Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Creating a local Overlay
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FelixPetzold
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2010
Posts: 24
Location: Paderborn/Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 4:40 pm    Post subject: Creating a local Overlay Reply with quote

Why a local Overlay?
If you only want to put one ebuild into your Portage tree and do not want to add a complete Overlay (like Sabayon, Gnome or KDE), this is your way. By using a local Overlay you can keep your stable Gentoo clean and have some unstable Packages from Overlays as well.

Creation
Code:
sudo mkdir -p /usr/local/portage/overlay
sudo chown portage:portage /usr/local/portage/overlay


Now go to http://gpo.zugaina.org/ and search for the ebuild you want to add to your Portage tree. Download something like "foo.ebuild". The ending .ebuild is important. For foo you now have to create the folders "category" and "foo" inside "category"
Code:
sudo mkdir -p /usr/local/portage/overlay/category/foo
sudo cp /home/felix/Downloads/foo-2.1.0.47.ebuild /usr/local/portage/overlay/category/foo/
sudo chown -R portage:portage /usr/local/portage/overlay/*


Now you have to create the manifest for this ebuild.
Code:
sudo ebuild /usr/local/portage/overlay/category/foo/foo-2.1.0.47.ebuild manifest


Last thing is to tell Portage that you have a local Overlay. Add the following to your /etc/make.conf:
Code:
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage/overlay/"


To give your local Overlay a name do following:
Code:
mkdir -p /usr/local/portage/overlay/profiles
touch /usr/local/portage/overlay/profiles/repo_name
echo "my_overlay_name" >> /usr/local/portage/overlay/profiles/repo_name


The foo version I used as an example is a stable one. If you add unstable ebuilds to your Portage tree, you have to unmask them in /etc/portage/package.unmask.
If your ebuild has dependencies that can not be resolved with the offical Portage tree, you have to add them to your local overlay as well.


Last edited by FelixPetzold on Mon May 10, 2010 5:49 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 2152

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Als letztes müssen wir Portage nun noch sagen, dass es ein Overlay gibt, dass benutzt werden soll. Dazu fügen wir folgendes in die /etc/make.conf ein:
Nice german/english mix ;)

Mh, why are you posting this, it's not witchcraft and it's in the docs?! Besides
Code:
ebuild foo.ebuild digest
is deprecated, use
Code:
ebuild foo.ebuild manifest
instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FelixPetzold
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2010
Posts: 24
Location: Paderborn/Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry. will remove the german. I copied it from my post in a german forum, because I reference from the update script to it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slackline
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 1471
Location: /uk/sheffield

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why not write it up in the Unofficial Gentoo Wiki
_________________
"Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.  Art is everything else we do." - Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
publiosulpicio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2008
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does eix automatically see the new overlay? I don't think so, but for sure it is possible to do something. Does anybody know how to do this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 6747

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

publiosulpicio wrote:
Does eix automatically see the new overlay?

Yes, after eix-update (if you have set PORTDIR_OVERLAY appropriately). Concerning speed of eix-update, you might want to have a look at the description of the CACHE_METHOD and related variables in the eix manpage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OPelerin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 354
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 7:08 am    Post subject: How can I force where the source download should happen? Reply with quote

Nice page.

Quick question. How can I force one of my ebuild to download the source file from a specific server?

I've tried
Code:

BASE_URI="http://server/source.tar.bz2"
SRC_URI="http://server/source.tar.bz2"

But every time, it tries to download that file via the mirrors servers [ which obviously is not working]. Any pointers?
_________________
Olivier PELERIN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OPelerin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 354
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nevermind - I've found the answer by looking at the virtualbox-bin ebuild

added RESTRICT="mirror" and it has fixed my issue
_________________
Olivier PELERIN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soparla
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Aug 2018
Posts: 72
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a bit older article, try:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Custom_repository
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum