}${alignr}${fs_used_perc /}%
${color3}${fs_bar 7,120 /}

${color1} /mnt/win_c : ${fs_used /mnt/win_c} / ${fs_size /mnt/win_c}${alignr}${fs_used_perc /mnt/win_c}%
${color3}${fs_bar 7,120 /mnt/win_c}

${color1} /mnt/win_d : ${fs_used /mnt/win_d} / ${fs_size /mnt/win_d}${alignr}${fs_used_perc /mnt/win_d}%
${color3}${fs_bar 7,120 /mnt/win_d}

${color1} /mnt/win_e : ${fs_used /mnt/win_e} / ${fs_size /mnt/win_e}${alignr}${fs_used_perc /mnt/win_e}%
${color3}${fs_bar 7,120 /mnt/win_e}

${color1} /mnt/pont : ${fs_used /mnt/pont} / ${fs_size /mnt/pont}${alignr}${fs_used_perc /mnt/pont}%
${color3}${fs_bar 7,120 /mnt/pont}


== Creation of a nice script ==

<div style="margin-left: 20px; margin-top: 20px; margin-bottom: 20px;">

Now that everything is done, you can adapt the script and you can also run it as you want with this little script.

Code:

$ cd ~
$ touch conky.sh
$ chmod +x conky.sh


Code:

$ nano conky.sh
#! /bin/bash
conky -&
sleep 3
feh --bg-scale `grep 'wallpaper=' ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-desktop-appletsrc | tail --bytes=+11`


The feh command is use to merge the conky frame inside your wallpaper.

Code:

$ ./conky.sh



You can see my result here : http://www.gentoo-quebec.org/index/Config_Sylvain/Conky.png

== Autostart with KDE 4 ==
Code:

$ cd ~
$ cp conky.sh ~/.kde4/Autostart
$ rm ~/conky.sh


== More info ==

You can find the programmation guide here : http://conky.sourceforge.net/


Last edited by d2_racing on Wed Mar 03, 2010 3:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sadako
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 3792
Location: sleeping in the bathtub

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Belongs in Documentation, Tips & Tricks, you silly little mod.

:P :P :P
_________________
"You have to invite me in"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nikaya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2006
Posts: 1471
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice work, d2_racing :)

My notes:
Instead of media-gfx/feh it can also be used media-gfx/qiv. It is only in testing, but there is no problem of using it. The command is
Code:
qiv --root `grep 'wallpaper=' ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-desktop-appletsrc | tail --bytes=+11`


The last code listing has the header "Fichier .conkyrc". I think it should be "Fichier .conky.sh".
_________________
Notes on Dhamma
How to waste your time: look for an explanation of consciousness, ask to know what feeling is. (Nanavira Thera)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try that solution too.

Thanks for the typo error :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Randy Andy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 1148
Location: /dev/koelsch

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you d2_racing,

for that really good Howto. Sadly it's language is french, and the google-translator is not really your friend for this case, cause it doesn't stop translating the command line part, and so it confuses the user a lot of misinterpretations.

But i get it working much better then my one year old .conky config before.

My old config confused my desktop when i zoomed out to show all the virtual desktops. It scales all of the opened windows to small, and brake only the conky window into many parts, and scattered it over half of each of the virtual desktops windows.

i tried to do a snap-shot of it, to paste it, but that doesn't worked in this zoomed view, only when getting back to the desktop.

Thank God, now it's solved, and also the flickering when conky starts has gone, cause your delay trick, and to start conky from the kde autostart.

Really great work, thanks again!

Andy.
_________________
If you want to see a Distro done right, compile it yourself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem, maybe I will translate it in English when I find the time :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Randy Andy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 1148
Location: /dev/koelsch

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for this prospect,

that would be a great help for the community (if you find the time, sometime).

Regards, Andy.
_________________
If you want to see a Distro done right, compile it yourself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I will :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The English version is now added.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Randy Andy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 1148
Location: /dev/koelsch

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi d2_racing.

I would like to say "that was very quick, and good job, and thanks a lot for your work",
but i can't find the English version, or a button to switch the language.

Can you post the link, please, or did you forget to make it reachable, or am i to stupid or blind?

Andy
_________________
If you want to see a Distro done right, compile it yourself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's directly inside this thread, actually the first post, because I cannot mix language on the wiki.

Sorry :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Randy Andy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 1148
Location: /dev/koelsch

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahhh,

so i'm blind and stupid! :lol:

i don't read the thread again from the beginning, i just used my old bookmarked link,
to watch your wiki.

Thanks again for your engagement!

Andy.
_________________
If you want to see a Distro done right, compile it yourself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got inspired as well.

http://i.imgur.com/3Fx43.png
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice, can you post your .conkyrc here :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the conkyrc file.
Notes - Install conkyForecast from here: https://bugs.gentoo.org/255948
Download conkyColors and install the fonts that are bundled in: http://gnome-look.org/content/show.php/CONKY-colors?content=92328

EDIT: Installation instructions at http://rahulthewall.wordpress.com/2010/03/08/the-perfect-conky-setup/.

And here is the .conkyrc

Code:

# Use Xft?
use_xft yes
xftfont DejaVu Sans:size=8
xftalpha 0.8
text_buffer_size 2048

# Update interval in seconds
update_interval 1

# This is the number of times Conky will update before quitting.
# Set to zero to run forever.
total_run_times 0

# Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
own_window yes
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type override
own_window_class conky
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
background no

# Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
double_buffer yes

# Minimum size of text area
minimum_size 180 0
#maximum_width 200

# Draw shades?
draw_shades no

# Draw outlines?
draw_outline no

# Draw borders around text
draw_borders no

# Stippled borders?
stippled_borders 0

# border margins
border_inner_margin 5

# border width
border_width 1

# Default colors and also border colors
default_color black
default_shade_color black
default_outline_color black
own_window_colour black
color1 black

# Text alignment, other possible values are commented
#alignment top_left
alignment top_right
#alignment bottom_left
#alignment bottom_right

# Gap between borders of screen and text
# same thing as passing -x at command line
gap_x 35
gap_y 35

# Subtract file system buffers from used memory?
no_buffers yes

# set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase
uppercase no

# number of cpu samples to average
# set to 1 to disable averaging
cpu_avg_samples 2

# number of net samples to average
# set to 1 to disable averaging
net_avg_samples 2

# Force UTF8? note that UTF8 support required XFT
override_utf8_locale yes

# Add spaces to keep things from moving about?  This only affects certain objects.
use_spacer none

TEXT
${font :style=Bold}SYSTEM${font} ${hr 2}
${alignc 17}${font Arial Black:size=16}googly${font}
${alignc}fly, you fools
${voffset 2}${font StyleBats:size=16}i${font}   Kernel:  ${alignr}${kernel}
${font StyleBats:size=16}A${font}   CPU1: ${cpu cpu1}% ${alignr}${cpubar cpu1 8,60}
${font StyleBats:size=16}A${font}   CPU2: ${cpu cpu2}% ${alignr}${cpubar cpu2 8,60}
${font StyleBats:size=16}g${font}   RAM: $memperc% ${alignr}${membar 8,60}
${font StyleBats:size=16}j${font}   SWAP: $swapperc% ${alignr}${swapbar 8,60}
${font Webdings:size=16}~${font}  Battery: ${battery_percent BAT0}% ${alignr}${battery_bar 8,60 BAT0}
${font StyleBats:size=16}q${font}   Uptime: ${alignr}${uptime}

${font :style=Bold}HD${font} ${hr 2}
${voffset 4}${font Pie charts for maps:size=14}7${font}   ${voffset -5}Root:
${voffset 4}${fs_used /}/${fs_size /} ${alignr}${fs_bar 8,60 /}
${font Pie charts for maps:size=14}7${font}   ${voffset -5}Home:
${voffset 4}${fs_used /home}/${fs_size /home} ${alignr}${fs_bar 8,60 /home}
${font Pie charts for maps:size=14}7${font}   ${voffset -5}XP:
${voffset 4}${fs_used /mnt/XP}/${fs_size /mnt/XP} ${alignr}${fs_bar 8,60 /mnt/XP}

${font :style=Bold}WIRELESS${font} ${hr 2}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}O${font}   Up: ${upspeed wlan0} ${alignr}${upspeedgraph wlan0 8,60 000000 000000}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}U${font}   Down: ${downspeed wlan0} ${alignr}${downspeedgraph wlan0 8,60 000000 000000}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}N${font}   Upload: ${alignr}${totalup wlan0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}T${font}   Download: ${alignr}${totaldown wlan0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}Z${font}   Signal: ${wireless_link_qual wlan0}% ${alignr}${wireless_link_bar 8,60 wlan0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}a${font}   Local Ip: ${alignr}${addr wlan0}

${font :style=Bold}MUSIC${font} ${hr 2}
${if_running mpd}
$mpd_smart
$mpd_album
$mpd_status $mpd_elapsed/$mpd_length
$endif

${font :style=Bold}PROCESSES${font} ${hr 2}
NAME $alignr PID    CPU
${top name 1} $alignr ${top pid 1} ${top cpu 1}
${top name 2} $alignr ${top pid 2} ${top cpu 2}
${top name 3} $alignr ${top pid 3} ${top cpu 3}
${top name 4} $alignr ${top pid 4} ${top cpu 4}
${top name 5} $alignr ${top pid 5} ${top cpu 5}
${top name 6} $alignr ${top pid 6} ${top cpu 6}

${font :style=Bold}WEATHER${font} ${hr 2}
Location: ${execi 3600 conkyForecast --location=SZXX0033 --datatype=CN}
Conditions: ${execi 3600 conkyForecast --location=SZXX0033 --datatype=CC}
${font ConkyWeather:size=36}${execi 3600 conkyForecast --location=SZXX0033 --datatype=WF}${font}
Temp: ${execi 3600 conkyForecast --location=SZXX0033 --datatype=HT}
Extended Forecast
${font ConkyWeather:size=36}${execi 3600 conkyForecast --startday=1 --endday=3 --location=SZXX0033 --datatype=WF}${font}
${execi 3600 conkyForecast --location=SZXX0033 --startday=1 --endday=3 --spaces=15 --datatype=HT}
${execi 3600 conkyForecast --location=SZXX0033 --startday=1 --endday=3 --spaces=5 --datatype=DW}

_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Art Vandalay
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 335
Location: Melbourne - VIC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:11 pm    Post subject: Re: How to use Conky inside KDE 4.x Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:


Code:


$ nano conky.sh
#! /bin/bash
conky -&
sleep 3
[b]feh --bg-scale `grep 'wallpaper=' ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-desktop-appletsrc | tail --bytes=+11`[/b]


The feh command is use to merge the conky frame inside your wallpaper.



i used this tutorial on my old computer and it worked flawlessly.

but on my new system i can't get feh to work properly....it is driving me mad.

i am using kde 4.4.3 and have my desktop wallpaper set to use images in desktop activity settings.

on my new system, when i run feh i get this:

Code:

$ feh --bg-scale `grep 'wallpaper=' ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-desktop-appletsrc | tail --bytes=+11`
feh WARNING: wallpaper=/usr/share/wallpapers/Ethais does not exist - skipping
feh WARNING: wallpaper=/usr/share/wallpapers/Ethais does not exist - skipping
feh WARNING: wallpaper=/usr/share/wallpapers/Ethais does not exist - skipping
feh WARNING: wallpaper=/usr/share/wallpapers/Code_Poets_Dream does not exist - skipping
feh WARNING: wallpaper=/usr/share/wallpapers/Code_Poets_Dream does not exist - skipping
feh WARNING: wallpaper=/usr/share/wallpapers/Ethais does not exist - skipping
feh WARNING: wallpaper=/usr/share/wallpapers/Code_Poets_Dream does not exist - skipping
feh WARNING: wallpaper=/usr/share/wallpapers/Code_Poets_Dream does not exist - skipping
feh WARNING: /usr/share/wallpapers/Air/ - Directory specified for image filename
feh ERROR: Couldn't load image in order to set bg


my feh version is as follows:

Code:

[ebuild   R   ] media-gfx/feh-1.4.3  USE="xinerama" 0 kB


has something changed with kde 4.4.3? I am sure it is something stupid i have overlooked!
_________________
I might not have morals...but at least I have standards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Art Vandalay
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 335
Location: Melbourne - VIC

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm i think it has something to do with my new kde set up having dual monitors now and using twinview...whereas on my old system i had one screen.

anyhow, passing a hardcoded image to feh i have since discovered that feh treats my 2 (1680x1050) screens as one big screen (ie 3360 x1050) as so the image is stretched horizontally.

i have tried using the --geometry switch without much success.....hmmm guess ill switch to superkaramba until things improve :(
_________________
I might not have morals...but at least I have standards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2995
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can sensors (from 'sensors' output) be added to conky? Is there a howto for that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zizo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 200
Location: Padova, Italy

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, thanks for your help, but why do you use feh for a transparent conky? As far as I know in conky 1.8 you can set "own_window_argb_visual yes" for real transparency :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billium
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Mar 2003
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See this post:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/transparent-conky-no-longer-in-slackware-13-1-kde-4-4-3-a-811006/

.. works for me & is less complicated.

Billy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avieth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been trying desperately to make conky work well with plasma, but it's just not happening. Whenever I run conky with double buffer on, it seems to overlap plasma's background image with black. I thought maybe this script would help but it doesn't, the background just stays black. Any ideas? I'm running kde 4.5 from the kde overlay.

edit
Oh, forgot to set it to own_window.

Still though, there's a problem with plasma...
Code:

grep 'wallpaper=' ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-desktop-appletsrc


doesn't give an actual background image, it always produces:

Code:

wallpaper=/usr/share/wallpapers/Atra_Dot/


Even though I no longer use the Altra_Dot background. I suppose this is a plasma bug, right?

edit again
:lol: Woops. Rebooting the system fixed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
while true
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 532
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am sorry for posting here, but I am trying to get all the help I can get.
As a newbie to Linux and newbier Gentoo I am having some troubles with my conky.

Please read about it here:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-6548279.html#6548279

Thank you
_________________
Kind regards, Goran Mitic

alive
while true
kick ass
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum