Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Changing processor. System remerge required?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
modsRule
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Posts: 38
Location: Bucks, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 8:48 am    Post subject: Changing processor. System remerge required? Reply with quote

I currently have a athlon64x2 processor on a nforce4 based motherboard. All of my current gentoo installation has been compiled for this, with the -march flag set to athlon64.

I have ordered the components to upgrade my computer to a phenom ii based system on an nvidia 750a based motherboard.
Presumably, the first stage would be to use the minimal install cd to rebuild the kernel.
I will need to change the -march flag to barcelona to enable the new processors features, will I then need to remerge world before it will run properly on the new system?

Thanks.
Ali
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard.scott
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 1496
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your not changing down the model range, or changing make i.e. Intel, then you should be ok.... you'll soon know if it won't work as it won't boot 8)

Once its booted, you can change your flangs and then emerge -eav system, emerge -eav world a few times like you would if you'd updated GCC.

Rich.
p.s. the only thing you can't do with a system rebuild like this is go from 32bit -> 64bit... that needs a total re-install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
modsRule
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Posts: 38
Location: Bucks, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I will post what I had to do, once I get the bits.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10124
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You won't have a problem with that. It's a good time to set -march=native instead. Strictly speaking, you don't need to recompile anything unless you are paranoid about that. The system will eventually catch up if you use "native".
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4745
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:54 am    Post subject: Re: Changing processor. System remerge required? Reply with quote

modsRule wrote:
Presumably, the first stage would be to use the minimal install cd to rebuild the kernel.

How is booting to minimal CD different from booting to existing system. :roll:
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard.scott
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 1496
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you'd only need to boot from a minimal cd if your current kernel won't start.
You would then pick a minimal CD for your new CPU type and then re-compile the kernel to support that CPU.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobspencer123
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Dec 2005
Posts: 544

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah I would second the -march=native usage as that will automagically utilize the correct optimizations for your cpu. You will only need to recompile kernel if your new motherboard requires different drivers for things like LAN, Sound, etc...
_________________
Increasingly becoming a 2 channel audio nut!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should use -march=native -pipe and you will be good to go :P
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4957

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

please, if you value your money, stay away from nvidia based chipset mb, they are pure crap.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
modsRule
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Posts: 38
Location: Bucks, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bobspencer123 wrote:
yeah I would second the -march=native usage as that will automagically utilize the correct optimizations for your cpu. You will only need to recompile kernel if your new motherboard requires different drivers for things like LAN, Sound, etc...

Yep, they will all change for the new chipset, so I think that I wlll need to use the minimal cd to recompile the kernel.

DaggyStyle wrote:
please, if you value your money, stay away from nvidia based chipset mb, they are pure crap.

Care to provide any evidence for this? Without any, this statement is a little weak.
Besides, having already paid for my new motherboard, it is a little late to change. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4957

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

modsRule wrote:
Care to provide any evidence for this? Without any, this statement is a little weak.
Besides, having already paid for my new motherboard, it is a little late to change. ;)


  1. check tomshardware's forums, ask there... I won't answer you there ;) I promise
  2. my previous hp laptop has nvidia chipset, the mb was replaced 6 times in 3 three years, now after the warranty expired guess what happened...

_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
modsRule
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Posts: 38
Location: Bucks, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
modsRule wrote:
Care to provide any evidence for this? Without any, this statement is a little weak.
Besides, having already paid for my new motherboard, it is a little late to change. ;)


  1. check tomshardware's forums, ask there... I won't answer you there ;) I promise
  2. my previous hp laptop has nvidia chipset, the mb was replaced 6 times in 3 three years, now after the warranty expired guess what happened...


Hmm, well given that I have been using my current motherbaord (nforce4 chipset) for over 2 years without problems, and I have just bought another nvidia based motherboard, I would rather not tempt fate by looking up other peoples crashes beforehand. :)

Anyway, this is slightly off the threads topic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4957

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

modsRule wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
modsRule wrote:
Care to provide any evidence for this? Without any, this statement is a little weak.
Besides, having already paid for my new motherboard, it is a little late to change. ;)


  1. check tomshardware's forums, ask there... I won't answer you there ;) I promise
  2. my previous hp laptop has nvidia chipset, the mb was replaced 6 times in 3 three years, now after the warranty expired guess what happened...


Hmm, well given that I have been using my current motherbaord (nforce4 chipset) for over 2 years without problems, and I have just bought another nvidia based motherboard, I would rather not tempt fate by looking up other peoples crashes beforehand. :)

Anyway, this is slightly off the threads topic.

it's your call, I've just wanted to help out.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
modsRule wrote:
Care to provide any evidence for this? Without any, this statement is a little weak.
Besides, having already paid for my new motherboard, it is a little late to change. ;)


  1. check tomshardware's forums, ask there... I won't answer you there ;) I promise
  2. my previous hp laptop has nvidia chipset, the mb was replaced 6 times in 3 three years, now after the warranty expired guess what happened...


Your laptop died the next day ?
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4957

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
modsRule wrote:
Care to provide any evidence for this? Without any, this statement is a little weak.
Besides, having already paid for my new motherboard, it is a little late to change. ;)


  1. check tomshardware's forums, ask there... I won't answer you there ;) I promise
  2. my previous hp laptop has nvidia chipset, the mb was replaced 6 times in 3 three years, now after the warranty expired guess what happened...


Your laptop died the next day ?
\
couple of days after.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
modsRule
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Posts: 38
Location: Bucks, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. Upgrade carried out.
Kernel rebuilt from minimal cd.
This enabled booting into old system, where I then changed to march=amdfam10 (not native, see below)
I then did a rebuild of system + nvidia-drivers.

Now I am back to a working system, and am carrying out a full world rebuild.

NB: I chose not to use native because I use distcc and the gcc manual stated that using native with distcc was known to cause problems particularly when compiling across different architectures (which I do, since I compile with some core2s).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
couple of days after.


I feel your pain.

It happened to me once.
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4745
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

modsRule wrote:
Ok. Upgrade carried out.
Kernel rebuilt from minimal cd.

Well, I see my advice to build new kernel for your new hardware while still running on old hardware wasn't taken. Would have saved hassle with CD.
I switched from AMD to Intel once, my new kernel was ready while the new hardware was still in mail.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kenethh7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
modsRule wrote:
Ok. Upgrade carried out.
Kernel rebuilt from minimal cd.

Well, I see my advice to build new kernel for your new hardware while still running on old hardware wasn't taken. Would have saved hassle with CD.
I switched from AMD to Intel once, my new kernel was ready while the new hardware was still in mail.


Its good to switched from AMD to Intel once??? may be just due to the name of intel? Do there are best then this one?> Apple ?
_________________
hi everybody, I enjoy reading, walking, outdoor team sports, alternative medicine and listening to music.
bowtrol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Intel CoreI7 and PhenomX4 are pretty cool, but I think that AMD will release a X6 or even a X8 in a couple of weeks.

The war will never ends between these 2 :P
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4957

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
Intel CoreI7 and PhenomX4 are pretty cool, but I think that AMD will release a X6 or even a X8 in a couple of weeks.

The war will never ends between these 2 :P

x8 will be awesome! I'll build my mainframe with it.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If so, you will need to post your spec and also your time emerge -e system :P

We have a little competition about that here.
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattst88
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 362

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Changing processor. System remerge required? Reply with quote

modsRule wrote:
I currently have a athlon64x2 processor on a nforce4 based motherboard. All of my current gentoo installation has been compiled for this, with the -march flag set to athlon64.

I have ordered the components to upgrade my computer to a phenom ii based system on an nvidia 750a based motherboard.
Presumably, the first stage would be to use the minimal install cd to rebuild the kernel.
I will need to change the -march flag to barcelona to enable the new processors features, will I then need to remerge world before it will run properly on the new system?

Thanks.
Ali


You're going to see basically no difference in performance.

Just change /etc/make.conf and packages will be recompiled with the new flags as you update.

richard.scott wrote:
If your not changing down the model range, or changing make i.e. Intel, then you should be ok.... you'll soon know if it won't work as it won't boot 8)

Once its booted, you can change your flangs and then emerge -eav system, emerge -eav world a few times like you would if you'd updated GCC.

Rich.
p.s. the only thing you can't do with a system rebuild like this is go from 32bit -> 64bit... that needs a total re-install.


Ugh. So much misinformation.

When you `emerge gcc`it rebuilds itself. Let me say that another way.

Running `emerge gcc` bootstraps gcc, and produces an executable called xgcc. So say you have gcc-4.3.4 installed, and you're upgrading to 4.4.2. gcc-4.3.4 compiles the gcc-4.4.2 sources and produces `xgcc'. Then xgcc (again, built from the 4.4.2 sources) builds gcc-4.4.2 and installs it on your system.

I can't imagine how much time you've wasted rebuilding your system multiple times after a gcc upgrade.
_________________
My 1U Dual 833 MHz Alphaserver DS20L
The AlphaLinux.org Wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raistlin Majere
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I can't imagine how much time you've wasted rebuilding your system multiple times after a gcc upgrade.


I thought the point of emerge -e system && emerge -e world after a gcc update was so that everything was recompiled using the new gcc version. The documentation makes it sound like there would be issues if you don't.

Quote:
To be completely safe that your system is in a sane state, you must rebuild the toolchain and then world to make use of the new compiler.


Are you saying that this isn't necessary?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to be 100% sure, you can run this :

Code:

# emerge -eav system && emerge -eav world

_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum