Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE CVS builds
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
puddpunk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 8:54 am    Post subject: KDE CVS builds Reply with quote

Yea yea i know they arn't supported blahblahblah. But this is a seemingly stupid problem...
Code:

In file included from /usr/X11R6/include/X11/Xlibint.h:44,
                 from netwm.cpp:35:
/usr/X11R6/include/X11/Xproto.h:656: syntax error before `,'
/usr/X11R6/include/X11/Xproto.h:1187: syntax error before `;'
/usr/X11R6/include/X11/Xproto.h:1188: syntax error before `;'
/usr/X11R6/include/X11/Xproto.h:1189: syntax error before `;'
/usr/X11R6/include/X11/Xproto.h:1190: syntax error before `;'
/usr/X11R6/include/X11/Xproto.h:1191: syntax error before `;'
make[3]: *** [netwm.lo] Error 1
make[3]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[3]: Leaving directory `/tmp/portage/kdelibs-5/work/kdelibs/kdecore'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/tmp/portage/kdelibs-5/work/kdelibs/kdecore'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/tmp/portage/kdelibs-5/work/kdelibs'
make: *** [all] Error 2

!!! ERROR: The ebuild did not complete successfully.
!!! Function kde_src_compile, Line -5181, Exitcode 2
!!! died running emake, kde_src_compile:make

!!! emerge aborting on  /usr/portage.local/kde-base/kdelibs/kdelibs-5.ebuild .


I had a problem like this in another cvs ebuild and i had to break open an X include and comment out a line because it was breaking it. I dont know what commenting out that line will do (it was a #define that was on an #ifdef about the length of longs. The ifdef wasn't working for some reason so i commented the #else line out :D). But this one i cant see anything i can hack to get it working.

i really want kde3.1 but i didnt get in quick enough for the ebuilds, so im stuck with the cvs builds :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puddpunk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

please help, other things are starting to break now (i changed back my hacked file beforehand).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puddpunk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:03 am    Post subject: . Reply with quote

Hey, its ok. I fixed it. i just unmerged then merged xfree a few times.

Thanks to the 55 people who viewed this topic and didnt care to offer their advice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chuzwuzza
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just because we read the topic doesn't mean we know how to fix it... I was clueless, so I moved on.
Would you rather I had left a message saying

"Hey, I have no idea about your problem!"

That would have been real helpful...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1145
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol...ouuuch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dcstimm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have the same problems with my kde cvs ebuilds. ANy one know how to fix it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puddpunk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 8:09 am    Post subject: . Reply with quote

If its the error i described, recompile Xfree

Code:
emerge xfree


But i just seem to get random errors, like there is something wrong with the code. It complains about certain Q widgets missing etc...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 9:29 pm    Post subject: Re: . Reply with quote

puddpunk wrote:
If its the error i described, recompile Xfree

Code:
emerge xfree


But i just seem to get random errors, like there is something wrong with the code. It complains about certain Q widgets missing etc...


I have just been through a build of KDE from CVS on oen of my PC's at home. Since this is a CVS build you may expect some kind of problems, most likely related to the hardware that your X server is running on.

I would strongly suggest the following path prior to emerging the cvs version of KDE 3.1:
- emerge rsync
- Edit the package mask (Make sure that you have the latest version of QT unmasked)
- emerge -p -u world (Check and see what it wants to update, skip anything related to KDE, do a manual upgrade of anything else)
- emerge rsync (again, may have gone anywhere from a few hours to a few days since last one)
- Download and unpack the kde-cvs tarball
- emerge -p kde (just to see what is supposed to happen)
- emerge kde

My emerges ran without a glitch, yours may not ;-) Ahhh the bleeding edge is soo bloody sometimes! :twisted:
Erik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puddpunk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i was actually using the QT CVS build 8O!

is there anyway to unmerge a CVS build? my one has kinda broke and i want to get rid of it, but...

Code:
root@chris chris # emerge -c kde-base/kdelibs-5

 kde-base/kdelibs
    selected: none
   protected: 5
     omitted: 3.0.2 3.0.2-r1

>>> clean: No packages selected for removal.


I've put the CVS builds in the portage overlay directory (so it doesnt get overwritten by rsync, check the latest portage ebuild for info on the overlay structure) but maybe thats why i cant unmerge.

Any help appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 10:27 pm    Post subject: Re: . Reply with quote

puddpunk wrote:
If its the error i described, recompile Xfree

Code:
emerge xfree


But i just seem to get random errors, like there is something wrong with the code. It complains about certain Q widgets missing etc...


I have just been through a build of KDE from CVS on oen of my PC's at home. Since this is a CVS build you may expect some kind of problems, most likely related to the hardware that your X server is running on.

I would strongly suggest the following path prior to emerging the cvs version of KDE 3.1:
- emerge rsync
- Edit the package mask (Make sure that you have the latest version of QT unmasked)
- emerge -p -u world (Check and see what it wants to update, skip anything related to KDE, do a manual upgrade of anything else)
- emerge rsync (again, may have gone anywhere from a few hours to a few days since last one)
- Download and unpack the kde-cvs tarball
- emerge -p kde (just to see what is supposed to happen)
- emerge kde

My emerges ran without a glitch, yours may not ;-) Ahhh the bleeding edge is soo bloody sometimes! :twisted:
Erik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum