Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Lost my wicd icon! Solved
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
banditman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 5:45 pm    Post subject: Lost my wicd icon! Solved Reply with quote

Hi did an emerge -uDNa world and my wicd network monitor icon has disapeared from the system tray kde4 any ideas where its gone?

Last edited by banditman on Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjf55
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do a locate wicd-client and you should find them. Mine are in
Code:

/usr/share/icons/hicolor/128x128/apps/wicd-client.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/wicd-client.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24/apps/wicd-client.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/wicd-client.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/72x72/apps/wicd-client.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/64x64/apps/wicd-client.png
...


you can use kmenuedit to select any icon you like.
_________________
Mark
No longer a n00b, but still a 'Kool Kid' wannabe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2327
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure that the client is still working by issuing (in your terminal emulator) this command:

Code:

wicd-client


That should also place the icon back in the taskbar.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
banditman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The client is still working fine just no icon running wicd-client comes back with command not found, and doing a search for the icon using locate wicd-client does the same command not found, browsed to the same directories to look for the icons but they arent there either very strange.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2327
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you can't start the client by issuing wicd-client? Check the menu item that you are using to launch the application and see to what it is pointing. It is very strange that you can't start the client manually. What happens if you try to start it without the notification icon?:

Code:

wicd-client -n

_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
banditman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wicd-client -n command not found !! wicd is connecting me ok and is working fine just can not get the client gui up or the icon to load in the system tray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
banditman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW there is no menu item for wicd it loads at boot time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2327
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The wireless internet connection daemon (wicd) starts at boot time, as it is a service, but the client doesn't seem to be able to load. You did emerge the newest version with the gtk USE flag, correct?
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
banditman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe I emerged it with -gtk should I have enabled gtk use? perhaps thats what it is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2327
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it has to have the gtk USE flag if you want the client to work.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
banditman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just ran emerge -av wicd and it came up with these use flags USE="X libnotify ncurses nls pm-utils -gtk (-ioctl)

-gtk specifically so what should I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
banditman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes thats sorted it!! so why does it list USE="X libnotify ncurses nls pm-utils -gtk (-ioctl) when I run emerge -av I dont understand?? but either way its working again so thanks Nathan :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2327
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have -gtk in your USE flag declarations in /etc/make.conf, then it will by default emerge any package without gtk support. To get gtk support for only wicd, you would do this as root:

Code:

echo "net-misc/wicd gtk" >> /etc/portage/package.use


That basically states that even though you say in your make.conf not to build gtk support for packages, that you do want gtk support for the package net-misc/wicd. :)

Hope that helps. If you need more help regarding this issue, please post the contents of /etc/portage/package.use and the output of emerge --info.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
banditman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Nathan I think I get it now :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum