Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Splitting root partition [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1230
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 7:11 pm    Post subject: Splitting root partition [solved] Reply with quote

Hello.

I'd like to move to ext4. Since yaboot doesn't understand ext4 it's required to have kernel stuff /boot on ext3 so I need to split my current root partition.

Currently I have /dev/hda[1-7] while hda4 is root. I'd like to split hda4 into 2 partitions, ext3 for /boot and ext4 for the rest/. Will the hda[5-7] become hda[6-8] then?
mac-fdisk -l:
# mac-fdisk -l
/dev/hda
        #                    type name                  length   base      ( size )  system
/dev/hda1     Apple_partition_map Apple                     63 @ 1         ( 31.5k)  Partition map
/dev/hda2         Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap               1600 @ 64        (800.0k)  NewWorld bootblock
/dev/hda3         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap                 3072000 @ 1664      (  1.5G)  Linux swap
/dev/hda4         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root                31457280 @ 3073664   ( 15.0G)  Linux native
/dev/hda5         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 home               269557384 @ 34530944  (128.5G)  Linux native
/dev/hda6               Apple_HFS Apple_HFS_Untitled_2   8493464 @ 304088328 (  4.0G)  HFS
/dev/hda7              Apple_Free Extra                     16 @ 312581792 (  8.0k)  Free space

Block size=512, Number of Blocks=312581808
DeviceType=0x0, DeviceId=0x0

Can parted do the job?

As the only Live CD for ppc providing ext4 together with cryptsetup and parted I found the Ubuntu ppc port.
Unfortunately our current install-powerpc-minimal-20091018.iso doesn't provide cryptsetup nor ext4. The install-powerpc-universal-2008.0.iso is said to be deprecated.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme


Last edited by Massimo B. on Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:46 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luispa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 351
Location: España

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What if you reduce a bit your swap (hda3) ? with 50MB you'll have enough for boot. I guess it will renumber the partitions though.

Luis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1230
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good advice, anyway, doesn't change the question about renumbering and if that breaks something (of course the renumbering would need some file to be changed...)

On x86 partition tables have the restriction about primary being not more than 4 and extended partitions being one of the 4 containing secondary partitions.
Does that apply to ppc too? Considering my mac-fdisk result I don't think so...
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luispa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 351
Location: España

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Massimo B. wrote:
Good advice, anyway, doesn't change the question about renumbering and if that breaks something (of course the renumbering would need some file to be changed...)


You'll have renumbering as I guess. This will impact your /etc/fstab and your boot loader config (new root partition) (grub?).

Massimo B. wrote:
On x86 partition tables have the restriction about primary being not more than 4 and extended partitions being one of the 4 containing secondary partitions.
Does that apply to ppc too? Considering my mac-fdisk result I don't think so...


I had a MBP once with Gentoo, but I don't remember about this, btw, it surprised me when I saw your setup. I've never seen it before :-).

Luis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

luispa wrote:

On x86 partition tables have the restriction about primary being not more than 4 and extended partitions being one of the 4 containing secondary partitions.
[u]Does that apply to ppc too?


no
mac partition table is different from pc partition table
with mac you can have more than 4 partitions
also there is not "primary" and "extended", with mac there are only "partitions"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1230
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Worked.
I was able to split ~70M from /dev/hda3 which is swap. This is now used for boot and became /dev/hda7.
Booting from ext4 works now, see 6097347.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum